We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Blackheath, London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

The title says it all - this hotel is a gem in the Lake District. Never before have I stayed in a hotel where I feel more at home. My family and I had a fantastic time and this was mainly due to the attentive nature of Caroline, Jonathan and the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and they ensure that your stay is perfect in every way, The location is fantastic to explore the Lakes either by foot or car and Jonathan has a wealth of knowledge of the area with advice of some of the best places to visit. The restaurant is a food lovers dream, with excellent ingredients and service which most top London restaurants would be proud of. The hotel and location is perfect for a relaxing break away from city life. We will be back time and time again. Thank you for a fabulous holiday David, Caroline & Joshua

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Hi, thank you very much for such a glowing review. We are very pleased that you had a relaxing break with us, and thank you for your positive feedback regarding our food. We hope to see you all again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
89
848
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

What an amazing place to spend our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a great location for walking and generally exploring the lakes. Our room was immaculately clean with a huge comfy bed with white cotton linen, large warm towels and snuggly bath robes. We stayed for three nights and ate in the hotel each night and were so pleased we did, the food was fresh, interesting and beautifully presented. Breakfasts were great too, the eggs benedict are a must! Caroline and Johnathan were friendly and welcoming and we have come away feeling unbelievably rested and that the whole experience was great value for money. See you next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_dawson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 September 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable, aswell as enjoying our dinners and breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

I took my wife, 11 year old son, 8 & 18 year old daughters and elder daughters boyfriend to the lakes recently for a short trip and we stayed at the Lovely Cedar Manor.
From the moment we walked in through the door we were made to feel very welcome. Jonathan and Caroline were wonderful hosts and couldn't do enough for us.
The rooms and beds were very comfortable but the highlight for me was the breakfast, it was perfect! (Full English with all the trimmings) awesome!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyerstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel. It was great to meet you all and glad you had a good stay! We agree with you about the breakfast - nothing quite like a full Cumbrian grill!
Hope to see you all again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

My Fiancé and I booked a 2 night stay here as we had enjoyed our stay here last year so much. We booked the room over 1 month in advance when less than 24 hours prior to arriving we received an email telling us they had over booked and they could not accommodate us.

As an alternative we were offered a B&B down the road owned by their chef with the chance to walk to and from dinner each night for exactly the same price, not even the offer of a discount for the inconvenience of their error.

We opted to cancel our booking after contacting another hotel in the Lakes.

We received an email blaming us for the booking issue and them not being able to accommodate us and an extremely aggressive and unfriendly response. The ironic part of their response was that they told us that the rooms at their chefs B&B were far superior to those at Cedar Manor – a note for anyone thinking of staying here in future.

Our response pointed out that they had our booking for over 1 month and they were solely at fault and planned to inform others of the appalling customer service we received and how clearly Cedar Manor value loyal customers.

Overall a totally unacceptable response from Cedar Manor and we recommend staying elsewhere as clearly the good service and quality that once made this hotel standout is no longer in evidence.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank DJMWELLINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 September 2010
Sometimes, as hard as we try to be perfect we do make mistakes, something slips through the net. On this occasion we are truly sorry that we messed up your booking as we said in our email to you, and yes we did find out only 24 hours before you were due to come as we were allocating and sorting the next days arrivals.
We had inadvertantly created an overbooking situation when we moved your booking from its original date and failed to pick up on this until the day before your were due to arrive.

Its a shame that you haven't mentioned that you cancelled your original booking just days before you were due to come, on compassionate grounds, we didn't enforce our booking conditions and charge you the sum of £340, we helped by giving you another date. Your room remained unsold and we took the loss.

To correct our error,( we didn't move the booking over to the new date) - we quickly attempted to find you alternative accommodation in our area, and suggested Annesdale House, as the luxury suites they have would have been a great upgrade on the room you had chosen here and being just 150 meters along the road, still near enough to come and enjoy dinner here. It was merely a suggestion. We had also agreed to honour the special offer rate that you had booked in August and this in itself was a considerable discount.
We had also organised champagne for the room and if you had wanted it, a taxi to bring you here for dinner.
Annesdale House is an amazing luxury b&b, with just 2 suites, private patio and garden for each room, room service breakfast and dinner with us if you had still wanted it. (read reviews on Annesdale on this site)

We did our best to rectify our error, which we are very embarrased about. At no time did we blame you or appear aggressive, we just wanted to help.

Its a real shame that you decided to go elsewhere, but we do hope you had a good time.

Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We spent two nights in the hotel and had a wonderful time. The rooms were exceptional and the food divine.
I would recommend Cedar Manor most highly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdvison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 September 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor. We are delighted you enjoyed your room and our restaurant.
Come back and see us again soon!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Our second stay at Cedar Manor was even better than the first! We stayed in Claife Heights which is a lovely room at the front of the house.

Jonathan and Caroline are the perfect hosts, finding the right balance between being attentive, yet informal which makes for a great atmosphere around the place. On our previous visit we stayed 4 nights but only chose to eat in the restaurant twice - we regretted this as the food is THAT good! As such we ate 'at home' every night on this stay and were not disappointed.

We will be back in the lakes for more walking at some point and will be sure to stay at Cedar Manor again!

James & Janine

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 September 2010
Hi James and Janine
It was great to see you both again and thank you very much to going to the trouble of reviewing the hotel. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the room and our food! We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We had a superb two day anniversary break in Cedar Manor Hotel this week. Caroline and Jonathan should be very proud of the business that they have created. Nothing was too much trouble to them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrotyTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary break. We hope to see you for another special occasion or just a short break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing