We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Cedar Manor Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at the Cedar Manor in mid-September and thoughtly enjoyed our stay. Once in Bowness, the hotel was very easy to find. It is a beautiful old building, in a very tranquil setting. There is a 400+ year old cedar tree in the front garden.

Our room was very comfortable and we particularly liked the personal fridge (as opposed to the usual mini bar) containg fresh milk and bottled water. The beds were the most comfortable that we have slept in, and we have stayed in quite a few hotels.

The food was prepared to a very high standard and served very attentively by Caroline and Jonathan in a very ambient atmosphere.

The Cedar Manor was recommended to us by one of my wife's work colleagues and we have already been recommending the hotel to other friends and colleagues. We would certainly hope to make a return visit.

Carol and Dave Foster, Corby

PS Jonathan, tell me about the crab (lol).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Carol and Dave
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and slept well! We are also very pleased to hear that the Crab has remained in your memories!
We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Thanks again for the lovely review
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We do a lot of travelling around both in the UK and abroad and I have to say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners Johnathan & Caroline and they make you feel welcome all throughout the stay. I was looking for somewhere special to propose to my girlfriend, so I booked the coach house suite. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, everything about it is wow. If you are looking for a romantic stay this is definately the place and the suit to stay in. To make it extra special you can have your own private dining experiance which I have to say was absolutely fantastic, really romantic and I have to say I just popped the question there and then and she said yes. The coach house is set over 2 floors and everything about it just oozes quality. This place is definately without a doubt one of the most luxurious, romantic places to stay in the whole of the lake district, whatever the cost just to do it, I promise you will not be dissappointed, thank you once again to Johnathan and Caroline for a fantastic, memorable experience.

Room Tip: The Coach House Suit
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Congratulations on your engagement, we are all delighted for you both. Thank you for choosing Cedar Manor for such a special occasion.
We hope that you will come back for anniversaries, birthday's or just a weekend away. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thanks very much for reviewing your stay.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I have just spent 2 wonderful nights at Cedar Manor Hotel. Jonathan and Caroline couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was of the highest standard.
This 10 room environmentally friendly hotel is situated a 5 minute walk from Windermere station, Windermere centre and Lake. Despite being on a fairly main route it is incredible peaceful.

Room - Windermere Executive Double en-suite situated at the front of the house. Beautiful view of the front garden from a cosy window seat. A large size very comfortable room with a cosy en-suite bathroom. Bed was huge and amazingly comfortable. The room had all the extras, phone, tv, dvd player, hot drinks facilities, hairdryer, sewing kit and shoe polish set. Bathroom well stocked with a selection of miniature toiletries. We requested a couple of treats like strawberrys and home made local chocolates which were waiting for us on arrival. Perfectly delicious.
Guest Lounge - a recently decorated stunning lounge with bar. Very relaxing and cosy. Guide books to peruse at your leisure and a daily paper. Nibbles on offer before dinner were made in house and tasted fantastic. Bar tended by Jonathan the manager. Superb service and advice on ales etc... from many years of great experience working in the industry. This all added to a very personal touch. My husband enjoyed the Hawkshead Gold a local brew.
Dinner - Outstanding!!!! This restaurant fully deserves the awards it has earned. At £35 per head booked in advance or £40 if booked on the day it was worth every penny. We had only booked for first night but we were blown away by the fantastic standard of food not to mention Caroline and Jonathan's extremely professional customer service. A very intimate dining experience perfect for couples. A choice of time slots between 6.30 and 8.30pm. Check out the website for example menus as this changes seasonally. Local produce used where possible. Appetiser/ starter/main/ dessert/ coffee and petit four selection FANTASTIC!!!!! Recommend the lamb plus the delight which is the Strawberry Parfait dessert a true explosion of tastes.
Breakfast - Amazing choice on offer including Full english Meat and Vegetarian breakfast, Eggs Benedict, pancakes, smoked salmon scrambled egg bagel and much more as well as cereal, yogurts, fruit, toast, pastries.

Overall Cedar Manor is a perfectly located gem of a retreat. The standards reflect the years of professional experience the owners have gained working in the hospitality and retail service industries. Jonathan and Caroline know exactly what their customers want to ensure a very pleasant, comfortable visit and a guaranteed return. We cannot wait to visit again but maybe next time to the Couch House, their latest project on the site of Cedar Manor. Thanks Caroline for showing us around your amazing Coach House suite. Luxurious and ultra modern, stunning decor and the most fabulous bathroom we have ever seen. Again check out website for pics.
Other features - local produce used throughout with jams on sale in reception and local artist exhibiting and selling her work throughout the dining room.

Thank you for the most wonderful time. Check it out it really is 10/10

Room Tip: Dependent on whether you want ideal view of Lake or size more important best to speak to management...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrummey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Wow, what a review - thank you very much for such a great description and review of your stay. We hope to see some of your photos too!
We look forward to seeing you again, in the not too distant future?
Thank you again for taking the time to review Cedar Manor
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

we went to Cedar manor for an evening meal and had a lovely meal which we both enjoyed. The food was lovely but the service was specifically good - attentive without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rcjeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you very much for writing a review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed dining at Cedar Manor and hope to see you next time you are visiting the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Cannot fault this hotel. Great building , friendly personable service, good quality food and affordable price.

Well done!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJO_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit. Great feedback!
We look forward to seeing you and your lovely smiley Mum again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

A lucky find when we desparately needed some 'rest and relaxation' in 2009. Everything - the room, the marvellous food, the genial hosts and the convenience of the location - was perfect for our needs, Our recent visit did not disappoint in any way; Caroline and Jonathon are the most welcoming of hosts and the standards have, if anything, improved as they continue to refurbish an already top quality hotel. Go on, indulge yourselves - we will as soon as we get the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really enjoyed meeting you both again and hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
ps what a great picture of the tree!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have just spent a wonderful week at the Cedar Manor Hotel. Jonathan and Carolyn went out of their way to ensure that we had a comfortable and relaxed stay.
The food is freshly made and to have a different home baked bread every night was a treat.As we were there for longer than most, our hosts prepared a couple of different courses from those listed to give us extra variety. Little touches like that make a very personal service.Their chefs are obviously enjying what they do as it showed in the standard and use of fresh produce at all meals.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town, railway station and the Lakeland store! We had the Orrest Head suite that gave us a sitting area with the tea making facilities and another TV. (which when you are there for more than a few nights is good). Everything was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our best wishes to Veronica for her wedding in June.
We hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Our room was beside the road and, as we sleep with the window open, we were aware of early morning t...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially our food.
We hope to see you again for another relaxing week next year.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £145 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing