We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The 5 star experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The 5 star experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Couldn't be any more happier with service and experience we received at cedar manor hotel. On our arrival, we were greeted firstly by the managers friendly daughter and their new puppy basil. We were then greeted by a very friendly member of staff called Patricia who proceeded to give us a tour of the hotel before bringing us to our amazing room and showing us how to work the TV, DVD player shower etc. We arranged to have dinner in the hotel that night given the great reviews its restaurant had received. Initially we were asked to wait in the lounge where our drinks orders were taken by the manager/owner? who was really friendly, interactive and entertaining...oh. also educational (gave us a fact about the amount of bubbles in a bottle of prosecco---78 million apparently). The meal itself lived up to its reviews. We were treated to a quality 4 course meal with attentive service throughout. After the meal the manager gave us some advice on nice pubs in the vicinity and organised a taxi. Myself and my girlfriend had gotten engaged earlier that day and cedar manor just topped off what was an already amazing day. John and Fiona

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor. First I must correct the Bubbles in Champagne statement, having read about this in an article it does claim around £78 million, if you Wiki this fact its actually debated I believe to be somewhere between 49 and 124 million, so I guess my figure must be a rough average.
Back to business, we are delighted that you got to meet our daughter with Basil, he is turning out to be quite a character!
Congratulations on your engagement by the way, we are all very pleased for you and hope you can make it back to Cedar Manor on anniversaries in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline, Jonathan and of course, Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
89
848
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A wonderful place to stay. Truly hospitable hosts, excellent cuisine, and superb wine list. It felt like a home from home. We stayed in Windermere which overlooked the front garden and drive; it has a large bathroom, and is a large room - very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. The hotel is also sensible in showing both half board and room and breakfast rates. Some of the other hotels insist on half board - even if you are not taking the evening meal. We are very much looking forward to our next stay which, hopefully, will not be too far distant. If you do nothing else in life - stay at the Cedar Manor.

Mark & Jackie Gill

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and will appeal to different people in different ways, the photographs on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback and look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to the Lakes in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Cedar Manor Hotel is just outside the town of Windermere, within easy strolling distance. We had a warm welcome from the owner who was generally helpful without being intrusive.

This is an old house which has been updated and converted to provide 10 bedrooms which are well equipped. Our room had a comfortable king size bed and a spa-bath which my wife much enjoyed. Not the largest of rooms so the TV was fixed to the wall but the fixing allowed it to be oriented to suit the viewer. A good range of teas, coffee and chocolate and biscuits provided in the room, together with fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge.

Breakfast in the restaurant offered a good range of dishes (smoked salmon with scrambled egg on a bagel was our favourite). Interesting range of locally made jams (although the marmalade was quite sweet, maybe because it was "summer" marmalade). We did eat in the restaurant one evening which was perfectly acceptable without being particularly memorable.

Quite expensive but well worth the cost for the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stokiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted that you enjoyed the room and breakfast. All our rooms are different shapes, sizes and styles, we have descriptions and pictures on our website, a new version is coming out very soon!
We hope you choose us on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Not only was the hotel comfortable and cozy, but it had two of the most hospitable innkeeper assistants around! Both Dorothy and Patricia were warm and friendly, and helpful in suggesting places to visit and dine. Cedar Manor sits on lovely grounds, was easy to access, and convenient to hailing a bus to get to wonderful day hikes. We recommend the hotel's restaurant as well, for both breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs; it gives better views to the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rooms and the food at Cedar Manor. It's also great to read such positives about the team who looked after you. Well done Patricia and the fabulous Dorothy.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to the UK
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 5 years ago on our honeymoon and again the following year. We decided to treat ourselves and return for our anniversary last weekend. Which is unusual for us as we like to try different places for all our breaks. But this place is special and deserves return visits !!
Since our last visit the hotel has continued to be restored to its grandeur, and to very high standards ...though don't get me wrong it's grand as it is !
The dinner was out of this world, the best Sea Bass I've had, and we love the appetisers, an espresso cup of delicious homemade soup.
I must mention the waitress at dinner, she was lovely so friendly and always smiling. When my husband decided we would take coffee outside to watch the sunset , old romantic he is, she was obviously keeping an eye on us and brought out HER coat to put round my shoulders , that's going above and beyond , a star !

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sylviaYorkshireDales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We were very pleased to see you both again and really happy to receive such great feedback. We are constantly working on the Hotel to ensure our guests enjoy their rooms and have a great, relaxing stay - whether its for a day or a week.
Patricia, our lovely waitress is a star, and we will make sure she reads this lovely feedback about her.
Thanks again for reviewing and we hope to see you soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I would like to say that the review below where they criticise the owners, they are talking rubbish! Jonathan and Caroline are the most accommodating hosts who would do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Someone who takes pride in the appearance of their hotel /business is a place I want to stay.
I've just spent 3 nights here and loved every minute of it. I too have a child and although we weren't able to experience dinner at cedar manor, having spoken to the other guests I've asked my husband that we come back for a romantic break without our son.
Would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a 5 star luxury experience despite if you have kids under 10 or not!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. Also, we would like to thank you for straightening out our kids policies and the fact that we do enjoy families staying at Cedar Manor. We have now introduced a Snack Menu/Light Bites which we serve in the lounges and by room service, so we hope not to exclude anyone who wishes to eat at the hotel.
Thanks again for the review, much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back with (or without) your son.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Went to dinner at the lovely Cedar Manor last evening. Was greeted by a gentleman who offered us seating in the finely decorated living room. He arranged for drinks and nibbles. We were escorted to the dining room by the sweet young server. I had a summer salad and the lamb, delicious and cooked to perfection. My wife had the goat cheese and red pepper mousse as a started and a delicious breaded chicken with fries. Amazing Pimms sorbet with summer pudding for dessert while ended the meal with a selection of local cheeses with oatcakes and crackers. Everything was superb. Presentation gets an A+, just beautiful! Also a great wine selection. Had coffee and tea outside watching the sun set. A very beautiful evening.

Room Tip: Take a boat ride on a steamer from Amblrside to Bowness, especially on a beautiful day in July.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbieM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Cedar Manor for dinner on your stopover in the Lakes. Delighted with your feedback and comments, and what a cracking title - "best dinner in the UK"
Wow, thanks again and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes

Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing