We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,201)
Filter reviews
1,201 results
Traveller rating
1,074
94
26
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,074
94
26
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach houseorrest head suiteowners jonathan and carolinewansfell roomlake districtattention to detailfresh milk in the fridgecrinkle cragssmall hotelbeautiful hotelspa bathperfect hostshigh standardbreakfast and dinnerfantastic foodthree nightswine list
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,044 - 1,049 of 1,201 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Just returned from a marvellous 3 night break at the Cedar Manor. Lovely, comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant. Hosts were very welcoming. Breakfasts amazing. Just a short walk into town or down to the lakeside. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2009

Thank you very much for reviewing Cedar Manor. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This is our second visit to Cedar Manor and I can say with confidence that I would not stay anywhere else in the Lake District. The Location, accomodation, service and facilities are first class. When you arrive the warm welcome helps you immediately relax and you honestly feel you have arrived at your own Manor house in the lakes. The food & service both at breakfast and dinner are of the highest quality. Caroline & Jonathan are the perfect hosts and its plain to see they know how to look after their guest. See you again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2009

Hi guys, thank you very much for the review.
We are really pleased that you had a relaxing stay, we hope all our guests manage to unwind and relax.
We are looking forward to seeing you all again next year.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We've just got home from Cedar Manor what a joy, this was our second visit and Jonathan and Caroline and crew where as lovely as ever. We had everything we needed and it was as always service with a smile and a good laugh. If you want excellent food/wine and service do not hesitate to book Cedar Manor it's by far the best Hotel in Windermere. Roll on next November when we'll be back, if we can wait that long!!

Colin and Liz
Harlow, Essex

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2009

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again and hope to have "your room" remodelled in time! We look forward to seeing you again - try and fit us in before next November, we will be running some very special offers in February and March!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My wife and I went to the Cedar Manor for a meal to celebrate my birthday and it was not a disappointment. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the lounge whilst choosing from the very good menu.
Having been shown to our table by Caroline we then enjoyed an excellent meal, all perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Jonathan took the time to go through the cheeses on offer and was clearly very knowledgeable on the wine selection as well.
We were also impressed the way that both Jonathan and Caroline made everyone feel at ease and there was never any rush.
We will definitely return for another meal, and hopefully to stay also, if we are anywhere near Windermere again.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank SteveL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2009

Thank you very much for reviewing the restaurant at Cedar Manor. We passed on your comments to the kitchen team and everyone is very pleased that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it!
We hope to see you again next time you are passing by!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We all liked this hotel. The owners are currently in the process of updating the bedrooms. Rooms they have done so far are GORGEOUS. Restaurant is beautiful and has a really nice atmosphere. Had dinner on both nights and the food is very very good. Drinks/wine are very reasonably priced. Location to the Lakes excellent.

Owners and their staff are really nice and nothing was too much trouble.

Will definitely visit again when the Coniston room refurbishment is finished.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2009

Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future, we hope Coniston will be comletely remodelled by the end of next year - we have just finished Crinkle Crags and just starting on Miller Ground.
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble of reviewing the hotel.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews