We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious hotel and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Glorious hotel and food.”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

As a local I am aware of the reputation of this hotel and restaurant. In the Tovey days the waiting list to eat ran to months so I had to try it.

The hotel is faultless; the service from everyone is first class. It is friendly, attentative and personal. They cannot do enough for you. The room was large, comfortable and utterly delightful. I could quite happily live there!

The food. We ate there both nights; the food is nouveau cuisine but the tempting nibbles before dinner and the "surprise" were delights. The menu is inspired and talented and the wine list extensive and bold with quite mad but splendid wines in there.

So what can I complain about? Virtually nothing; it would have been nice to have internet in the bedrooms. Ah, breakfast! This was a slight disappointment as far as the sausage was concerned. Tough skin and disappointing! With Waberthwaite not so far away also!

We will go again; it has everything going for it and the menu is pure heaven! Oh, take a walk in the garden or push the boat out and stay in the cottage in the grounds!

Well done to all there!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    155
    51
    33
    19
See reviews for
61
391
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We visited the hotel with friends who were return clients and although both bookings had been made together, our friends were given a much larger room then ours, a rather clumsy thing to do, we thought. However, our room had it's own balcony with a marvellous view of the lake, and a wonderfully comfortable bed. The food was very good, and all the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The small reservation comes via the rather silly, narrow, short bath, it looked terribly pretty and chic but proved hopelessly impractical in that it was very short, I only just straightened my legs out and am 5'4", it was also extremely difficult to get of as it was so deep; as my poor husband found to his dismay! It caused some hilarity at first but the funny side soon wore off. The shower attachment was fixed to the side of the bath, so I had to kneel for my ablutions, hmmmm, bit of re-thinking needed here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

One night, dinner b&b, everything — including the food — very good. And very competitive on price with similar places. Would go again any time.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank too_much_travelling9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We celebrated our Wedding by booking out the whole hotel and rooms on Sunday 7th August 2011, and we can honestly say it was absolutely PERFECT in every way imagineable and more!

The hotel is the perfect location for the most amazing views and wedding photograph opportunities in the grounds, gardens, and inside decorations. The food was out of this world as we would expect - what amazing cupcakes thanks to the amazing pastry chefs, and the staff................well what else can we say about them?!!! Each and every member of the team were so helpful, friendly, professional.....nothing was too much trouble on our wedding day, and they were so attentive to all our 30+ guests. We just cant thank them enough for making our day so special - our fairytale wedding!

Nigel Williamson (General Manager) is the best wedding co-ordinator any girl could wish for - He never once moaned even when I might have been slightly demanding in the days, months, weeks leading upto our big day! What a fantastic guy!

Even the weather behaved somewhat despite the awful rainy/cloudy/windy forecast - the sun came out 30mins before our ceremony in the beautiful conservatory, and stayed out long enough for some amazing photos in the beautifully manicured gardens..... so they can even sort the weather for you!!!! (someone was definitely smiling down on us that day!)

It truly was everything we could have wished for in a small, intimate wedding, and so much more! Our room (The Windermere suite) was perfect - beautifully decorated with the view to die for from the French doors/balcony - just like all the lake view rooms.......In fsct it was all sooooo perfect that we have booked to go back for Christmas for a 3 day food/drink extravaganza on Christmas Eve!!!!

We feel like locals as the welcome is always so warm and friendly, and we are certain that the Miller Howe will remain at the top of our favourite places worldwide for many years to come - we will be back, time and time again!

Thanks again to the team for helping us to create so many happy faces and memories on our special day - nobody had a bad word to say about anything, which is a miracle as we had some very picky guests!!!! Well done and a million Thank you's!

Best wishes
Jo & Dave Silverwood

Room Tip: The Windermere suite is classed as the Bridal suite and is perfect in everyway! Definitely choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvernoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

A lovely cosy small hotel, like staying with friends. Rooms not large but adequate, but the views make up for it. Some rooms with individual balconies. 3 rooms on mid floor have a large terrace balcony running across the entire building (separated by railing)but ideal if staying with other friends as you can enjoy an evening drink all sat along the entire balcony. Views amazing, so close to the lake. Beautiful restaurant & food of best quality (fine dining so not large portions - but overall dinner experience leaves you feeling fulfilled) Conservatory overlooking lake, great to chill out for afternoon tea or coffees. Comfortable lounges (very low seats) Great for couples & romantic getaway. Walking distance of Bowness-on-Windermere.

Room Tip: Request lake view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lake-District1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We went Miller Howe for dinner. Excellent location, nice gardens and view. Appetisers & startres were good, though they tried to create sophisticated main dishes and not really succeeded.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomruk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Lovely relaxed stay in this beautiful Arts & Crafts house. Felt like staying with friends who could not do enough for you! The room, whilst not huge was luxuriously decorated with huge comfortable bed and good sized en-suite. Comfortable lounges and conservatory or terrace, with views straight over Windermere, for drinks/afternoon teas, etc as and when you wanted. Evening meals to die for with modern British cuisine using first class locally sourced produce. Extensive breakfasts to cover all appetites. We were supplied with a wonderful packed lunch which amply provided for a full days hiking on the fells.
The whole stay left us feeling relaxed and cossetted.

Room Tip: Lakeside views with balconies on the top floor are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Howe Hotel And Restaurant
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing