We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Day Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 Day Break”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed for 4 days. Hotel excellent, food superb and hosts and staff wonderful. We shall definitely be back. There is also a fabulous outdoor swimming pool only 12 miles long!
Very confenient for town centre and all surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russell a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your 4 day break in the Lakes. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially the outdoor pool down the road! (the Lake for anyone wondering, great for open-water swimming).
We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
90
862
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived too early for proper check-in, but our host was welcoming nevertheless. He took our bags so we could wander off exploring. When we got back our bags (so many bags!) were in our room. We thought the room was delightful and very comfortable. We cleaned up and went for dinner at the restaurant. We were guided to a small lounge where you can enjoy a glass of something nice, and peruse the menu. They take your order, then take you to your table. The food was outstanding! The service was friendly and discreet. Breakfast the next day was varied with hot and cold choices. A wonderful experience
,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your break at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stop-over in the Lakes. Thanks again for reviewing and we hope to welcome you back if you ever find yourselves back in the UK.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

my husband and I arrived for a two night stay and were delighted with cedar manor. the location is excellent - a 10 minute walk to the train station and to the main town, and also only 10 minutes away from the lake. the hotel itself is renovated to a high quality. breakfast is excellent with a great variety of foods. in room amenities are good...fresh milk in the fridge is a nice touch. can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor for your break earlier this month. We are delighted with your feedback and look forward to seeing you again. Why not try the Coniston Room next time, with great views towards the Lake and mountains!
Thanks again for the great review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

visited your amazing restarant last night. we had a perfect evening staff were delightful .food was just great cant fault it will be back thank you Johnathan, and special mention for Patricia you are the best waitress we have come across you will go far. Will be recommending your Fabulous hotel. and resteraunt thank you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChristineT562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you very much for choosing the restaurant at Cedar Manor for your recent evening out. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, as you know Roger our Head Chef and his team, source locally, seasonally and make everything on site.
We agree with you, Patricia is a brilliant waitress and is doing a fab. job is running the afternoon and evening shifts in the Hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline, Jonathan and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenglass
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We returned to Cedar Manor once again for my birthday celebrations and its just as amazing as ever. This hotel is a real gem, and every room that we have stayed in so far has not disappointed. We are both vegetarians and this is so well understood at this hotel and all the food was delicious and beautifully presented all with great service.
Jonathan and Caroline are a charming team and always make you feel very welcome.
If you want a special treat, visit this hotel, it delivers on all scores!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidRavenglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Cedar Manor for your Birthday, we always look forward to welcoming you back. Really pleased that you are enjoying the rooms, we wonder which one you will try next?
Also, its great to get good feedback on the vegetarian choices we have.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another Birthday, if not sooner!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a fabulous hotel. This is a small but exquisite hotel 10 mins walk from Windermere Village. My Hubby & I stayed here for 2 nights and we couldn't have wished for a nicer place. Staff are wonderful Patricia you are so lovely. Caroline & Johnathan the owners are so friendly & welcoming. Although we did not eat an evening meal at the hotel the breakfast is wonderful. Did not need any seasoning as everything was so tasty. Will definitely return to this wonderfully relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review you recent weekend break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and hope you book dinner next time!
Patricia said "hi" and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
ps. remember to book with us directly, especially for weekends when we will be showing as fully booked with the online agents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just got back from an amazing few days staying in The Coach House Suite, everything was perfect, from the staff, to the room, to the food. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We didn't want to leave, will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The Coach House suite is amazing, definitely worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break in the Coach House at Cedar Manor Hotel, we are delighted to read your review and look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing