We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Small Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 May 2009

After a disaster staying in Appleby recently I needed to make it up to my wife for all the hard work she had been doing all year. I booked this hotel on the basis of the trip advisor reports, very last minute, but they were able to give us the Coniston room (superb views) for two nights dinner bed and breakfast. The hotel is easy to find, and central, as we wished to go walking. First impressions were good, a cosy and very clean hotel, and a warm welcome from reception. Nice small lounge, and lots of advice/ help if needed.
The room was nice, a very warm batthroom and very comfy bed, so we got a great sleep over the weekend !!. I said to the owner that rather then 2 star he should be 4! What we noticed was the attention to detail, change of fresh flowers on the dinner table, nice clean table cloths, candle light etc at dinner. On top of that the food was superb. We cannot fault the service, quality of produce used or the superb talent of the chef's. That made our weekend; and breakfast was also superb. We could not fault the hotel in any way, and we shall book again in the future. Thanks to all at Cedar Manor

Dr Malc

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SentaFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2009

Hi Dr Malc,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, your dinners!
Next time you are ready for a break we hope to hear from you again.
Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2009

We have just returned form a 4 night stay at Cedar Manor for our Wedding Anniversary.Stayed in Orrest Head suite Excellent.We ate in Restaurant on all 4 nights and food excellent but menu is small but to me shows all is prepared fresh to order .Jonathan and Caroline are super hosts and would highly recommend.We hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodloverBridgnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2009

Hi, thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to review Cedar Manor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you say our menu is small, 5 starters, 5 mains and 5 desserts - and yes, everything is freshly prepared to order. We change the menu seasonally and hope you will come and sample the next one in the summer.
Thanks again for the review, best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My husband and I stayed in the stunning Orest Head junior suite for 3 nights over the Easter weekend which was fab. The addition of a massage bath as well as a separate shower was great after a hard days walking! Breakfast was freshly cooked to order each day with ample servings to set you up for the day. Mini Easter eggs and a little chick greeted us on Easter Sunday which was a nice touch. We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday evening which was superb and unhurried. A good selection on the menu and all beautifully cooked and served. The owners, Johnathan and Caroline were very friendly, extremely knowledgeable about the local area and by the end of our stay we felt as though they we had known them for ages. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them. It is not difficult to see why they won such a prestigious award last year. This was our first visit to the Lake District and we were stunned by the wonderful scenery. Three days is not enough time to fully appreciate the area. We shall definitely be returning soon and look forward to staying at the Cedar Manor again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LylaPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2009

Hi and thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in the Lake District. We hope its not too long until your next visit.
Thank you again for taking the time to review Cedar Manor.
Best wishes, Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings and the hotel website and were not disappointed. The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly and clearly have set out to establish high standards. The room we used had an excellent view of lake Windermere - possibly not the best we've stayed in but clearly the owners recognise this and have big plans (we've seen them - we will be going back!). In any case the view, comfort of the bed and rest of the hotel more than compensates. Dining at this hotel is highly reccomended with food and service being of a very high standard (local patrons were in attendance). The lounge was warm and relaxing, the dining room clean, smart and extremely well presented. We wish the owners the success they deserve!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheoriginalDrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2009

Hi and thank you very much for the review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Manor. We are very excited about our on-going renovation plans and look forward to working on this room in the near future.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We booked the Wansfell Room at Cedar Manor almost a month before going - usually it's last minute with us! - and I was really looking forward to the break away. It didn't disappoint! The room was superb; beautifully decorated, extremely clean and comfortable - the mattress was the comfiest I've ever slept on! The spa bath was fun - although it did make me jump when it suddenly switched itself back on to clear itself of air! We booked for dinner all three nights and the food was the best we've had. Just the right sized portions, incredibly tasty and fresh and the desserts were to die for! The drinks at the bar were a pleasant surprise price wise. Past experience has made me wary of over indulging as hotels usually over price the drinks, but at the Cedar Manor it was usual pub prices.
Caroline and Jonathan were extremely friendly and accomodating, especially when they learnt that my partner was a veggie. We're definitely looking forward to returning, and will certainly be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel. Thank you for all your very kind comments. We hope to see you both again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We stayed at the Cedar Manor as a little anniversary treat and it was wonderful. Jonathan and Caroline are truly excellent hosts and the standards are exceptional for a two star hotel.We stayed in the Langdale room, warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent and presented beautifully. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Will be three-four star soon

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torres01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2009

Hi and thank you very much for reviewing the hotel. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Manor.
We hope you will come and stay again in the not too distant future.
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to review the hotel.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

I'm so pleased that we checked out Tripadvisor before booking anywhere to stay , so thanks for all the reviews on the Cedar Manor.

We (husband, 19 month old boy and me) were travelling to and from Scotland and needed somewhere to stop off over night at the start and end of our trip. I am so pleased we stayed here. Caroline and Jonathan were very sympathetic and accomodating to our little one. We were able to have an earlier dinner than other guests which made us feel relaxed about eating in the restaurant.

We stayed in Coachmans and Bowness and both rooms were spotless and spacious. The evening meal was fantastic and wasn't what I expected at all, in my opinion, the chef is very talented. Breakfast was just as good and would set anyone up for the day (I don't think I ate again till late afternoon).

Overall, I think this place is excellent and not just because it is child-friendly. I wish the owners well and look forward to staying again when we next head up to Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2009

Hello, thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay and food!
We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Scotland.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
350 reviews
3.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £142 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing