We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Divine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Well...I cannot praise this hotel highly enough! After a really tough couple of months with serious illness, my husband thought I deserved a proper treat. I said I would like to go to the Lake District, so he booked two nights at Cedar Manor in the Coach House Suite.

We were given a warm welcome by Jonathan and shown to our Suite. Wow...it can only be described as awesome! There are two floors, the ground being the bedroom, with extra large, comfy bed, comfortable seating area, large TV complete with iPod dock and sound system. Fridge with tea and coffee making facilities and a state of the art bathroom, complete with amazing bubble bath, mood lighting and a gorgeously appointed shower. The towels were fluffy and the bath robes provided were perfect.

The first floor is an open plan living/dining area with really cosy 'L' shaped sofa seating, large TV and sound system. Dining area complete with kitchen facilities...microwave, espresso machine, instant boiling water tap and fridge with fresh milk. There is also a smaller shower room/toilet, again excellently appointed. The Coach House is spotlessly clean, the decor is of the highest quality...so modern and tasteful. Everything so precisely thought out to make the guest experience so truly wonderful.

On the first evening we dined in the hotel restaurant. Firstly we were served drinks in the very comfortable lounge and then shown to our table in the dining room. The food was first class. Every course was a true delight, and the service impeccable.

On both mornings breakfast was served in the Coach House Suite. We chose from the menu the night before and without disturbing us downstairs, the table upstairs was set and when breakfast was ready and waiting, we were given a phone call to say it was ready. The second morning happened to be Valentines Day and we had a 'Champagne Breakfast' What a treat!

Our second evening meal was taken in the suite...private dining! Jonathan served us to another wonderful meal. It was so, so lovely... I did put a nice dress on for dinner, but I was also wearing my slippers! The food was just outstanding, I particularly enjoyed the 'Pear Mousse' for desert which I had on both of the evenings during our stay.

All in all, I can only say what a wonderful experience it was to stay in this beautiful place. Jonathan and Caroline are outstanding hosts...they have Cedar Manor 'just right'... They also have a first class chef. A perfect, comfortable and romantic treat in a beautiful setting. Two days of blissful luxury. Something that will be in my memory always.

Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor in the Coach House Suite. What a great write up, we are all really pleased that you enjoyed your well deserved rest.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
89
848
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I booked this hotel in Windermere for a Valentines Day stopover with Mrs D as this is one of the very few better class places in the Lakes that she hasn't stayed in so this was a nice surprise for her.

Easy to access, good parking and accessible just outside Windermere itself. Fine mid Victorian building in local stone and Victorian gothic styling - common areas are great and very comfy / homely - room was similar, we felt very at home and comfy.

Service was excellent both from the owners and the staff with nothing too much trouble.

Food was great, lots of little touches and clearly lots of thought given to the evening for guests. Breakfast was a similar quality with excellent ingredients.

Minor quibbles only - bathroom required minor updating to shower and some paper peeling and the price we paid for the evening, dinner, B&B was at the pricier end perhaps though price and quality are all relative.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your break especially the food and service.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best regards
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We hadnt planned staying here but we are glad we did. It was that good we stayed an extra night.
The owners and staff were hands on and catered for all our needs. The wine was great, the food marvelous, the bed comfy and the breakfast finished our stay beautifully. A top hotel in a top location. Will visit again, the best hotel stay to date. It had it all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you very much for writing such a great review of Cedar Manor. We are really pleased that you dropped in and decided to stay.
We hope you will pop in again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is an absolutely amazing place to stay and eat. Jonathan and Caroline make you feel totally welcome and are just lovely people! they are fascinating (and very amusing) to talk to about how they have developed the place. From the moment we arrived, we were totally pampered, immediately being offered an upgrade. Nothing was too much trouble down to having 'real' (yes not horrible UHT!!) milk in a fridge in the room and they even got us some earl grey tea especially for the room too. The room (Crinkle Craggs) was lovely, beautifully modernised with a spotlessly clean bathroom and crisp white sheets and a comfy mattress (and we are very fussy about mattresses). There was loads of piping hot water and a powerful shower and bath. Before we left, Caroline also showed us the coach house which luxurious is not an adequate word to describe-it is spectacular with a bathroom that is like a luxury sensory experience with beautiful lights, a spa bath for 2 and a massive walk in shower. The whole coach house is wired up with the most up to date technology with surround sound tv and a pod dock to plug in for music and films; im sure my description really cant do it the justice it deserves. Re the restaurant, every course on both evenings we dined there was perfect. You can tell all of the produce is of the highest standard and that the chef must be a perfectionist who loves his job. Each course was just divine and the homemade ice creams (we tried lavender and nutmeg) were gorgeous. The breakfasts were also brilliant with an excellent choice from traditional american pancakes with smoked bacon and maple syrup (which i'm going to have next time i stay) to porridge and of course the essential full english. After dinner we retired to the lounge for coffee and drinks where it is cosy and informal esconsed in a wonderful mix of modern up to date decor married with traditional William Morris influence in comfy settees with plumped up cushions. We will very definitely be back to Cedar Manor as really we couldn't imagine wanting to go anywhere else on our regular trips to the lakes now. Thank you so much to Caroline and Jonathon and all of your dedicated team for such a magical stay-as we said, it was like we had to pinch ourselves to check we hadn't had a crash en route and found ourselves in heaven!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigga-Vixxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Wow, what a brilliant review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break at Cedar Manor.
(we are all very passionate about the hotel, and I think you may have picked up on that!)
We hope you choose us again on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in a different hotel (Windermere Suites) who recommended this restaurant. It was my husbands birthday and we hadn't informed them but they treated as if we had. We booked online really quick and simple.
Dinner menu autumn 2012. Five starter, mains and desserts.
We were met by Jonathan a unassuming, warm man who was passionate and knowledgable about the food and drink he served. Later we met Caroline also just as friendly.
Whilst looking over the menu in the bar we were brought Asian style nuts and Parmesan biscuits, devine just enough to wet the appetite.
The rest of the meal didn't disappoint either, it just got better. Great wine list also. My only criticism is one vegetarian option only, however if it is the same standard as our meal you wouldn't be disappointed.
Lovely atmosphere, decor and fantastic food, would definitely recommend. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ushi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Cedar Manor when you visited Windermere. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your evening and hope to see you again on your next visit to the Lakes.
We are just putting the finishing touches to our Valentines Menu for next week and then straight into an early Spring Menu by early March.
Thank you again for reviewing Cedar Manor.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent a very good weekend here. Cedar Manor is a well run family hotel, service is excellent and the food in the restaurant is worth the visit in its own right. You feel like part of the family. It is also well located for walking or just seeing the sites of the lake district.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alastair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your weekend break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant and we helped you to relax and feel at home.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I got a two night stay at cedar manor in the coach house for my birthday off my girlfriend, after looking at the pictures of the suite before going i must admit i was blown away. Upon arrival, we were met by the owners who are such lovely people and could not do enough for us. There enthusiasm for there newly built coach house (we stayed jan 2012) was really nice to see, caroline even showed us the interior designers design book.
Jonathan showed us to the suite which is located just to the left of the main hotel and as soon we went in i was blown away at the finish, much better than the pictures i had seen prior to the visit.
We had a meal at the hotel included so we chose to take this on the first night, again this was tremendous. It was a few months ago now so i cant recall exact dishes but all of the food and service was fantastic.
Another nice touch to staying in the coach house is breakfast in the suite. due to the layout (sleep downstairs, living area upstairs) the staff can come in on the upstairs level whist you are snoring downstairs and set the table, bring in breakfast which for me was full english both days and was absolutely delightful. my girlfriend ordered poached eggs, which on both days were cooked to perfection, even with getting them from the main hotel to the suite then us going upstairs. somebody will call the phone next to the bed once the staff have set the table, really really nice touch.

would 100% recommend this to anyone as a nice bit of luxury, maybe a special occasion. I will certainly be back

Room Tip: Splash out and go for the coach house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan7rc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
What a great review of the Coach House, we are delighted that over a year since you stayed you have such great memories of the Suite.
Thank you very much for such a fantastic review and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
PS watch out for some very special offers soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing