We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to the Lake District and although the weather disappointed the hotel certainly did not and we will return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The service throughout our two day stay was first class. Professional and friendly without being intrusive. The room was stylish and tastefully done in keeping with an old building. Although located a short walk from the main shopping area in it's own grounds the hotel felt secluded and very peaceful. At the risk of being a wee bit negative we are used to our own mattress and would qualify this comment by pointing out that bedding is very much a personal thing and should not deter future visitors! Dinner is highly recommended as it takes "fine dining" to a new level. Superb food and wines at a very reasonable price. Breakfast is also not to be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abrechiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that your first visit to the Lakes was a success (it was a pity about the weather). We hope you enjoyed it enough to come for another visit soon.
Thank you again for all your positive comments.
We look forward to hearing from you again.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

The hotel is in an excellent location and perfect for exploring the glorious surroundings of the Lake District. The hotel itself is also contained within a beautiful Victorian Gothic house (albeit the rooms are modern). Both location and quality of accommodation do not necessarily set it out from the many other splendid hotels in the area - but the hosts do. They are very passionate about the Lake District, in the little time he must have away from the hotel Jonathan volunteers in the wind and rain to fix fell paths. They are also very passionate about looking after their guests from breakfast all the way through to the late evening bar. Lots of care and thought has been put into the rooms ( very impressed with our bathroom in particular ) and into the dining room where they are determined to drive the high standards ever higher. A very pleasant stay and recommended to all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

Thank you very much for your very complimentary review. We are all very pleased you both enjoyed your stay. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed dining at Cedar Manor, we are very lucky to have such a committed team in the kitchen.
We constantly strive to improve in every area and look forward to showing off our lovely new lounge at the end of this month.
And thanks for the reminder... I must go and help on the fells again - its been a while!
We hope to see you again next time you are visiting the Lakes.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed for one night in November at the Cedar Manor for a treat after spending a few days previously at a cheaper but nice B&B in the area. The hotel has plenty of car parking and is about a 5 minute walk from Windermere village.

We booked an executive spa room, the one we were given was Wansfell which was beautiful decorated and felt very opulent, special and romantic. It had a wonderful four poster bed and limited lake views and a nice bathroom with spa bath.
The owners were extremely friendly and helpful all the way through our stay which was lovely.
We had booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate, when we went down for dinner we were led into the sitting room where we had chance to browse the menu over drinks in front of a lovely fire. Once had made our selections we were led into the elegant dining room which had a romantic but relaxed feel. All three courses we had were divine and the service was excellent. Breakfast again the next morning was excellent, lovely homemade jams which were gorgeous and a great freshly cooked to order breakfast.
Some of the decor looks a little dated in some areas of the hotel but I think the current owners are doing it up. Also it was a shame that the hotel didn’t have an affiliation with a nearby gym/pool like some hotels/B&B’s do in the area.
We thought our whole experience at the Cedar Manor was wonderful, a lovely place for a special occasion or a treat with helpful and friendly owners. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your room Wansfell. We are also delighted that you enjoyed dining at Cedar Manor.
We are pleased to inform you that the hotel is undergoing a big refurbishment in our lounge and several rooms, right now - we re-open towards the end of January.
We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again for reviewing Cedar Manor.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We stayed in the Wansfell Suite for 3 days in early December - after a VERY busy/stressful time - ready for some TLC and relaxation. Jonathan and Caroline are great hosts and they couldn't have done more to make us feel welcomed; attentive and very personal service throughout and without being fussy.

We worked our way through the Autumn Menu - everything was excellent - no disappointments and plenty of choice.

We had the hotel almost to ourselves at times - as there had been several cancellations due to the severe weather; the views of the snow covered mountains were spectacular and we really enjoyed the extra peaceful ambience.

Our room was fairly 'snug' but was beautifully furnished and extremely well equipped; the part views of the mountains (in winter) being an added bonus.

We full intend to return and would very much recommend the hotel to others.

Thank you once again Jonathan and Caroline (and we hope your holiday went well)

Phil + Jacky

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilandJacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

Hi Phil and Jacky
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be comfortable and welcoming.
We have lots of different rooms for you to try in the future such as Windermere, one of our larger executive rooms or perhaps our suite; Orrest Head.
We hope to see you again in the New Year and wish you a happy and healthy New Year.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We booked to stay at Cedar Manor as a surprise 50th celebration and it was everything and more that I wanted it to be. We stayed in the Ground Millar Suite and then my parents stayed in the Windermere Suite. Both rooms had the most beautiful decour, with the Windermere looking out over the front of the property. The little extras of the ipod docking station, dvd player and comfy bathrobes made it just that little bit extra special.
It is the attention to detail in this hotel however which made our stay simply the best.
Drinks were served in the lounge area before dinner when you were able to peruse the menu at your leisure whilst enjoying homemade knibbles such as the most scrumptious cheese straws. Then when your food had been prepared you were called through to the intimate dining room which was lit by candlelight.
I don't know where to begin with the food. Exquisite almost doesn't do it justice! If I had to pick a favourite it would have to be their egg custard with orange curd and cream. It is pure heaven! As for their breakfasts, these included a fruit compote which was a perfect accompaniment to their selection of cereals, homemade jams/marmalades and then a selection of hot food, of which the Eggs Benidict were out of this world.
To add to all that, I had mentioned prior to arriving about the birthday celebrations and when we sat at our table that evening, it had the most delightful ' 50th celebration' decorations sprinkled on the table and also when the birthday boy was served his dessert it came with a candle.
My intention on booking Cedar Manor was that it would an extra special treat and it certainly proved to be that and more. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for Caroline and Jonathan and it is the exceptional service that they deliver, that makes this hotel so special. Their love of their hotel is clear to see and they appear to get such pleasure simply from allowing others to share that with them. Quite simply, Cedar Manor is the best hotel I have ever stayed in.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toadling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

Thank you very much for posting a review. We are simply overwhelmed by your fantastic comments! We wish you a very Happy New Year and look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We have just returned from a fabulous three night stay at Cedar Manor - our second visit and it won't be our last. We were straightaway made to feel so welcome by Caroline and Jonathan who are brilliant hosts. Everything was just perfect - our room, Windermere, was spacious and beautifully furnished. The meals were superb (compliments to the chef) and we especially appreciated the special touches in the dining room which made Ray's birthday so special and memorable. We look forward to returning to explore further this lovely part of the Lake District. Many thanks to everyone, Ann & Ray

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Ann and Ray
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are both very pleased that you enjoyed your room and dinners. We have passed on your compliments to Roger and Mikey in the kitchen.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We choose this hotel because of all of the excellent reviews and were not disapointed , Caroline and Johnathan truly are great hosts and their passion for quality is evident throughout this hotel. We stayed in a spa room and it was great to get back after a day walking in the cold to a hot jacuzzi bath... We enjoyed it so much we feel we need one at home now. The food is wonderful at both dinner and breakfast and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff we meet. Thank you for a great break and we do hope to be back very soon for some more of your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanAndJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2010

Hi DeanandJenny
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the room and facilities to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Don't forget to sign up on our website for special offers and news from Cedar Manor.
Thank you again for taking the time to prepare a review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
370 reviews
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#16 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £147 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing