We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had always wanted to stay at the Miller Howe, ever since the days of John Tovey. The nearest I got was to buy his recipe books - until the Travelzoo offer came along and spurred me into action. Suffice it to say that we were not disappointed! This proved to be a brilliant deal, with a lake view room. Our room was a little dated, but had everything we needed for a relaxing stay, including a very comfy bed. The views from the dining room and conservatory are breathtaking and it's only a stone's throw down to the lake. The staff at the hotel are professional, friendly and efficient, which brings me to the food. The chef has flair and imagination and produces sensational food. We both had fresh crab as a starter, then I had the lamb three ways and my husband had the venison. The presentation of the food is tremendous. Berry creme brulee for dessert and our culinary treat was complete. Breakfast was also outstanding. We shall return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbull60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked a one night stay through Travelzoo at £169 for two for dinner, bed and breakfast. The deal included a lake view room subject to availability, but I left it far too long, and so we missed out on that. However overall I felt we had good value.

The room was comfortable and had everything we needed save for a shortage of modern three point plug sockets. Oddly there were several of what looked like old-style sockets from many years ago. The room had a balcony looking out to the side of the hotel, and its own furniture, and the lake was visible from the balcony, but a slight drawback was that the road nearby is fairly busy. As it wasn't so warm and we did not need to leave the window open at night, traffic noise was not an issue-the windows were double-glazed and we were not disturbed.

There is a nice conservatory looking out across the lake with a very decent view, and also a lounge with comfortable chairs and the same view. There is also a separate bar area. Afternoon tea is available and looked pretty good but it would be a challenge to manage that and dinner as well.

I thought the food was seriously good.I had an excellent spiced fresh crab starter, and the crab meat was obviously fresh and high quality. A goat's cheese starter was also first rate. The main course was lamb cooked three ways, and it was seriously good, with a little lamb shepherd's pie and shredded and deep fried neck topped by a very tender couple of pieces of lamb. A chocolate and orange dessert was intense and memorable.

The wine list is very decent, with many top quality wines and prices to match. Mark-ups look to be sometimes 150% but mostly 200%, as seems to be the case everywhere. We had a 2009 Beaujolais, great vintage and from a very good producer, which was about £33. One of the waiting staff was happy in mid-afternoon to check the vintage for me and confirm they still had it in stock.

One slight drawback: a slightly bizarre music tape at dinner. I don't think the restaurant needs this-it has more than enough atmosphere and it's the sort of place where the splendid view encourages people to talk, rather than stay silent, so I wasn't sure why they did this. It's a bit weird having jazz with your starter and then a choir and orchestra giving it their all in Carmina Burana when you're on your main course-I would gently suggest toning it down or, even better, getting rid of it.

The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was until 9.45 which was civilised, and the food at breakfast was first-rate.

Service was uniformly and noticeably excellent. I'd have given it five stars if the room had been just a little less old fashioned and we had had no music at dinner. I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Do get a lake view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 227,957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay. This hotel's website does not do it justice with its typically English understatement. The setting is stunning, the rooms are stunning, the food and the service are stunning, and what can we say about the views from our balcony room and our table at dinner - except that they are stunning! The friendly staff try really hard, and there is faultless attention to detail. Every dish is individually prepared and elegantly presented and served. We would have liked a longer and more varied menu, but that's just us - the selection included duck, hake, sea bass, beef and venison, which would appeal to most palates. One night we opted for the vegetarian menu, and that too was superb - so often in even the best restaurants the veggie dishes are a limited afterthought, but not so at the Miller Howe. The wine list, too, is very extensive The Queen and the Princess Royal lunched here on July 13 - and if the food is good enough for them, it is certainly good enough for us. We were thoroughly spoiled (thanks especially to Nigel and Caroline) and enjoyed every moment.

Room Tip: Go for a lakeview balcony room. The Windemere room was large, quiet and comfortable, with a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickchickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here on our last night after walking the Dales Way. I did lots of research as to where to stay to celebrate, and we were not disappointed. It was worth the walk. The lounges overlook the lake as does the dining room. You could just sit and watch the lake and sky. The food was excellent. Our room overlooked the lake. Would definitely return. Staff were just perfect.

Room Tip: Have a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed overnight on dinner and breakfast deal. Stayed in Cumberland room in the old gardeners cottage and was very comfortable and only a short stroll through the terraced gardens to main hotel. The view from the Dining room and lounge across Windermere to Langdale Pikes,Crinkle Crags etc is stunning especially if you catch a sunset. Our evening meal was sensational - having eaten around the world we would put it in our top five. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wales65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We visited for lunch and as there was an offer on of 3 courses for £25 it would be very difficult to find fault. The view really is breathtaking. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The dining room was very quiet as there was only us and one other table eating. This was in August so at the height of the tourist season.

The cheese soufflé was better than I could imagine. We both thought the main course was ok. I had chicken and my partner had pork. Nothing wow, nothing exciting and nothing to complain about. The disappointment being I wanted a little bit of wow.

We finished with port and coffee in the conservatory and spent a further hour enjoying the view.

Would I go again for lunch - genuinely don't know. Yes for the view, yes for the price, no for the atmosphere and not sure that the food was special enough to make the effort.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Loll007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband had stayed on two previous occasions prior to our marriage. He always wanted to take me to visit. It was just as he described and you get the feeling that many memories still live on in this grand estate. The view was even better than Lake Como and since we were there during the July heat wave, it was lovely to leave our balcony door open and enjoy the fresh air and occasional sounds of the sheep enjoying their good fortune to live near the lake to graze all day long. Food was spectacular, though the menu is the same every night we stayed, but gave us a chance to sample everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,222 reviews
2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range: £195 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Howe Hotel And Restaurant
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing