We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,449)
Filter reviews
1,449 results
Traveller rating
1,308
107
28
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,308
107
28
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house orrest head suite owners jonathan and caroline lake district coniston room crinkle crags beautiful hotel spa bath excellent hosts fantastic food three nights fresh milk eggs benedict my partner wedding anniversary two night stay warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 1,449 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2019

We couldn’t have asked for a more satisfying final stop on a visit to the English Lake District. Cedar Manor earns high marks for comfort and attention to detail in beautifully decorated rooms, graciousness of staff, and excellence of the kitchen. We spent three nights in the Windermere room and were so impressed with dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night that we promptly booked for dinner the next two nights. Hosts Caroline and Jonathan are warm and welcoming with attention to details such as fresh milk for tea or coffee in mini fridge of room, washcloths in bathroom, good linens. Nice patio area in garden with nearby paths to lake or to viewpoint overlooking lake and village. A memorable small hotel with warm and outstanding service.

Date of stay: July 2019
3  Thank SpiritedWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you have such fond memories and its great to read your comments.
We hope that you will return and enjoy another stay in the Lakes at some point in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2019

Stayed here after one night at one of those big touristy hotels in the Lake District and the contrast could not be more felt. It’s a tastefully appointed hotel, with a touch of class in the bedroom, and outside. We booked the ground floor Miller Ground room with a bay window overlooking the garden. It gets the afternoon sun, but you can open the window safely. Towels were lush and humongous and sheets were fine Egyptian linen.
Its location is a huge attraction. At the fringe of the touristy Windermere town centre, it has its own parking lot, which is a huge advantage. Just beside the hotel is a lovely tree lined footpath that leads down to lake Windermere itself from which point Bowness and its cafes is a not too long a walk away.
Cedar Manor would not be what it is without the personal touch of its co-host owners, Jonathan and Karoline. Jonathan was there from day one handling our luggage and showing us our room. He was also busy serving at dinner and breakfast too.
If one has a few days to spare at the Lake District, it would be worthwhile to include Cedar Manor in one’s stay list.

Room tip: An upstairs room might be better in summer.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cheekoon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Thank you very much for reviewing your night away at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the room, Miller Ground. Its conveniently located on the ground floor and as you say, we spare no expense with the decoration, linens and towels or amenities within the room.
Very pleased that you had a chance to explore the area, wandering down to the Lake and up to the view point Orrest Head.
You also spotted that we are very hands-on owners, working with our small team to greet guests, help with luggage, serve at the bar, breakfast, dinner and in housekeeping too.
Thanks again for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit next time you are in the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019

Really warm welcome from the owners, you feel like a house-guest. Beautifully decorated throughout, excellent food and lovely touches, eg fresh milk and fridge in the room, little box of chocolates, good quality toiletries. Bed was really comfortable with good quality bed linen. Towels were good quality and didn't have the chemical clean smell that so many hotels towels do.Our room, Claife Heights, was classed as a smaller room but we had plenty of space to sit, lots of storage and room to move around the room.

Room tip: We chose Claife Heights, partly on price but a lovely room with walk-in shower cubicle - no bath, but that wasn't a negative for us.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to the Lakes. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room "Claife Heights", its a lovely little room and very popular with our guests. We don't use chemicals in the cleaning process and endeavour to use products that don't harm the environment, such as tea-tree oil based cleaning systems.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

On our arrival the staff and owners could not have been any more welcoming, we had extended our stay by an extra day a couple of days previously so we had to change rooms after one night for the room we originally booked, everything was moved for us enabling us to have a great day on the Lake, nothing was too much bother. The breakfast was great and varied (haddock and poached egg was gorgeous) on the final night we ate in the restaurant as it was my birthday. The food was fantastic, the table had been dressed with happy birthday confetti, and the Chef had made me a birthday slate with edible writing and home made sweets. I could not recommend the Cedar Manor Hotel more highly. Thank you.

Room tip: The Langdale room has a lovely view of the garden and from the side windows and the loo you have a far reaching view of the lake.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidT3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Birthday visit to Cedar Manor. Really pleased that you enjoyed your rooms, dinner and the delicious breakfasts. We hope you make a return visit in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2019

Excellent if you want peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings. The staff are helpful and pleasant The food is of good quality and locally sourced. The hotel is conveniently located to be ale to walk into Winderemere and not too far to walk to the lake.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank margaretdavid2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to Cedar Manor. Glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet, also the convenient location for discovering the Lakes.
Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews