We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Luxury!”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

From the moment you walk through the front door at Cedar Manor and are greeted by Jonathan and Caroline you know you are in for an amazing stay.

We are regular visitors to Cedar Manor and to be honest we have never written any reviews about it as we didn't want to share our little Lake District gem. However, on staying in the Coach House Suite we felt that we had to write something.

The Coach House Suite is just pure luxury!

After entering the stylish front door/entranceway, the first room you come to is the bedroom. This is a lovely, tastefully decorated room with a large plasma TV and plenty of room for storage. Then....... there is the bathroom! This is the most luxurious bathroom we have ever seen. There is underfloor heating, an amazing double shower, even the toilet is a thing of beauty and the bath, well the bath is just out of this world! You have to see it to believe it!

Upstairs there is a lovely open plan lounge/dining/kitchen area, again with a large plasma TV. The L-Shaped couch is very comfortable with a couple of skylights (there’s a gadget for this that you’ll start playing with immediately!) to gaze out of. There are iPod docks upstairs and downstairs which can settle any musical differences! We stayed at the beginning of December and Caroline put up a Christmas tree which made the lounge even more welcoming.

Cedar Manor is full of friendly staff and they always go the extra mile to ensure your stay is enjoyable and relaxing.

In summary, if you are looking for the perfect getaway - look no further!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your secret with everyone on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read your comments and very pleased that you enjoyed your most recent stay.
We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
90
862
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have just returned home after a two-night stay at this hotel and we have thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our short stay.
The owners of the hotel are a lovely, friendly couple who obviously pride themselves in the running of their business. The service is faultless, the rooms are clean and well-decorated, and the food is outstanding. The attention to detail is exceptional.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anybody, and will be telling all our friends and family about it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very surprised to see that there are any negative reviews at all for this hotel. It was spotlessly clean, newly decorated to a very high standard, well located, comfortable and cosy even with temperatures of -11 outside, the service was faultless and the food excellent. And if that were not enough - its also eco-friendly behind the scenes, with flow control taps (not that you'd notice) and so on. We had a lovely stay and would go back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be good, but you might want to book a room with a view of the lake. We di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fl594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased to read your comments and always do our best to keep things cosy - even when its bitter outside.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

From walking in the door until our departure our hosts were very warm and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was first class and the furnishings and decor were, in the words of Craig Revel Horwood fab-u-lous!. 'Fine dining' would aptly describe the food and dining experience. No hesitation in recommending this fine establishment. M & J A

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. Its rewarding for all of us to receive such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchster england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at Cedar Manor, we had a wonderful weekend dispite the snow which came down very heavy on the saturday. the food at dinner and breakfast is really good, the dinning room is a perfect setting for dinner - very welcoming, Jonathan and Caroline are very attentive hosts and look after all there guests very well. we will certainly return in the future.
Lorna & Alan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaralouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Lorna and Alan
Thank you very much for reviewing your weekend at Cedar Manor. The snow certainly added to the fun this weekend! We popped some snowy snaps on our facebook page to remind everyone about our winter wonderland!
We hope to see you again soon, and thanks again for the review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Our two night stay was faultless.
Warm and welcoming hosts
Our room was extremely clean and beautifully furnished and with every amenity and the food exceptional.
We would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased to read your comments and glad you enjoyed your room and our food.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Warm and welcoming hosts - it felt a little like staying with friends rather than as hotel guests. Our room was beautifully furnished and with every amenity, and the food at both breakfast and dinner exceptional.
The hotel has recently won an award for its decor - well deserved.
We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: From what we saw all rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whalleykay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased to read your feedback and see that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing