We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My partner and I stayed for three nights in November. Caroline and Jonathan were welcoming and knowledgable hosts. We stayed in the Langdale Room, very comfortable bed, quiet, clean (spa bath not big enough for two though) Good WiFi. Defy you to sit on a toilet with a better view! Excellent evening meal in the restaurant and everything you could wish for at breakfast. Convenient off road parking.
A short walk down to the lakeside or into the town, but more choice of restaurants, shops etc when you go further down into Bowness.
Very enjoyable stay, will no doubt return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTR4A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, delicious food and of course the room with a view from the loo!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. (book direct for our special offers next time)
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    87
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
93
872
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Heather and I married this year and one of our wedding gifts was a short stay in Windermere at the Cedar Manor Hotel. Caroline and Jonathan really made us welcome and they took time out to explain their changing décor and the way they locally sourced and made all their food (bread, ice cream and preservatives to name a few). We dined in both nights, food was original and of course excellent. Wine was very good and the room was perfect. Caroline's local knowledge of walks came in very useful and used to the full. We will definitely be back to enjoy the service and comfort again.

Room Tip: Comfortable Beds and quiet surroundings. Cedar Manor scored highly on both counts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Congratulations again on your wedding and we were delighted to look after you on your Mini-Moon to the Lakes.
Very pleased that you enjoyed Cedar Manor, especially the dining and comfortable beds.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future, perhaps an anniversary?
Thank you for reviewing.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as a base to do some walking in the south lakes. What a perfect spot! Very comfortable room (Coniston) with a view of the lake. The food both for breakfast and dinner was superb, with a good choice. Owners extremely welcoming and very knowledgeable about walks. We will definitely be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hopeful_travfeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review of your recent holiday in the Lakes. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your room (and what a great view!) and dinners/breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We are in our late 60s, originally from the North of England but have lived all of our married lives in the South. We wanted a few days in the Lake District after spending time with family in Merseyside, and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel for our stay. It is extremely comfortable, beautifully appointed and offers warm hospitality. We were in a ground floor room in the main building which had everything we needed, a comfortable bed, a luxurious bathroom, plenty of room for all our stuff, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and an excellent TV plus DAB radio and iPhone docking point. The dining room and lounge/bar area are very pleasing - it was very quiet when we were there but there was discrete and appropriate music playing, good service was always available at the press of a bell, and we felt very relaxed and warmly welcomed by Caroline, Jonathan and the two waitresses we met. The breakfasts and dinners are of the highest standard without being pretentious (and there is too much pretentiousness around these days for our taste). Moreover, it is excellent value for money. All in all we have no hesitation in recommending Cedar Manor unreservedly

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70plusretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted to read your comments and to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay; room, food and service.
We hope to welcome you back in the New Year, keep an eye on our website for some fantastic special offers coming up in January and February.
Thank you again for taking the time to review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My partner and I when previously staying in The Lakes had only ever had dinner at Cedar Manor and enjoyed it so much we decided to stay there this time.
We stayed for 3 nights, Caroline and Jonathan made us feel so welcome. The room was very spacious, very well decorated and of very high quality, even down to the staff putting fresh milk in the fridge on a daily basis.
Bar area used for pre dinner drinks is lovely and cosy, with Jonathan serving the drinks and was also very enthusiastic in finding what his guests had been up to that day as well as being very knowledgeable about his wines too.. The menu was very good indeed and also delivered taste wise as well, we certainly didn't struggle with the choices. What we did like was that Caroline and Jonathan are investing in the local community, not only with the produce they are sourcing locally (which you could tell by the quality) but also the furnishings too.
It is a very personal service at Cedar Manor and we have recommended our friends to stay there too

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. It was lovely to be able to welcome you both back as hotel guests this time. Very pleased with your feedback and we look forward to welcoming your friends and of course, yourselves back again in the future.
Please have a look at our website, link is at the top of this Trip Advisor listing, you can find a newsletter to sign up too and we send out some very special offers for booking directly.
Thank you again for such a lovely review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel in September (for 3 nights) while on a driving holiday in Britain. Parking was free and off street.

The hotel was set on the main road into the township of Windermere (within easy walking distance to the town and the lake) in an attractive setting.

Our room was large and very comfortable with a large bed, lots of extra seating and a good bathroom. One thing that we noticed throughout our travel in the UK was the use of a doona only - no top sheet which if the weather is warm can be too much but without a covering - not enough - so we requested an extra sheet each time we encountered this and our request was met on all occasions without difficulty. Also not all venues are air conditioned - so an open window is often the only option.

While our room was on the ground floor (in the wing off from the bar) and the hotel was quiet, I was woken on a couple of occasions by the guests ( in the room next door) coughing - not loud but enough. Traffic noise was not an issue - despite the open window.

We dined in the restaurant on our first night. This was an interesting event as guests are asked to wait in the lounge room where orders are taken and after about 1/2 hr are then invited into the dining room - this occurred no matter what time you were dining. The meal was pleasant, though a little pricey.

An easy walk into the township - there are any number of cafes, bistros and restaurants as well as lots of shops and hotels. Also at the rear of the property there is a public footpath which leads walkers along a pretty, green walkway beside a small waterfall down toward the lake (well worth the walk).

Located in Windermere we were able to travel easily throughout the Lake distract visiting many of the sites. We visited Beatrix Potters "Hill Farm" which was just fabulous! (Allow a bit of time though as they restrict the number entering the house (which is good) by allocating certain entry times. Parking was on site but again you may have to wait for a spot - its is well managed. There are a couple of places where you can eat or drink while waiting ). We would suggest that given the shortage of literature (in the Windermere info centre) on what to see and do while driving - you research this prior to travelling eg the AA driving tours of England.

In all our stay was a very pleasant one. Windermere was a lovely town in which to stay for the 3 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful and were happy to assist us with anything we required. We would have no hesitation recommending the hotel if staying in Windermere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor and indeed review your visit to Windermere and the Lakes.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Manor and as you say, we are always on hand to help our guests. The climate in the Lakes is generally cool but this year was exceptional and we had a warm summer - its no problem if you like an extra sheet, you can even request this at the time of booking so its all done when you arrive.
Thank you for trying the restaurant, we serve dinner a leisurely pace to give you the opportunity to relax and enjoy the dining experience that we offer. We could take you straight to the table but you would then have to wait around 20-30 minutes for the service to begin, this is because we are using fresh, seasonal produce with very little cooked prior to you ordering. It takes this time for the chef to prepare your dinner and get the "ball rolling".
We are launching a more casual dining menu next year that can be taken in one of our lounges or as room service, which gives you a choice from the more formal (but relaxed) dining in the restaurant.
Really pleased that you enjoyed the area, Windermere and the Lake District is a brilliant place to visit - with the cultural attractions and then of course the mountains and lakes.
We hope to see you on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Weekend in Windermere made even better by our stay at the Cedar Manor. Location is excellent for a wander into Windermere. Rooms were tastefully decorated and had everything we needed including a fridge. Bathroom modern, clean and had both a shower and a bath. The lounge for pre/post dinner drinks was cosy and both dinner and breakfast were fantastic. This is a traditional building which is very well maintained and adds lots of character. Grounds were lovely too. This place knocks socks off your average BandB or large hotel chain. Just perfect.

Excellent hospitality and a great stay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle75_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased to read your comments and hear that you had a great stay.
We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future for another break with us in the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing