We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding home from home”

Review of The Undercroft

Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room Dining and sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room
Dining and sitting area
twin room
king size bedroom with en suite
internal view across from kitchen
view from outside
enclosed garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AttiaFaro...
1 review
“Outstanding home from home”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Exceptionally clean, close to shops. Next door to a doctor surgery. Very close to Brockhole. Kids loved the setting of the house. It was very spacious for the baby to crawl around. If I visit lake district again im sure to book this cottage again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thanksyou for your positive comments. Glad that you had such a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayjo...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is a beutiful cottage, well maintained and centraly located. The accommodation is spacious and of a very high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it exceeded my expectations
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and grateful that have taken the time to write a review too. Look forward to welcoming you agin v soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindyc123
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

beautiful house everything you needed was there welcome pack with wine chocs and doggy treats lovely thought spotless clean owner friendly nothing too much trouble centrally located only complaint i have is i couldnt stay any longer so quiet and relaxing will be booking again hopefully sooner rather than later

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. It is much apprecaited, guest comments are always welcome, we don't take for granted the time it takes to post fedback, so again thank you. Look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bubbles12...
Everton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a fab weekend ,the undercroft beautiful ,spacious ,quiet and good location to everywhere we went ,our dog loved it aswell great walks , shops bars , and even a welcome hamper which was greatly appreciated ,they even had a bone for our dog and he loved that.great communication all in all fantastic !!!!!!!!!!!! We will deffo come back spotlessly clean x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thansk you for taking time to give us your feedback, much apprecaited.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemo70
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Best”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed with another couple - a beautiful cottage in a perfect location... plus the best weather we've ever experienced in the Lakes and we been on numerous occasions. The photographs really don't do it justice.
The only negative (lthough that's probably to strong a word!) was the heat as not much ventilation upstairs, a fan or some kind of air con would have been great however in the winter this can only be a good thing Im sure. Lovely welcome pack, clean and tidy and lovely areas to chill out in whether inside or outside - even our 2 small dogs were chilled out - we will definitely be returning and recommending to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: lack of ventilation in the warm weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2013
Thank you for your kind words, delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxurygap
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative to a traditional B & B”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at the Undercroft as it looked an interesting place to stay, and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are lovely and bright and offer excellent accommodation which is well equipped and has good socialising areas. It's only a 5-10 min walk to the town where there is a good choice of restaurants. The only negative is exactly as the last reviewer had mentioned, the lack of opportunity to open windows, which was a shame! Otherwise well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique design of the property
Liked least: Unable to open windows
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2013
Thank you Tracey. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything that you needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, really sorry that you were unable to open the bedroom windows, not sure why as they both do open, it's just a shame we hadn't know you had a problem during your stay as we could have given you help to sort it there and then. Appreciate your feedback, many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing