We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Romantic....”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We took my mother and father for a meal for their wedding anniversary. It was defiantly the right place to go. It had a very romantic feel with the pretty lights and single pink rose on all the tables. The building is wonderful, lots of character which we really enjoyed. We were so well looked after, the service by the owners was amazing. They are very helpful and attentive. One of our party of 8 has lots of food intolerances and they were so carful, preparing special dishes that didn't include the foods that she preferred not to eat. The food was very good and we would defiantly go back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy-Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Cedar Manor for your Mum and Dad's Anniversary. Thank you also for taking the time to review your evening. We are all pleased that you enjoyed dinner here and were glad we could help with one of your parties food intolerances. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    91
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
96
887
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband booked this hotel as I had mentioned going to the lakes for my birthday. We read the reviews and decided to try out! We were not disappointed!!

From start to finish it was a truly lovely and memorable stay, the room was spacious with a very comfortable bed and homely.

The bar area was beautifully decorated and a real talking point as the owners explained how they came to decide on the design etc.

The food in the restaurant was absolutely stunning and service exceptional, attention to detail at its best!

We were only a few minutes walk from the town so an ideal location.

If you want wonderful service and food please stay at Cedar Manor!!!

Thank you again to the owners and staff for my special birthday treat! And to my husband for arranging:)

Claire & Gregg Magenheimer

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Birthday Treat at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Cedar Manor and hope to see you for another relaxing stay again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have just returned from our romantic mini-moon in the Lake District where we stayed in the Coach house suite for two nights. Wow. Just wow. The suite itself is perfect, everything you could wish for has been incorporated into the suite in both a luxurious and tasteful way. The two person jacuzzi bath framed by atmospheric mood lighting was a particular highlight, we spent several hours in there drinking champagne and pruning up whilst listening to our favourite chill out music through the bathroom speakers!The food in the hotel is delicious and plentiful. After months of wedding dieting it was heaven! Breakfast was served in the dining room of our suite while we snoozed, we received a phone call once it was all set up to let us know breakfast was served. Truly spoilt! The owners are wonderful, friendly people and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and valued. We cannot recommend Cedar manor enough, you made the start of our married life very special indeed. Thank you Lauren and Ben Evans

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenJEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Evans
Congratulations again on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing Cedar Manor as your mini-moon destination. We are really pleased that you were able to come, relax and unwind after your wedding. We are really pleased that you enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and breakfast in your Suite - a proper treat!
We hope to see you again for Anniversaries, Birthdays or just a "get-away" for a few days.
Thank you again for the brilliant review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Once again we have had another lovely stay at Cedar Manor, consistently excellent all round. Lovely welcome from Caroline and Jonathan, excellent service and lovely food. We had the pleasure of staying on this occasion in the Coach House which is truly exceptional, the only downside was that it was for 2 nights only and not longer! Looking forward to returning later in the year.

Jan & Peter S

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your latest stay at Cedar Manor. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the Coach House Suite and look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the Autumn.
Look forward to seeing you again then.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was taken to the Cedar Court for dinner on my 30th birthday and had the most gorgeous 4 course meal. I can highly recommend the restaurant, it was lovely and quiet and suitable for families or a couple.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor, we are delighted that you enjoyed dinner and your recommendations.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This was the first holiday with my boyfriend from the moment we walked in we felt homly and welcomed staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and had everything you need for a weekend away. Even though i never made it for breakfast my boyfriend did and said it was very lovely and had a nice choice on what to chose from. Can't say enough how helpful and friendly the staff were couldn't of gone for a better place and will be going back in the near furture as had such a wonderful time want to say thank you again for a wonderful and never to forget first holiday with my boyfriend all the best to you guys and hope to see you again soon

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your break at Cedar Manor, we are so pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed the Lake District and hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Having had to re-book our 2 night stay following floods at home over Christmas we were looking forward to this short break, a family of 3 with teenager. Unfortunately it was a little disappointing from the start ; when paying high prices you expect high standards, the room was good but not worth £180/night and was not set - fully equipped for the 3 guests - bathroom toiletries, robes and tea/coffee/cups only set for 2. We were not offered a table in the dining room on arrival/check-in by the proprietor. The bar area is beautifully furnished but small and a little too formal ( uncomfortable atmosphere so we never sat there....). The breakfast room again beautifully decorated but too quiet, the porridge was poor (bland) even though it was made to order and both mornings there were not enough Danish pastries. Considering the room rates it’s not value for money, more a B&B! A great quiet retreat for couples but for those looking at a little more for their money in terms of facilities and family,....it's not a good choice.
Jean L's colleague.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeanie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. Firstly we should apologise that a 3rd cup wasn't added for your son on the hospitality tray, it was a genuine oversight as there was extra tea, coffee, biscuits and towels already in the room. We are sorry if this caused any inconvenience.
We do think that whatever we had done wouldn't have improved your stay as you actually wanted to be in Ambleside, not Windermere - as you told us when you arrived and were surprised to find Cedar Manor in Windermere.
We are also disappointed that you didn't book into the restaurant on either night of your stay, so you could have experienced Cedar Manor fully, on check-in you were advised that there was a menu in the room folder and to let us know if you would like a table, on both evenings we set a table for 3, just in case.
Anyone staying in a hotel and not using any of its facilities, would only experience the b&b side, so we do think that your opening appraisal is a little off the mark. If you went to any hotel and didn't use the restaurant or any other facilities it may have, would you call it a b&b?
Thank you for trying us and we are sorry that Cedar Manor wasn't for you.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
ps - we make our porridge with water (not cream or milk) so that anyone who is lactose intolerant can also enjoy it. We are very happy to make it with mild and cream if requested. There are many things that you can add from the buffet such as jams, fruit compote, honey and maple syrup if so desired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing