We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windermere hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Windermere hospitality”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A beautiful ten room hotel which has been upgraded and restored to very high standards by the present owners. They really have taken the task on with enthusiasm and commitment. Cedar Manor provides an excellent 'package' of quality food, very comfortable accommodation, clean well decorated rooms, a first class location and caring owners assisted by a lovely waitress Patricia from Santander. We didn't meet the chef but from what we saw of his cooking we will very likely be returning to try more of his creations. Overall, the cost of our break was just a little more than we might normally expect to pay but we feel that the whole experience was good value. We are very satisfied with our experience at Cedar Manor and we have no complaints about anything.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for a really super room. The Windermere room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your break at Cedar Manor and hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future.
We still have some great value packages available which are running throughout March and early April.
thank you again for such a complimentary review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    88
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
95
877
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
venice, italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in February. Its run by a couple and is perfect in that it is a hotel, so you feel you have lots of room to hangout there during the day, but it's run with lots of personal touches and friendly service. It's stylishly decorated, yet comfortable. It is also spotlessly clean!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foodietraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased to hear that you had a relaxing time
We hope you will be able to come and have another break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I chose Cedar Manor for a two night stay in windermere because of the good reviews and proximity to the station.

Everything was just as had been described. I had a view of the lake, the room was small but clean and comfortable with a firm bed and great touches such as shoe cleaning kit and fudge! The food was of a very good standard, sometimes a trifle under-seasoned but well presented and displaying skill. It was notable that even the crockery and cutlery had been chosen with impeccable taste and the general ambiance combined country house and modern hotel very well.

The hosts were delightful: unobtrusive but there when you wanted them . I would recommend Cedar Manor without hesitation .

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Demi-Cod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent short break at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted with your comments and feedback and hope you will be able to visit us again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

lovely room, exceedingly comfy bed, lovely good value food and attentive good humoured service, all made for a very enjoyable couple of nights.
A special mention for the waitress from Santander whose name we didn't get - she made us smile.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank time0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. Very pleased with your feedback and our fabulous waitress is "Patricia", she says "hello".
We hope to welcome you back for another stay soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basrah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I visited the Cedar Manor Hotel for 2 nights 14 & 15 Feb 2014, and stayed in the Coach House, a completely separate unit from the main hotel. The facilities in the coach house were excellent with a great sound system and terrific bathroom, although the spa bath is better suited to one rather than 2 persons, there is an Aqua TV mounted on the wall at one end. We had breakfast in the hotel on Sat morning and delivered to the coach house on Sun morning, it was excellent on both occasions. The coach house is ideal for that romantic getaway but close enough to walk into town within a few minutes. Jonathan took time to explain all of the various amenities in the coach house and was always on hand when we went for a drink in the bar.

Room Tip: Parking spaces are at a premium within the grounds and upon leaving there were vehicles parked on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrighty1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in the Coach House Suite at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your romantic break. We really try to give all our guests a romantic break, especially at Valentines.
We are sorry that the car-park felt busy, we were full and had a very busy restaurant during the weekend of Valentines, with many non-residents leaving their cars, which made it tricky. We have do have 12 spaces and only 10 rooms. All the residents managed to keep their spaces, which is of prime importance to us. As you correctly say, there is plenty of parking in the lay-by directly outside the hotel too.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another romantic break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I booked Cedar Manor for my partners birthday which is also on valentines day, the reviews that I had read about the hotel did not disappoint, after previously having worked in the hotel industry myself for many years, I am very fussy about where to stay and much time goes into researching hotels.
From the moment we pulled up on valentines day to the moment we left, we could not fault anything
First and foremost, Caroline and Jonathan are wonderful hosts and make sure you have everything you need without being overbearing, they both are truly passionate about their hotel and rightly so, their mission is to ensure all of their guests receive a five class service, and this is what we received.
Patricia who was there for both dinners was a lovely waitress and we had a few laughs, again she was all about ensuring that you had everything you needed.
The food and service was five star all the way and the dining room in the evenings was romantically lit and candles were glowing, just perfect - we felt like we were a million miles away from the stresses and strains of everyday life
We stayed in Crinkle Crags and the room was just perfect, there was a heart on the bed made out of rose petals and some rose magnets and sweets were within the heart, attention to detail was just sublime
If like me you spend alot of time on trip advisor and you are reading this contemplating booking this hotel, honestly stop your search and book, you will not be disappointed at all
Well done Caroline and Jonathan, you should be extremely proud with the beautiful hotel you have and your ethos of ensuring all guests are truly looked after
We will return !
Thank you so much for making this celebration weekend a perfect one!

Room Tip: Crinkle Crags was a lovely warm romantic room and had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are "bowled over" with your feedback. We are hoping that you can find some time for another break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline, Jonathan, Patricia and the team at Cedar Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

First impression when arriving was a nice cosy hotel. Some people were having dinner, others were having drinks in the lounge. Caroline greeted us warmly, showed us to our room (which was massive) and informed us of our dinner time. Flowers, champagne and handmade chocolates were a surprise for my partner that the hotel organised for me. After a freshen up and change we found our way to the lounge where Jonathan greeted us and showed us the menu and wine list. We ordered drinks which came promptly along with some nibbles and nuts. My partner has very particular dietry requirements (after a battle with colon cancer) and it seems my requirements were not forwarded to the hotel by the booking company I used (I will book directly with Cedar Manor next time). We were very impressed that Jonathan went out of his way in organising something for my partner to eat on both nights. Dinner was deilicious but I had no room for dessert on either night.
All the staff we encountered were great, especially the waitress with the great sense of humour.
Breakfast was equally delicious and their homemade jams and marmalade were a treat.
I would thoroughly recommend Cedar Manor and we will definitely come here again.
Caroline and Jonathan are the warmest hosts I have ever encountered and they make you feel totally at home.

Room Tip: The Bowness room is massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Travel_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you back for another break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
372 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing