We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 May 2011

It has been 2 years since our last visit and Cedar Manor did not dissapoint.Jonathan and Caroline are excellent hosts food and surroundings beautifull nothing is too much trouble.will return again to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodloverBridgnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

Thank you very much for going to the trouble of reviewing Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your return visit and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Cedar Manor and I must say that it was absolutely fantastic. We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome and was given a guided tour of the hotel and then personally taken to our room. The room we stayed in was Crinkle Crags and all I can say is it was immaculate, the standard and finish to the room was of the highest quality and the attention to detail was exquisite. The location of the hotel is also ideal set in its own grounds and only a 3 minute walk from Windermere centre where there are loads of eateries and pubs. We did not eat at Cedar Manor, but on our next trip we will be booking an evening table to dine. In the morning we went down for breakfast and again the service is spot on everything is cooked to order and therefore fresh and hot. On the first morning I had a full English breakfast, but this morning I had the eggs benedict that was to die for. If you are looking for quality and a friendly stay the Cedar Manor is the only option that makes sense. I would like to thank the proprietors of Cedar Manor for making our short break memorable and I can assure you that we will be returning in the not so distant future and you will be highly recommended to friends and family.

Room Tip: Dining at Cedar Manor book early before you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinchyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again and don't forget to book for dinner!
Thank you again for reviewing Cedar Manor.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

A btill family owned hotel. Where comfort and sevice come as standard.
The rooms are first class well presented and you feel like you want to come back time and time again.
The food again is fresh, well put together and you know youve had a first class meal at the end of the evening.

Have we been back more than once - well yes and we are going again - Ive travelled a lot and this is one hotel of a few that weve returned too.

In summary Get a booking yo wont be disappointed - you will though if you leave it too late

Room Tip: Dont leave it to the last minute to get booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikonknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Thank you very much for reviewing Cedar Manor. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The very good reviews are well deserved. A pretty little hotel run, apparently, by a family rather than a chain. The owner and his wife couldn't do enough to help: a mere hint of a question by us led to masses of advice on sights to see, which walks were best suited to our style and interests. Superb help.

The hotel was impeccably clean everywhere and the one phrase in my head all the time was "attention to detail". They clearly thought hard about every detail.

Our room was the Orrest Head and executive spa room with a funky bubble bath which I didn't try but which made noises that no bath should make, in my opinion; the girlfriend seemed to like it and behaved like a child! IT was very quite despite being near a road and the separate lounge was a lovely place to chill after a hectic yomp up the hills to Beatrix Potter's home Hill Top. Again the attention to detail was impeccable everything was very clean well furnished and we felt special.

The room price was very fair and the market rate for an upmarket hotel in the area.

The one slight oddity was that they charge corkage on wine or beer if brought into the rooms. I think this to be most odd - only marginally justifiable in a restaurant I could not justify it in our own room. Obviously we ignored it and hid the empties :) Still. That pretty minor negative was about the only thing I could criticise.

Room Tip: Bring your own wine & hide the empties ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhuk_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

Thank you very much for toaking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found the room and our food to your liking.
Now to address the "sticky" subject of Corkage in Hotels. There is indeed a mention of corkage for wines and champagnes in our room files. As yet, we have never enforced it and turn a blind eye when guests bring in the odd bottle of wine, beer or champagne with them.
We would only ask for corkage if we were then asked to provide ice buckets, napkins, extra glasses etc. We do however charge corkage in the restaurant, which is normal practice in licensed premises.
I can only speak for ourselves, but I get the impression this is how the "corkage system" works in a lot of hotels. (hoteliers, you can tell me if I am wrong in the owners forum!!).
We actually encourage guests to leave all plastic and glass bottles, along with cans etc to be recycled by us, rather than thrown in the nearest bin, as part of our green business credentials.
I hope that wasn't too long winded....
We hope to see you again in the future and you won't need to worry about your "supplies"
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

After staying at the Cedar Manor before, we couldn't resist going back. This stay was as excellent as before if not better. Fantastic service and comfortable bedrooms together with high quality food.

The owners had extensive knowledge on the area and advised us on many places to go and see all of which were worth a visit.

Cant wait to go back for the third time!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ry7744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to Cedar Manor. We were pleased to see you again and are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Recently returned from a 4 day stay at Cedar Manor as a wedding anniversary treat. Very pleased with our selection.
There is little to add to previous reviews. The building is lovely, the room was comfy and the meals were excellent. The special factor of this hotel for us was the way in which Jonathan and Caroline complement each other to provide their own unique brand. They deserve every success.
Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jim_howes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

Hi Mr Howes
Thank you for choosing Cedar Manor for your anniversary celebrations, we are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel at the end of March, from the moment we arrived we knew we were somewhere special, we were welcomed by the owner Jonathan who carried my case to the fabulous room.
Our complimentary bottle of wine was waiting for us and the room was spotlessly clean, luxurious and warm. The en suite was fab, including complimentary bath robes.
The owners were warm and friendly and Caroline was so sunny and plesant, the house is decorated to a very high standard and the grounds of the Hotel are stunning with the hugest Cedar tree I have ever seen.
Our breakfasts were amazing, with so much choice and quality ingrediants that we were really looking forward to our evening meal which again was perfectly cooked and presented.The choices on the menu were impressive.
I cannot praise this hotel highly enough, if you have the chance to go GRAB IT, it's a nice walk into Windermere and close enough to drive to all the other lovely places that are all around it.
Well done Jonathan and Caroline, we will be back, xxxx

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hondagirlcarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit. The tree is magnificent isn't it!
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan (and a big thank you from us to our fabulous team that keep the hotel so clean and the food so tasty!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
554 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
3.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £145 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing