We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this wonderful place. It was an Anniversary treat and having been told I could choose anywhere in the world this was the place that caught my eye. I'm so glad it did because the stay was perfect from the moment we arrived until we had to unfortunatley leave.

We stayed in the Coach House Suite and it was worth every penny. This place is top end, contemporary mixed with traditional. Comfortable and luxurious, not just clean but sparkling! The bath with the mood lighting was sensational and I could have lived in it quite happily.

Johnathon and Caroline are magnificent hoteliers and appear effortless whilst delivering a first class service to all of their guests. Now considering they must be working from dawn until Midnight and still have a family to care for this is some going. They are extemely welcoming (as was the adorable Elizabeth), efficient and they give everyone an individual service. This is not something you would find in the large hotels - even the best ones.

The food is exquisite, well presented and plentiful. Quite simply some of the tastiest food I've ever eaten.

There are so many places to visit that are on the doorstep of this hotel and Johnathon is knowledgeable and generous in his advice of sights to see.

We will definiltey return here in the not too distant future. Thanks Guys it was tremendous.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra and go for the Coach House Suite - you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripperChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you very much for such a great review. We are delighted with your feedback and really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Coach House.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline, Jonathan and Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
90
863
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here just for one night - so, all too brief - but we'll definitely be back. From the moment you step through the front door, you are made to feel very welcome. The ambience is that of a luxury (but certainly not stuffy) country house. The attention to detail is amazing. It just feels as though the owners are determined to make everything as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Our room was warm, cosy and had luxurious fittings. The bed was perfect, and we even had an airbath in the bathroom. Little touches make it so lovely - from a little sewing kit to handmade chocolates in your room. Jonathan and Caroline welcome you like friends, and are the ideal hotel hosts. The food (we had dinner and breakfast) was absolutely wonderful. Book it!

Room Tip: As far as we could see, all the rooms are wonderful - but you must have a look at the coach house su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniemac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Langdale room. Its really rewarding to receive such good feedback about the hotel and your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We had two wonderful nights at the Cedar Manor! It was not the cheapest option available but for the luxury we get and the price we paid - it was an excellent choice!

The property itself has beautiful surroundings and is situated not too far from the Lake (Windermere). Awesome breakfasts and great dinners are to be had at the restaurant. We requested to have a cheese platter upon arrival and it was great! Perfect after a long drive.

Jonathan & Caroline are great - both running the place with grace and precision. Dinner was a posh (but relaxed) affair with pre-dinner drinks, excellent food with local produce. All were highlights for our trip.

But the thing that will make us remember our time here was Jonathan's awesome off-the-beaten path directions for a quick day tour (by car) around the Lakes. With well planned stops and side roads that only locals will know about - it was a treat! Would have missed all of that if not for his instructions!

The very best place to stay in the area and we hope to be back!

Room Tip: Every room has its own character but for ease of movement (and carrying bags), the ground floor exec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabidcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for such a great review. We are really pleased that we were able to help you with your trip around the Lakes.
We are all pleased that you enjoyed your room and dinners, glad that they became a highlight of your trip.
If you make it back to the Lakes in the future, we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break at this lovely place. Beautiful surroundings, fantastic food and a warm and friendly welcome. Definitely recommend to anyone wanting a litle luxury in the Lakes.
Jonathan and Caroline were great hosts and had plenty of local information. If you are looking for a good walking base - this is it.

Room Tip: Overlooking the front on the building - didn't notice any noise. Very attractive room and lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you had a good time and enjoyed the hotel and the Lake District.
We look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake district
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

A party of 18 stayed here for one night for a birthday celebration. I was lucky enough to stay at the Coach House - a real treat. Unfortunately I didn't have enough time to enjoy the simply stunning bathroom, but the rest of it left nothing to be desired. Pre-dinner drinks, dinner and a nightcap were served with a relaxed efficiency. Needless to say that the food was delicious. Breakfast was another highlight, but I shall not go on and on and on. Just go there and try it out - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keswickian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your family party at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted that you enjoyed the Suite - you must come back and have a more relaxing break next time. We are also pleased that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast and felt that the atmosphere was relaxed and efficient.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We had a fantastic 5 nights at the Cedar Manor Hotel, Jonathan and Caroline are the perfect hosts and run it with "silver service" precision. The breakfast is probably the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel, the choice amazing from the customary egg, bacon etc through to wonderful American pancakes with maple syrup. We asked for help on what to do one day and there was Jonathan with a print out of a lovely drive which we followed, so helpful - thank you. The hotel is situated just 5 minutes walk from the town centre which has a number of restaurants and a short drive from other lovely towns,perfect for visiting the Lakes.

There is a lot of competition from other hotels in the area but I can seriously recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent holiday at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased to read that you had one of your best hotel breakfasts here, we always aim to set you up for the day!
We hope to see you again for another Lake District break in the not too distant future. We have plenty more drives, walks and visits for you next time.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The hotel owners were welcoming and very knowledgeable regarding the local area. The room was cosy, but had everything you could want. My partner enjoyed his evening meals but I think I made the wrong choices. The lamb with dumplings (?) I didn't enjoy at all. The dumplings were not cooked. Would I go back, yes, but probably choose a bigger room.

Room Tip: Choose the biggest room you can afford and preferably in the front of the hotel, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent weekend break at Cedar Manor. We are pleased that you found your room well equipped and comfortable, we are always happy to help on room choice. We have the cosy premier rooms, some larger executive rooms and our Suites, something we hope for most budgets.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal, we have found our Winter Lamb to be very popular amongst most diners. Again, apologies if you didn't think the dumplings were cooked, I am sure if you brought it to our attention it would have been resolved immediately.
We look forward to hearing from you again.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing