We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
darlington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

as soon as we arrived we felt the relaxing atmosphere of this lovely hotel. Our room and the public areas were very comfortable and well presented. the meals which is usually one of our main reasons for choosing where we stop, did not disappoint. the portions were just right the presentation excellent and the quality outstanding. the owners and their staff were helpful without being intrusive and willingly gave information on request.

john & cecily

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2009
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your break at Cedar Manor and had a relaxing time. We are also delighted that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant, we have passed your comments on to all involved.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review..
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
89
848
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

Just shows what nonsense the star system is! This hotel punches way above its weight for cleanliness, quality, food and service. We had an excellent stay and would recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb1ecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking.
We are regularly asked about the star rating system and would suggest to anyone interested in finding out more to go to the AA website and seach for ratings.
Thank you again for reviewing the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

We booked this hotel due to its rating on trip advisor as part of our honeymoon. We stayed for 3 nights in the Langdale (Executive) room.

We were greeted by Caroline who we never saw without a smile! She was very welcoming and showed us around before taking us to our room. Everything was spotless and very nicely decorated. The facilities in the room were excellent and the bed was so soft we stayed in it till after lunch on our first night!

Breakfasts were lovely and all freshly prepared. All the staff we met were very friendly and obviously enjoyed their work.

The only slight thing we weren't sure about was that the shower over the bath was halfway down the wall, so to wash your hair you have to kneel down! The pressure changed one morning and it suddenly got very hot and it was difficult to get out of the way!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and although we didn't dine in the restaurant it looked beautiful every evening with the intimate lighting.

Caroline & Jonathan took the time to advise us on local walks and they took an interest in how we had spent our days/evenings out which makes this hotel different from all the rest.

We particularly liked the way that both Caroline and Jonathan were there when we checked out. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor and the Langdale Room. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We were not previously aware of any pressure or temperature fluctuations in the room and we are now investigating - thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future, best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Just returned from a marvellous 3 night break at the Cedar Manor. Lovely, comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant. Hosts were very welcoming. Breakfasts amazing. Just a short walk into town or down to the lakeside. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
Thank you very much for reviewing Cedar Manor. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheath, London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

This is our second visit to Cedar Manor and I can say with confidence that I would not stay anywhere else in the Lake District. The Location, accomodation, service and facilities are first class. When you arrive the warm welcome helps you immediately relax and you honestly feel you have arrived at your own Manor house in the lakes. The food & service both at breakfast and dinner are of the highest quality. Caroline & Jonathan are the perfect hosts and its plain to see they know how to look after their guest. See you again next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 October 2009
Hi guys, thank you very much for the review.
We are really pleased that you had a relaxing stay, we hope all our guests manage to unwind and relax.
We are looking forward to seeing you all again next year.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

We've just got home from Cedar Manor what a joy, this was our second visit and Jonathan and Caroline and crew where as lovely as ever. We had everything we needed and it was as always service with a smile and a good laugh. If you want excellent food/wine and service do not hesitate to book Cedar Manor it's by far the best Hotel in Windermere. Roll on next November when we'll be back, if we can wait that long!!

Colin and Liz
Harlow, Essex

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again and hope to have "your room" remodelled in time! We look forward to seeing you again - try and fit us in before next November, we will be running some very special offers in February and March!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

My wife and I went to the Cedar Manor for a meal to celebrate my birthday and it was not a disappointment. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the lounge whilst choosing from the very good menu.
Having been shown to our table by Caroline we then enjoyed an excellent meal, all perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Jonathan took the time to go through the cheeses on offer and was clearly very knowledgeable on the wine selection as well.
We were also impressed the way that both Jonathan and Caroline made everyone feel at ease and there was never any rush.
We will definitely return for another meal, and hopefully to stay also, if we are anywhere near Windermere again.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owners at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you very much for reviewing the restaurant at Cedar Manor. We passed on your comments to the kitchen team and everyone is very pleased that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it!
We hope to see you again next time you are passing by!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing