We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay and dine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay and dine.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We are in our late 60s, originally from the North of England but have lived all of our married lives in the South. We wanted a few days in the Lake District after spending time with family in Merseyside, and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel for our stay. It is extremely comfortable, beautifully appointed and offers warm hospitality. We were in a ground floor room in the main building which had everything we needed, a comfortable bed, a luxurious bathroom, plenty of room for all our stuff, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and an excellent TV plus DAB radio and iPhone docking point. The dining room and lounge/bar area are very pleasing - it was very quiet when we were there but there was discrete and appropriate music playing, good service was always available at the press of a bell, and we felt very relaxed and warmly welcomed by Caroline, Jonathan and the two waitresses we met. The breakfasts and dinners are of the highest standard without being pretentious (and there is too much pretentiousness around these days for our taste). Moreover, it is excellent value for money. All in all we have no hesitation in recommending Cedar Manor unreservedly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70plusretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted to read your comments and to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay; room, food and service.
We hope to welcome you back in the New Year, keep an eye on our website for some fantastic special offers coming up in January and February.
Thank you again for taking the time to review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    88
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
95
877
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My partner and I when previously staying in The Lakes had only ever had dinner at Cedar Manor and enjoyed it so much we decided to stay there this time.
We stayed for 3 nights, Caroline and Jonathan made us feel so welcome. The room was very spacious, very well decorated and of very high quality, even down to the staff putting fresh milk in the fridge on a daily basis.
Bar area used for pre dinner drinks is lovely and cosy, with Jonathan serving the drinks and was also very enthusiastic in finding what his guests had been up to that day as well as being very knowledgeable about his wines too.. The menu was very good indeed and also delivered taste wise as well, we certainly didn't struggle with the choices. What we did like was that Caroline and Jonathan are investing in the local community, not only with the produce they are sourcing locally (which you could tell by the quality) but also the furnishings too.
It is a very personal service at Cedar Manor and we have recommended our friends to stay there too

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. It was lovely to be able to welcome you both back as hotel guests this time. Very pleased with your feedback and we look forward to welcoming your friends and of course, yourselves back again in the future.
Please have a look at our website, link is at the top of this Trip Advisor listing, you can find a newsletter to sign up too and we send out some very special offers for booking directly.
Thank you again for such a lovely review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel in September (for 3 nights) while on a driving holiday in Britain. Parking was free and off street.

The hotel was set on the main road into the township of Windermere (within easy walking distance to the town and the lake) in an attractive setting.

Our room was large and very comfortable with a large bed, lots of extra seating and a good bathroom. One thing that we noticed throughout our travel in the UK was the use of a doona only - no top sheet which if the weather is warm can be too much but without a covering - not enough - so we requested an extra sheet each time we encountered this and our request was met on all occasions without difficulty. Also not all venues are air conditioned - so an open window is often the only option.

While our room was on the ground floor (in the wing off from the bar) and the hotel was quiet, I was woken on a couple of occasions by the guests ( in the room next door) coughing - not loud but enough. Traffic noise was not an issue - despite the open window.

We dined in the restaurant on our first night. This was an interesting event as guests are asked to wait in the lounge room where orders are taken and after about 1/2 hr are then invited into the dining room - this occurred no matter what time you were dining. The meal was pleasant, though a little pricey.

An easy walk into the township - there are any number of cafes, bistros and restaurants as well as lots of shops and hotels. Also at the rear of the property there is a public footpath which leads walkers along a pretty, green walkway beside a small waterfall down toward the lake (well worth the walk).

Located in Windermere we were able to travel easily throughout the Lake distract visiting many of the sites. We visited Beatrix Potters "Hill Farm" which was just fabulous! (Allow a bit of time though as they restrict the number entering the house (which is good) by allocating certain entry times. Parking was on site but again you may have to wait for a spot - its is well managed. There are a couple of places where you can eat or drink while waiting ). We would suggest that given the shortage of literature (in the Windermere info centre) on what to see and do while driving - you research this prior to travelling eg the AA driving tours of England.

In all our stay was a very pleasant one. Windermere was a lovely town in which to stay for the 3 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful and were happy to assist us with anything we required. We would have no hesitation recommending the hotel if staying in Windermere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor and indeed review your visit to Windermere and the Lakes.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Manor and as you say, we are always on hand to help our guests. The climate in the Lakes is generally cool but this year was exceptional and we had a warm summer - its no problem if you like an extra sheet, you can even request this at the time of booking so its all done when you arrive.
Thank you for trying the restaurant, we serve dinner a leisurely pace to give you the opportunity to relax and enjoy the dining experience that we offer. We could take you straight to the table but you would then have to wait around 20-30 minutes for the service to begin, this is because we are using fresh, seasonal produce with very little cooked prior to you ordering. It takes this time for the chef to prepare your dinner and get the "ball rolling".
We are launching a more casual dining menu next year that can be taken in one of our lounges or as room service, which gives you a choice from the more formal (but relaxed) dining in the restaurant.
Really pleased that you enjoyed the area, Windermere and the Lake District is a brilliant place to visit - with the cultural attractions and then of course the mountains and lakes.
We hope to see you on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Weekend in Windermere made even better by our stay at the Cedar Manor. Location is excellent for a wander into Windermere. Rooms were tastefully decorated and had everything we needed including a fridge. Bathroom modern, clean and had both a shower and a bath. The lounge for pre/post dinner drinks was cosy and both dinner and breakfast were fantastic. This is a traditional building which is very well maintained and adds lots of character. Grounds were lovely too. This place knocks socks off your average BandB or large hotel chain. Just perfect.

Excellent hospitality and a great stay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle75_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased to read your comments and hear that you had a great stay.
We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future for another break with us in the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

As a gift for my partner I booked a two night stay at the Cedar Manor for our anniversary and it was brilliant.
The grounds are beautifully maintained and the great first impression doesn't stop there. All of the public areas are well kept inside the hotel. Check-in was smooth, friendly and efficient and Jonathan showed us to our room (Orrest Head). He explained where to find everything in the room and left us to it.
The room was beautifully decorated and spotless! Just about anything you could need whilst away from home was in this room. A good selection of different teas (locally sourced rather than most hotels bog-standard tetley), ground coffee for a cafetiere, hot chocolate and a couple of pods for an espresso maker. The sitting room had a large and very comfortable sofa, tv, large coffee table and a built in wardrobe. The bathroom was beautiful. A separate shower cubicle and an air bath. Wonderfully soft towels on a radiator and a large range of complimentary products in the bathroom. Then we have the most important part of the room: the bedroom. A very large bed and well made bed (we couldn't decide whether it was a king-size or a super-king). The bedroom had an iPod player/alarm clock, a television, a small and full-sized mirror as well as lots of storage space in drawers and cupboards. On further investigation I also found a sewing kit and a shoe-shine box. The room was always warm even though on both evenings it was freezing outside. The only thing we could've tried to find wrong was the view. It was round the back of the hotel but it didn't matter one little bit to us. The room was worth every penny.
Cedar Manor is in a great location which makes it very easy to leave the car behind so we ventured out for awhile on foot before returning to have dinner that we had pre-booked. The lounge is gorgeous! The bar has plenty of drinks to choose from and an extensive wine list. Jonathan and Caroline were putting on a small firework display for some children which we watched from the bar window. After ordering for dinner we were taken through to a candle lit restaurant. "Margaret R" below seems to have some gripe with romantic candle-lit restaurants but I thought it was beautiful. There was a friendly Spanish lady serving us in the restaurant who was fantastic the whole time. Starters and desserts were absolutely amazing. I would've quite happily eaten the Dark Chocolate Mille Fuille again and again. It pains me to criticise this place but main course was a little bit of a let down. We both had the steak which came with a different sauce than on the menu that Jonathan had informed us of whilst we were ordering. In theory the sauce had sounded nice but it became overpowering after a little while. Apart from the sauce everything was wonderful. We could even see fireworks coming from a neighbouring building through the restaurant window which was great.
We had breakfast on both mornings and it was great. The waitress was friendly and there was a large range of items to choose from. After we had gone out for the day and returned our room had been serviced with no detail missed.
Sadly we inevitably had to leave. Jonathan was friendly and everything on departure was just as smooth as check in. Hopefully we'll have the opportunity to return back soon as this hotel is absolutely fantastic.
Thank you to Jonathan, Caroline and the rest of the staff for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. And also for posting such a great image of the hotel. We are delighted that you had a great stay and really hope that you can "escape" your busy lives and come back soon.
Thank you again for such a great review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My better half and I booked the Cedar Manor on the basis of the reviews we read here, and boy, were they spot on. We stayed from 25th October to 27th October and despite the inclement weather we weren't disappointed.

We enjoyed a perfect weekend get away from start to finish. We were greeted by Jonathan outside as he spoke to the gardener who was mowing a perfect green lawn. He then showed us to our room, which was immaculate in every way. In fact it was immediately obvious the whole hotel was immaculate.

Every request was sorted quickly and without hassle and the bar area was as chilled as you get. A couple of bottles of Pinot went down very well. We didn't eat evening meal there, but were assured by others it was top class, but I can say without hesitation that the cooked breakfast is one of the best I've ever had - all freshly cooked all well sourced.

Thanks Jonathan, Caroline and family for a perfect weekend, we will be back and will recommend you to others.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spib28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are really pleased that you found the hotel to be "chilled" and had a relaxing stay. Something we hope everyone has.
Next time we hope to tempt you in to the restaurant for dinner!
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I booked Cedar Manor for a romantic weekend after staying there for one night in March 2012. On the last visit I found the host very warm and friendly, the room quiet and comfortable with a splendid bathroom and both the breakfast and evening meal superb. However, on this visit things were totally different. I booked by email and sent several emails giving all relevatnt information including my name and name of my partner Eric and that we would be travelling from Chorley by train. On arrival Caroline briskly gave me a form to sign and repeatedly asked for our car registration when I had already said that our journey by train was enjoyable. Our host Johnathon was very quiet and didn't seem to be interested in us their guests or how our journey had gone. Eric is French and had travelled from Paris to my home in Chorley prior to the train journey. I had never met Caroline last year and thought she was behaving very strangely. She never actually asked our names and on the card in our room we were adressed only as Miss Halton and partner. I felt this was a very poor attitude by both Johnathon and Caroline. I have never ever stayed anywhere with such cool hosts who clearly were not displaying any warmth towards us. The room was cramped with too much furniture and the bathroom was tiny making it impossible for us both to use it at once. I paid more than the normal price for this supposedly superior double room at £160 per night b & b. We chose to dine there because it was excellent food last year but sadly were very disappointed by the quality of the food and the attitude of the serving staff. Breakfast was also a complete disaster for me because I drink Earl Grey loose leaf tea but they didn't have any and served me a pot of awful strong smelling tea bags which clearly were NOT Earl Grey. When I asked Johnathon for Earl Grey he retorted saying it was Earl Grey and walked away without giving me any time to discuss. The poached eggs weren't cooked properly and when I cut one water just came out and they were also cold. The dining room was dimly lit for dinner with only candles so it was impossible to actually see your food. When I chose a vegetarian option of cheese souffle with salad I could taste fish but couldn't see this fish although I did find something resembling an anchovy. Because of the total lack of interest from the staff I didn't comment on the fact that fish is NOT for vegitarians. The vegetarian cottage pie was quite good but because it was very spicy with chillie I couldn't finish it in the knowledge that I would suffer later. I asked only for ice cream for dessert and the only choice of flavour was vanilla which I accepted. This was served with a very hard Italian biscuit containing nuts which should be served with coffee or a desert wine and never with ice cream, The ice cream had huge chunks of ice in it and tasted of nothing. I buy good quality icecream myself which is made in the Lake District and would have enjoyed one of these. We returned to our bedroom for coffee and tea because we had that facility which was probably the best thing about the hotel.
During Saturday night after a very stormy wet day we woke around 3 am totally frozen. Condensation was running down the windows and the radiators were stone cold. I never slept afterwards because I suffer from chronic asthma and must never sleep in a room below 18 degs. I felt dreadful in the morning and was glad to check out with the unfriendly hosts who didn't even wish us a good journey home but did give us a huge bill for meals which were dreadfully disappointing. I would have liked to discuss the problems with the room and meals but clearly the hosts weren't very approachable although they did seem to be friendly with othter guests. Such a shame but of course we won't be returning to Cedar Manor in the future. I must add that we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our weekend with a superb lunch at Miller Howe, Drinks at Lowe Wood hotel and the Old England Hotel and great taxi service by Pegasus.

Room Tip: NO room service available or a swimming pool so I do feel that £160 was not value for money for a cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent weekend at Cedar Manor.
We are not going to address every single point you have raised with your review in our response. We are going to say that you chose the room that you stayed in when you booked online, its description is very clear with views, locally hand-crafted furniture, king size bed. Yes, the bathroom is small but you need to remember that we aren't a purpose built Hotel, this is a beautiful, old, Victorian Gothic residence that has been sympathetically modified over the years.

The staff at Cedar Manor right from Caroline and Jonathan through to the lovely chap who does our washing up, all pride ourselves with the level of customer service we give. Your comments are totally unfounded, both Caroline and Jonathan were in the reception when you arrived and gave you our usual welcome when you arrived. I think you will find that it is you who was perhaps a "bit off" yourself and didn't engage with us.

The food that we serve is of the highest standard. How you have criticised the restaurant and staff is very unjust.

And just on heating, the hotel is heated to 22 degrees - day and night. There are 2 radiators in the room you had with fully adjustable thermostats, I can only think that you had them turned right down.

We really are very disappointed with your review and sorry that you didn't enjoy yourselves on this occasion. We will contact you to discuss these issues.

Best regards
Caroline and Jonathan

PS - we served you Earl Grey Tea every time you asked for it, the first morning you were more than happy with the Twinings Earl Grey tea that was served for you. The second morning you did ask me if it was Earl Grey, I said it was ( I made it myself), and another pot was sent out to you to replace the one you weren't happy with. Again, you decided it wasn't and didn't drink it. Its just more of the strange behaviour we experienced from you throughout the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing