We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again, great room, service and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed in the Orrest Head room on a last minute 2 day stay over and it was a great decision to pay a little extra from the other local hotels and restaurants. We included dinner with our room charge and could not fault the service or food. As per another review on this site, I never thought of eating spinach in such a way, but the chef made it work. The room was brilliant, clean, and the spa bath was a nice addition.

Would happily go back to Cedar Manor, and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2009

Thank you very much for going to the trouble of writing a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We think the spinach starter is brilliant too!
Looking forward to seeing you again in the future,
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

We chose this hotel because it was #1 on tripadvisor for Windermere. Knowing what we know now, we would not have stayed here. It is close to Windermere station, but I would reccommend staying in Bowness over Windermere. We didnt have a car, so it was a pain to walk everywhere (espec when it was raining-which it did non-stop). Good parking at this hotel though.
Our room felt small, dark and cramped (we had to have our lights on during the day to see into our suitcases), the beds were very uncomfortable, the floor is very creaky (can hear peoples footsteps upstairs-luckily we had earplugs!), the lounge has sofas for 8 (the hotel sleeps 24), so when it is raining and everyone returns to the hotel early you end up being confined to the small bedroom if there is no where to sit in the lounge. We stayed in the Millerground room; apparently that is yet to be done up. The photos of the other rooms like nicer (although not much bigger)
The service was impeccable, Jonathan and Caroline are lovely and helpful and there are plenty of books on the lake district to read in the lounge etc. Breakfast was nice, and there is a nice relaxed atmosphere in the dining room. We didnt have dinner here, so we cant comment on that.
We ate at the lamplighter restaurant in Windermere one night (which Jonathan had reccommended), but it was awful. The next few nights we ate in Bowness where the food was better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julzinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2009

Thank you for your review. As you know we strive to make everyone's visit to the hotel and Lake District as good as possible.
Thank you for your positives, we are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts and found the hotel clean and well run.

We have already addressed some of the comments, that your friend 'Goldylock' posted on trip advisor on September 1st, we won't repeat the responses here, but will address the extra things you have commented on -

Dark Room - as you said, it was raining a lot and cloudy and this affects the natural light coming into all the rooms. I think you will find that most customers had their lights on too. (unfortunately, we can't control the weather)
We don't fully understand your referral to a "cramped or crammed room", although not palatial the room comfortably accommodates 2 adults. We will be looking at the layout during the refurbishment that we are carrying out in November in this room.

Location - Windermere is a wonderful location for all travellers whether with or without car. There is excellent public transport to the whole of the Lake District and beyond, plus a very efficient local taxi network that is very reasonable.

Lounge - actually seats 15 people comfortably, and for the record the hotel accommodates 22 not 24 guests. Several rooms have their own seating areas and one has its own lounge, so its very rare that we can't seat everyone who wants to be there. We noticed that you had no problem finding space on 3 afternoons and evenings, and appeared to be out on the 4th day? No one is confined to their rooms. (again, we don't really understand why this was made into an issue?)

Local Food - poor Lamplighter, for any one reading this, Lamplighter is an "old fashioned, tradional style pub", you can read its reviews on Trip Advisor and judge it for yourselves. We recommend lots of local eateries, all of which offer friendly service and good, if not high quality food.

Other Room Sizes - its unfair to comment on rooms that you haven't actually seen. We have lots of different sized rooms, all of varying proportions and character, again, our website shows the rooms in detail.

To conclude, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Lakes, mainly due to the weather? You did book a standard room in a smaller hotel and the price reflected this. I would be surprised if you could find a better or bigger room in the area (including Bowness) over a bank holiday for less than £100 a night (for 2).

Thank you for your review and do come to the Lakes again, its not always raining!

Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed for two nights at The Cedar Manor after extensive research on Tripadvisor. This was a treat break and we were looking for something a bit above the ordinary, with comfort and good food a priority. We weren't disappointed! We stayed in the Langdale room and it was exactly as described on the web site. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the spa bath was fantastic after a hard day's sight seeing.

We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was excellent, as were the breakfasts. The apricot trifle was one of the best desserts I have ever had!

The owners were very nice people, hard working and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor.
We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and food (especially the apricot and almond trifle!) We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We had planned this weekend a month or so in advance and spent late Bank Holiday in the Lake District. The Cedar Manor Hotel is run by two very friendly and professional people, who were very helpful and generous with their advice about the area. The place was spotless, breakfast incredible (we didn't try dinner menu) and bedlinen/towels of high quality. We found our room in the extension very crammed, beds incredibly uncomfortable (ended up putting the extra blanket and the bedspread as extra cushioning under the sheets to make it bearable as otherwise the large springs were felt, and the location too far away from local restaurants in Bowness without a car. We would have preferred a more central location had we known, as we didn't want to bring a car, and so next time it'll be Bowness. For a couple, who would share a bed, and would have the choice of the newbly refurbished rooms, and driving, it's a nice location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

Hi, thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the hotel, area and weather!

We would like to address some of the points you made.
The weather - it does rain in the Lake District, which keeps the area so beautifully green. Its a pity it rained so much whilst you were here, but we can't control that.

The location - we are located very centrally to the whole of the Lake District and we have many visitors visiting without cars who find us well located. We are under 10 minutes walk to the railway station and centre of Windermere Village ( under £3 in a taxi ). There is a bus stop outside our gates taking guests to Ambleside, Grasmere, Keswick with connections to every village and town in the district.
The walk to Bowness is about 25 minutes, again, with a bus ride back or less than £5 in a taxi.
Your next point about dining in Bowness, we wonder why you felt it necessary to dine in Bowness every evening when we have a fabulous selection of restaurants right here in Windermere, less than 10 minutes away? (including our own restaurant).

With regards to your room, as you were sharing you took our only twin room, Miller Ground. This is a standard room on the ground floor with 2 single beds and an ensuite bathroom. We are not sure why you felt crammed, especially with the use of the guest lounge almost next door.
We have many customers coming time and time again to use this room, who all find it perfect for their needs. We have never had a complaint about uncomfortable beds before, its a pity you didn't bring this to our attention whilst you were here, as we could have addressed this with you. Miller Ground is the next in line for a refurbishment, during November this year.

With regards to your score on value, again, this seems a little harsh as we offer free wifi, a fantastic breakfast, complementary tea and coffee, free internet access, comfortable guest lounge and much more. Your room rate was under £100 a night (for 2) which is very reasonable over a bank holiday weekend in August.

We agree that you might enjoy your next stay in Bowness which is a little more lively, rather than the peace and tranquility of Windermere.

We hope you enjoy your next visit to the Lake District, lets hope it doesn't rain!
Thank you again for taking time to review the Hotel, area and weather!
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We spent four days last week at The Cedar Manor Hotel to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Our bedroom was spotless and extremely comfortable with a lovely spacious bathroom. What made the hotel for us was the owners Jonathon and Caroline. They were extremely hard working, friendly and were more than happy to answer any questions and advise us on places to visit. The breakfasts were superb and we ate one meal in the hotel to celebrate our anniversary and I can honestly ssy it was one of the nicest best presented meals we have ever eaten and extremely good value. We hope to visit again before too long.
Sue and Chris Arnold

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckydogStaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

Hi Sue and Chris,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased you chose Cedar Manor for your 25th Wedding Anniversary, and are glad that you enjoyed your room and dinner.
We look forward to seeing you again,
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Just got back from a 5 1/2 hr drive to Plymouth this eve and just wanted to let you both know (Caroline and Jonathan) that we had a fantastic time at your hotel and will recommend this gem to anyone who vists Windermere. The Breakfast was excellent (reco. Pancakes, and these amzing prunes (previously I thought prunes were disgusting!), the service outstanding (you couldnt be more helpful!) and the hotel was very comfortable. Top Notch guys! Keep up the outstanding work, sure I'll be back in the future. Geraint and Becky (bowness room if we didnt fully introduce!)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraint2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2009

Hi Geraint and Becky
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found loads to do in the Lake District. Thank you for your comments, the chef is particularly pleased that you are a "prune convert!"
We hope to see you again soon, thank you for taking the time and trouble of reviewing the hotel.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We chose to stay at Cedar Manor, largely due to the brilliant reviews we had read on Trip-Advisor. We are very pleased to say that our experience lived up to everything we had read. We spent 5 nights in Bowness Room. This is a lovely large room which was extremely comfortable and provided everything that we needed. The bathroom was also spacious and extremely clean. We enjoyed our stay so much that we were able to extend it for a further night. Jonathan arranged another room for us as ours was already booked. We spent that night in Crinkle Craggs, which was a smaller room, but has been recently decorated to a very high standard and looked beautiful. It was also extremely comfortable.

The owners, Caroline and Jonathan could not have been more friendly or helpful. They are extremely hard working and attentive hosts. They were able to advise us as to the best places to walk and to visit. This was especially useful as this was our first visit to the Lake District.

The hotel is located in an ideal position. There are walks that you can do straight from the hotel without having to use the car, but if you wish to go further afield, within a short drive you are able to experience spectacular scenary. We also visited Beatrix Potter's house, Hill Top, which we would recommend, but do go early as it does get very busy.

We ate dinner at the hotel on 3 occasions. The food every time was excellent. There is a very good choice of menu, and we worked our way through most of it! It is extremely good value for money and on the occasions that we ate elsewhere, it never lived up to the quality of the hotel menu. The breakfasts also were excellent and a special mention of thanks must go to the other members of staff particularly Veronica, who was always friendly and attentive.

As mentioned earlier, this was our first visit to the Lakes, but it will not be our last, and we will certainly stay at Cedar Manor next time.

We liked everything about the hotel, the only thing we did not like was having to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble of reviewing the hotel. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Lake District and look forward to helping you plan many more visits.
Veronika says "hi"!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £143 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing