We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A host of golden daffodils and Japanese tourists.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Spring in the Lake District.

Even when the sleet is whipping horizontally across the peak of Helm Crag and every sensible person is sitting listening to the rugby with a pint and the Sunday papers in a respite such as the Miller Howe Hotel, you will find our Far Eastern cousins tramping the streets of Grasmere or Ambleside looking for Peter Rabbit under lonely clouds.

Filling up the scarce car parks. Crowding out the National Trust shop. Asking directions at the local garden centre. Milling around in the churchyard or queuing in their droves at Sarah Nelsons Gingerbread shop. Lord only knows what it must be like on a sunny bank holiday weekend. William Wordsworth and Beatrix Potter never meant it to be like this. But it is - and it's pretty much their fault for being so popular. The Japanese are so potty about Ms Potter they've even re-created her house in Japan.

So don't go at a popular time to The Lake District. Ever. Got that?

Instead go midweek, when it's cold and windy and take someone you love to a boutiquey hotel like Miller Howe on the shore of Lake Windermere. That way like Wordsworth, you can wander in their gardens and compose poetry in your head whilst admiring the remarkable views undisturbed.

After I climbed Helm Crag, I needed sustenance and rest, which I found when I arrived alone somewhat tired and frankly rather out of sorts for a posh hotel. I ordered tea and a found a place by the fire that was badly needed. I was welcomed.

They have a cottage you can stay in separate from the hotel that is quiet, private and comfortable. It has sheep in the field outside the window. The bed is large and the curtains heavy. The peace is heavenly and constant.

We had a meal on Sunday night in the restaurant and breakfast there the following morning. Neither could be faulted.The food was creative and stylish, yet so mouth watering. Not to rush on a Monday morning was beyond wonderful.

The staff were personable. helpful and professional. As I ate my eggs and bacon, I watched the maitre'd at breakfast make a nearby yummy mummy and her young daughter happy with his personal attention in a way I'd forgotten still existed. He made their time fun.

The letter welcoming us to our room and asking for comments was from the manager Nigel Williamson. Nigel, it was remiss of me to not say at the time but you have a wonderful hotel.

Thank-you.

Oh, and whether you feel you need a guide book or not, The Lake District should always be accompanied by "A Walk Around The Lakes" by Hunter Davies. It defines the word invaluable.

Rather like his predecessors, he wrote the book. Thankfully without any rabbits.

Room Tip: The separate cottage. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Miller Howe in March 2013. We had a Lake View room and what a view it was - absolutely superb, you really must experience it. The room was well furnished and spacious. The restaurant was wonderful and good value for money - three excellent courses for £45, cooked to perfection I savoured every mouthful and felt contentedly full at the end. Breakfast quality is equally good. The bar is well stocked but lacks draft beer, not a show stopper with the vast range of spirits. The staff are friendly, welcoming and exchange in friendly banter to give a homely feel to the place. One area to improve - the management seem a little too formal and need to relax more - it felt like the headmaster was watching over us at breakfast, pacing between tables in suit and tie - chillout!

Room Tip: Spend the extra on the Lake View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21stCenturyMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

A real pleasure to stay at this wonderful hotel.Excellent friendly staff and the nicest room we have ever had over the years visiting the lakes.The dining and breakfast rooms look out onto Lake Windermere offering tremendous views.An excellent choice at breakfast freshly cooked to order not something that has sat under a heat plate.
We will certainly be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had one night here on our way south. We were in one of the cottages which we found to be super. Molton Brown toiletries which we think are a sign of quality! The towels were thick & fluffy and Egyptian cotton on the bed! We were able to walk up steps from our cottage to enter the hotel enjoying the lovely garden. Our evening meal was absolutely beautiful, presented well and the service was impeccable! Breakfast was just as good and we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

stayed here for one night last year as a couple, i loved the history of the building and the lounge area was beautiful, the room we had was right at the top of the hotle in the attic almost which had a fantastic view over the garden and lake, sadly the weather was awful so we couldnt use the balcony. we had afternoon tea and drinks and this was delightful. Dinner in the evening was lovely although the restaurant is a more modern theme which was ok but i like oldy worldy which i think would of helped towards the atmosphere as it was lacking something. The food was a high standard but rather expensive compared to other hotels of the same standard in the area. Breakfast was in the same room and was very good. lovely place for a romantic night away.

Room Tip: room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Took advantage of a cheap deal to try a couple of two night stays, one in early December, another in February. Miller Howe is a traditional English hotel with cheery log fires and great elevated views over the lake & nearby hills. Part of our deal was an offer to sample dinner with wine at the restaurant, the food was fresh, creative, sourced locally and beautifully cooked and presented, a real treat. Breakfasts were tasty and beautifully served. The bedrooms are comfortable and well appointed if somewhat quirky. The surrounding area is quite spectacular, with lovely lakeside walks just next to the hotel. Altogether a charming characterful place to stay with stunning views and very competent staff. Do give them a try!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esenjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I booked a night at this hotel to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday. It was everything I hoped for. Room with stunning views down to Lake Windermere and fine views of snow topped mountains. The evening meal was superb, as were the breakfasts.The cleverly designed restaurant has wonderful views of the grounds and lake.Staff are really friendly and helpful..
It is a bit on the pricey side, but fo ra special occassion, well worth it.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for one of the main rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range: £207 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Howe Hotel And Restaurant
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing