We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to get it right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Caroline and Jonathan Kaye have got this hotel absolutely right. Well-appointed rooms with seriously comfortable beds, attention to detail, lovely dining room with great food and great service, unstuffy public rooms and above all two owners who go out of their way to be helpful. We had to spread our three-day trip over two rooms (we booked late and couldn't be flexible with dates so they were flexible with accommodation). Caroline and Jonathan moved our stuff while we were out. One day we had lunch out and then couldn't face a hefty dinner with main course. Could we have three starters each instead? Of course, no problem. Could they help with routes, information, leaflets? Certainly. Would we recommend Cedar Manor? You bet we would.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2009

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the rooms and our food. We hope you will come and see us again in the not too distant future.
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble of reviewing the hotel
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2009

My husband & I brought my parents to the Lake District for a break. I found Cedar Manor via trip advisor and it was an excellent choice. Good value for money, lovely hosts who couldn't do enough for us and a beautiful setting. Both rooms were immaculate and quiet and the hotel is located in a convenient spot to explore Windemere village and the rest of the Lake District. Breakfast & Dinner were fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunel_celt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel. We enjoyed your company and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next time you take a trip to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed at Cedar manor with our 3 children - ages 10, 13 and 15.
The setting is lovely and the rooms clean.
We wouldn't go back mainly because I think for the money you can do better.
The breakfast looked lovely but was so greasy and swimming in oil we could not eat it.
Definilty not a place to take children, it feels more like a B&B than a hotel and you could hear a pin drop, lovely for older people or couples.
Not bad though

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller77722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble of reviewing the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your rooms and our location - we think its great too, being just minutes from some of the most stunning scenery in England.

We think you may have got our breakfast mixed up with another hotels... as we grill our food and only an egg would go in a frying pan, (if you asked for a fried egg.)

We are also pleased about your comments that the hotel is quiet, that's what attracts so many customers to us time and time again. We aim to create a relaxing, tranquil and peaceful atmosphere for guests to unwind and relax.
We also have many families stay with us, with children of all ages, from babies to teenagers. We may not offer leisure facilities, cafe bars but that doesn't mean we are not family friendly. We would encourage anyone planning a visit to have a look at our website, (just google Cedar Manor) and see exactly what we do offer.

With regards to our tariff, unfortunately, we don't have a family room that sleeps 5, which is why you chose to have 2 rooms for just the 1 night that you stayed with us. You had an executive room with an extra bed, and a twin room totalling £236, for the night bed and breakfast. (that may sound expensive but it actually works out at £47.20 per head).

With regards to your comment about us being more of a B&B than a hotel, that again is your opinion, which is fine, but you chose not to use our facilities - the lounge, bar or restaurant - therefore you did just receive B&B. If you were expecting something more such as leisure facilities, that generally means choosing a bigger hotel and incurring a more expensive tariff.

For anyone considering making a booking, please do have a look at our website and make sure that you think Cedar Manor would suit you.
Thank you again for your comments
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I wasn't going to write a review as it's all been said already but I note that the rating has dropped to 97% and wanted to bump it back up.

We stayed in Langdale for 3 nights for my wife's 50th and couldn't fault anything. Although the room is not huge it has all facilities you could want (though I couldn't find the ipod dock!) and the bed is big and very comfortable.

As has been said many times the food is second to none. Given the quality it represents very good value for money.

Others have mentioned road noise but in my opinion it's not intrusive and may only be a problem if you wanted complete silence but were staying in Ossett Head or Windermere and needed the windows open (which given the climate is pretty unlikely!). If it is an issue for you, check your room location when you book.

We would like to return some day but would probably gamble on a late booking when the weather's better so we can see the lakes in all their glory. Glad I look my winter coat as it was 13-14 degrees as opposed to 20 back home - maybe I'm just a southern softie!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5teve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2009

Thank you for going to the trouble of reviewing the hotel. The weather certainly has been a litte un-seasonal!
The Lakes can be seen anytime of year, each season delivers something special, we think autumn is spectacular with leaves changing, winter can be stunning with frosty, clear days and snow capped mountains, and of course spring is full of flowers.

Thank you for your comments, I have just been to check the Landale room and located the ipod dock (it was behind the TV in the cupboard - not sure how it ended up there, but its back on the bedside table now!)

Just a mention on road noise - I think your comment sums it up, just to say that Orrest Head has been fitted with special windows and Windermere doesn't suffer from noise at all.
Keep an eye on our website for enticing winter deals, the Lakes should be seen by as many people in the winter as we receive in the summer!

Thank you again for visiting and your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed in the Orrest Head room on a last minute 2 day stay over and it was a great decision to pay a little extra from the other local hotels and restaurants. We included dinner with our room charge and could not fault the service or food. As per another review on this site, I never thought of eating spinach in such a way, but the chef made it work. The room was brilliant, clean, and the spa bath was a nice addition.

Would happily go back to Cedar Manor, and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2009

Thank you very much for going to the trouble of writing a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We think the spinach starter is brilliant too!
Looking forward to seeing you again in the future,
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We chose this hotel because it was #1 on tripadvisor for Windermere. Knowing what we know now, we would not have stayed here. It is close to Windermere station, but I would reccommend staying in Bowness over Windermere. We didnt have a car, so it was a pain to walk everywhere (espec when it was raining-which it did non-stop). Good parking at this hotel though.
Our room felt small, dark and cramped (we had to have our lights on during the day to see into our suitcases), the beds were very uncomfortable, the floor is very creaky (can hear peoples footsteps upstairs-luckily we had earplugs!), the lounge has sofas for 8 (the hotel sleeps 24), so when it is raining and everyone returns to the hotel early you end up being confined to the small bedroom if there is no where to sit in the lounge. We stayed in the Millerground room; apparently that is yet to be done up. The photos of the other rooms like nicer (although not much bigger)
The service was impeccable, Jonathan and Caroline are lovely and helpful and there are plenty of books on the lake district to read in the lounge etc. Breakfast was nice, and there is a nice relaxed atmosphere in the dining room. We didnt have dinner here, so we cant comment on that.
We ate at the lamplighter restaurant in Windermere one night (which Jonathan had reccommended), but it was awful. The next few nights we ate in Bowness where the food was better.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julzinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2009

Thank you for your review. As you know we strive to make everyone's visit to the hotel and Lake District as good as possible.
Thank you for your positives, we are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts and found the hotel clean and well run.

We have already addressed some of the comments, that your friend 'Goldylock' posted on trip advisor on September 1st, we won't repeat the responses here, but will address the extra things you have commented on -

Dark Room - as you said, it was raining a lot and cloudy and this affects the natural light coming into all the rooms. I think you will find that most customers had their lights on too. (unfortunately, we can't control the weather)
We don't fully understand your referral to a "cramped or crammed room", although not palatial the room comfortably accommodates 2 adults. We will be looking at the layout during the refurbishment that we are carrying out in November in this room.

Location - Windermere is a wonderful location for all travellers whether with or without car. There is excellent public transport to the whole of the Lake District and beyond, plus a very efficient local taxi network that is very reasonable.

Lounge - actually seats 15 people comfortably, and for the record the hotel accommodates 22 not 24 guests. Several rooms have their own seating areas and one has its own lounge, so its very rare that we can't seat everyone who wants to be there. We noticed that you had no problem finding space on 3 afternoons and evenings, and appeared to be out on the 4th day? No one is confined to their rooms. (again, we don't really understand why this was made into an issue?)

Local Food - poor Lamplighter, for any one reading this, Lamplighter is an "old fashioned, tradional style pub", you can read its reviews on Trip Advisor and judge it for yourselves. We recommend lots of local eateries, all of which offer friendly service and good, if not high quality food.

Other Room Sizes - its unfair to comment on rooms that you haven't actually seen. We have lots of different sized rooms, all of varying proportions and character, again, our website shows the rooms in detail.

To conclude, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Lakes, mainly due to the weather? You did book a standard room in a smaller hotel and the price reflected this. I would be surprised if you could find a better or bigger room in the area (including Bowness) over a bank holiday for less than £100 a night (for 2).

Thank you for your review and do come to the Lakes again, its not always raining!

Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed for two nights at The Cedar Manor after extensive research on Tripadvisor. This was a treat break and we were looking for something a bit above the ordinary, with comfort and good food a priority. We weren't disappointed! We stayed in the Langdale room and it was exactly as described on the web site. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the spa bath was fantastic after a hard day's sight seeing.

We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was excellent, as were the breakfasts. The apricot trifle was one of the best desserts I have ever had!

The owners were very nice people, hard working and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor.
We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and food (especially the apricot and almond trifle!) We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
350 reviews
3.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £142 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing