We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful break”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Just returned from a marvellous 3 night break at the Cedar Manor. Lovely, comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant. Hosts were very welcoming. Breakfasts amazing. Just a short walk into town or down to the lakeside. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
Thank you very much for reviewing Cedar Manor. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
90
862
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackheath, London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This is our second visit to Cedar Manor and I can say with confidence that I would not stay anywhere else in the Lake District. The Location, accomodation, service and facilities are first class. When you arrive the warm welcome helps you immediately relax and you honestly feel you have arrived at your own Manor house in the lakes. The food & service both at breakfast and dinner are of the highest quality. Caroline & Jonathan are the perfect hosts and its plain to see they know how to look after their guest. See you again next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 October 2009
Hi guys, thank you very much for the review.
We are really pleased that you had a relaxing stay, we hope all our guests manage to unwind and relax.
We are looking forward to seeing you all again next year.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We've just got home from Cedar Manor what a joy, this was our second visit and Jonathan and Caroline and crew where as lovely as ever. We had everything we needed and it was as always service with a smile and a good laugh. If you want excellent food/wine and service do not hesitate to book Cedar Manor it's by far the best Hotel in Windermere. Roll on next November when we'll be back, if we can wait that long!!

Colin and Liz
Harlow, Essex

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again and hope to have "your room" remodelled in time! We look forward to seeing you again - try and fit us in before next November, we will be running some very special offers in February and March!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My wife and I went to the Cedar Manor for a meal to celebrate my birthday and it was not a disappointment. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the lounge whilst choosing from the very good menu.
Having been shown to our table by Caroline we then enjoyed an excellent meal, all perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Jonathan took the time to go through the cheeses on offer and was clearly very knowledgeable on the wine selection as well.
We were also impressed the way that both Jonathan and Caroline made everyone feel at ease and there was never any rush.
We will definitely return for another meal, and hopefully to stay also, if we are anywhere near Windermere again.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you very much for reviewing the restaurant at Cedar Manor. We passed on your comments to the kitchen team and everyone is very pleased that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it!
We hope to see you again next time you are passing by!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We all liked this hotel. The owners are currently in the process of updating the bedrooms. Rooms they have done so far are GORGEOUS. Restaurant is beautiful and has a really nice atmosphere. Had dinner on both nights and the food is very very good. Drinks/wine are very reasonably priced. Location to the Lakes excellent.

Owners and their staff are really nice and nothing was too much trouble.

Will definitely visit again when the Coniston room refurbishment is finished.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future, we hope Coniston will be comletely remodelled by the end of next year - we have just finished Crinkle Crags and just starting on Miller Ground.
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble of reviewing the hotel.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed at the Cedar Manor from 21st Sept to 25th Sept in the Crinkle Crags room for a mini moon after just getting married. We had a lovely time, the breakfasts were very good and Jonathan and Caroline couldn't help us enough. The room was lovely and very nicely decorated. Also the bed very comfy. We both had a brilliant time in Winderemere and can't wait to go back hopefully some time next year!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 October 2009
Hi, thank you very much for choosing Cedar Manor for your "mini moon", it was great to meet you and we are all very pleased that you enjoyed unwinding after your big occasion!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for takin g the time to review the hotel.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2009

another wonderful break at Cedar Manor!Pulled out all the stops for our wedding anniversary. stayed in "crinkle crags" which has just been refurbished to the wonderful high standard we have come to expect from Caroline & Jonathon. food was always good but is even better now. cant wait to return in december-just like visiting old friends. noreen & eddie cairns harrogate

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryellenyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 September 2009
Thank you very much for reviewing Cedar Manor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your last visit with our new room, new chef and new menu. We look forward to seeing you again in December for your 11th visit! Have a great Autumn.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing