We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
merseyside
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We stayed at the Cedar Manor as a little anniversary treat and it was wonderful. Jonathan and Caroline are truly excellent hosts and the standards are exceptional for a two star hotel.We stayed in the Langdale room, warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent and presented beautifully. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Will be three-four star soon

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torres01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 April 2009
Hi and thank you very much for reviewing the hotel. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Manor.
We hope you will come and stay again in the not too distant future.
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to review the hotel.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    88
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
95
877
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

I'm so pleased that we checked out Tripadvisor before booking anywhere to stay , so thanks for all the reviews on the Cedar Manor.

We (husband, 19 month old boy and me) were travelling to and from Scotland and needed somewhere to stop off over night at the start and end of our trip. I am so pleased we stayed here. Caroline and Jonathan were very sympathetic and accomodating to our little one. We were able to have an earlier dinner than other guests which made us feel relaxed about eating in the restaurant.

We stayed in Coachmans and Bowness and both rooms were spotless and spacious. The evening meal was fantastic and wasn't what I expected at all, in my opinion, the chef is very talented. Breakfast was just as good and would set anyone up for the day (I don't think I ate again till late afternoon).

Overall, I think this place is excellent and not just because it is child-friendly. I wish the owners well and look forward to staying again when we next head up to Scotland.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 April 2009
Hello, thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay and food!
We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Scotland.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Revisited Cedar Manor after a year. The food and hospitality were as excellent as last year. Thankyou Caroline, Jonathon and staff for a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Look forward to seeing you next year. Monica and Martin Peake.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 March 2009
Dear Monica and Martin
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are both pleased that you enjoyed your stay again. We are looking forward to seeing you next year.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We stayed at the Cedar Manor Hotel for an overnight. It is a lovely hotel the rooms are absolutely lovely and if you are looking for a change from the chain hotels then this is ideal. The bed was very comfortable and the room spotless and very homely. The evening meal was the best I have had in a long time and we eat out a lot in Glasgow. I know a previous reviewer said it is pricey but you pay for what you get – a very high quality meal! The breakfast was absolutely lovely too. The owners are very nice and very accommodating – they even gave us an upgrade! You are shown to your room which I thought was a lovely touch too! This hotel has a very personal service as the owners are very much hands on and they genuinely want you to have a nice time. If you are looking for a night away in the lake district then I cannot recommend this highly enough and they fact they take dogs in part of the Hotel is a bonus though I did not have my dog with me on this stay I would think about it for next time. The Hotel is a two min walk from the centre of Windermere so it’s very central and there are a good few bars in Windermere that we visited. I can highly recommend the Cedar Manor Hotel and would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 April 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write such a fantastic review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay and dinner.
You are right about dogs, they are accepted in our Coach House, which is separate from the main hotel, giving dog owners the freedom to come and go as they please.
We look forward to seeing you again, with or without your dog.
Thank you again for the review.
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

My WIfe and I have just spent a weekend here to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
We stayed in the Orrest Head Suite and it was fab. A nice sitting area with flatscreen tv, a spacious modern bathroom with spa bath and walk in shower and a lovely comfy super king bed. Nice decor, wi-fi and squeaky clean, bliss!
The restaurent is again spotless, nicely laid out and the food is to die for, we ate in on our first night and really wished we had on the second, a mistake we won't make next time. Breakfast is superb, being a bit of a fish addict I had the smoked haddock both days, but the cumberland grill looked fabulous, again it was a mistake not to try it!
Jonathan and Caroline are the perfect hosts and we have rarely felt so at home away from home.
This Hotel has a wonderful ambience and in my opinion should not be missed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 March 2009
Hi, and thank you very much for your review. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Manor. We have passed on your comments to the kitchen team also.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to review the hotel.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

I stayed in Cedar Manor for a night on the way to Scotland. The hotel was clean and tidy. The location was beautiful. The people who owned the hotel were fine but should take it easy because they seem overworked. The food is tasty but a little too pricey.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moula-speaks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 March 2009
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. Thank you for noticing how hard we work at Cedar Manor, its not just Caroline and Jonathan but a small dedicated behind the scenes team that helps run the hotel, including a fantastic kitchen team and our brilliant housekeepers. We all work very hard to make your stay as relaxing as possible.

We are pleased you enjoyed your dinner at the hotel and surprised that you found it expensive. We are one of the least expensive AA Rosette restaurants in the Windermere area, and try to offer excellent value for money.

We noticed that you also scored the rooms quite low, we do maintain very high standards throughout the hotel and if there were any details that we could improve on we value your feedback.

Thank you again for reviewing the hotel.
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We have just had a perfect weekend break at the Cedar Manor Hotel to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Everything was just right, the hosts Jonothan and Caroline are very well organised without imposing on you. The quality and presentation of the food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner meal times. Good quality wine selection available. We would recommend this hotel for people who are looking for a relaxing quiet break in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeAloneAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 March 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary celebration at Cedar Manor. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing