We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,449)
Filter reviews
1,449 results
Traveller rating
1,308
107
28
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,308
107
28
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house orrest head suite owners jonathan and caroline lake district coniston room crinkle crags beautiful hotel spa bath excellent hosts fantastic food three nights fresh milk eggs benedict my partner wedding anniversary two night stay warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 1,449 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2019

A very excellent choice if you appreciate first class food in an excellent hotel with the genuine customer service. The facilities from the moment you pass over the door till you leave are the best quality I have experienced. The welcome from the owners and their passion for excellent customer service is reflected by all of the staff.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lionheartb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, notably our service, food and facilities. We constantly work hard to ensure all our guests are looked after properly and we think this is reflected perfectly by your lovely review.
We hope to see you back in the Lakes again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2019

We have been making return visits to this delightful and conveniently located hotel since first stumbling on it by lucky chance some years ago. Jonathan and Caroline are the epitome of congenial hosts and maintain their high standards of service and quality come what may. Jonathan seems to know everything about the Lakes, Caroline ensures the housekeeping is spot on, the chef serves great food and the staff are brilliant; nothing is too much trouble. No surprise they keep winning awards and are always at the top of the ratings.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Thank you very much for reviewing your latest visit to Cedar Manor. Its alway lovely to see you coming back and enjoy catching up with all your latest news.
We look forward to seeing you again and good luck with the concluding chapter(s) of your building work.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

Over the years I have run out of superlatives for Cedar Manor. Everything from arrival to departure is perfect and what one has come to expect over the years of staying, Inevitably it is the human element that makes the difference and owners Jonathan and Caroline set the gold standard. If you haven't stayed then you are missing out. If you have stayed then you will know what I have stated above is spot on. Thank you - see you soon.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vintners
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to Cedar Manor. We are delighted to read your impressive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019

We visited the Cedar Manor at the Easter Week-end and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hotel very nicely appointed with lovely individual features making it stand out from others. We are regular visitors to The Lakes and generally we stay on a D, B & B basis. However this time we opted for just bed and breakfast, as we wanted to dine at local restaurants in Windermere + Bowness. The quality of the breakfast was excellent, with a good choice on offer. If we had a small criticism, it would be that our room (The Langdale) only had a hand-held shower and we are in no doubt that this room would be almost perfect if the shower had a screen and mounted at a standard 'head height'. To be fair, we were aware when we booked of this 'shortcoming', so have no complaint. We chatted with both Caroline and Jonathan, finding them to be friendly and good 'mine hosts'. The hotel staff were equally as friendly and well trained. We will certainly return to The Cedar Manor!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snappydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2019

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Langdale Room and yes, you are absolutely right, the bathroom has a hand-held shower within the spa bath. We just wish we had sufficient space to make this a full shower over bath but it just isn't practical for that bathroom. We are glad that you were made aware of this at the time of booking. All our other rooms have shower over bath or separate walk-in showers for future reference.
We hope you will return and perhaps try the Coniston or Windermere Room next time, both with full stand-up shower in the bath. And of course it would be a pity not to give our restaurant a try, you can see it ranks well on Trip Advisor under the separate listing of Cedar Manor, but we do understand that there is a huge choice of places to try around Windermere and Bowness.
Look forward to hearing from you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2019 via mobile

My husband and I went to the restaurant for dinner and it was lovely. The staff were friendly and polite and the food was amazing. Delicious and filling. The restaurant is small but has a relaxed and warm atmosphere.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rahbay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your dinner at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and of course the food.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews