We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem for those extra special occasions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We had a truly wonderful two nights here to celebrate my wife's 50th. The food is outstanding, the service good in most parts with the occasional mix up at food delivery with who is having what but that is me being picky. Our garden suite room complete with hot tub was amazing. Every little detail had been thought of - even down to putting the cat out ( you put a toy cat outside the door instead of a do not disturb sign ). The family are on hand for that personal touch and make an effort to speak to every one of their guests. It's not cheap but as they say you pay for what you get and for a special treat it worth splashing out. Poor mobile signal is annoying if you do need to keep in touch and the wi fi only worked in the main hotel I had to make a couple of trips from the room to the lounge to pick up e mails. All in all though our expectations were met and the quality of food was stunning. We had a great time and will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThewalkersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thank you for a lovely review. We're in the process of installing our own WiFi having spent years struggling with less than 1/4 meg for the whole hotel (we're at the end of the BT line), and having tried every solution under the sun. We've been putting up various masts so that we have direct line of sight (sort of) to the main one, and really hope this will be a good solution. It's very frustrating for everyone, but we hope that this & the poor mobile signal will soon be resolved! With regards to food delivery mixups, that isn't being picky at all - we aim to serve every dish without asking who's having what. Apologies if this didn't happen, but our thanks for being understanding. We do hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

My partner booked us a garden suite here as a surprise for our anniversary and it was truly incredible. The rooms were immaculate, spacious, plush and fabulously decorated. Fluffy white robes, complimentary posh toiletries, huge bath and a hot tub on our own private decking were just a few of the many highlights. The dinner was amazing too, each course was exemplary, I think it's one of the best meals I've ever had! Gilpin Lodge on the whole is luxurious, richly furnished and yet welcoming and friendly. If you want to really make someone feel special - take them here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaDolceVitaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Gilpin, and for such lovely comments. We're delighted you enjoyed your anniversary - the picture of the hot tub in the Jack Frost weather is great, when it's that cold they really are brilliant aren't they? Hope to see you again this year (we'll try and arrange some December sun!).

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My partner and I had been wanting to visit the Gilpin Lodge Hotel for some time and, although we had previously eaten in the restaurant, we had never booked an overnight stay until the 9th and 10th of March this year. I had built the hotel up in my head and honestly thought that it wouldn't live up to my sky high expectations, but I need not have worried. This place is an absolute gem and all the superlatives in the world would struggle to do it justice!
We arrived at around 7pm to be warmly greeted and shown to our room....sorry, huge suite(!), Dollywagon Pike. Dollywagon Pike is one of the hotel's 'Garden Suites', which basically meant that we were in a separate part of the hotel in an elevated building toward the rear of the gardens, which houses all of their suites. I was like an over-excited child as I walked around trying to take everything in, from the private patio area complete with a submerged, and therefore very private, outdoor hot tub to the grand bathroom with the spacious two person bath and shower, a great selection of Molton Brown toiletries, plenty of soft and fluffy towels, and luxury robes and slippers.
The vast sitting area with sofa and separate chaise longue was the perfect place to wind down in front of the decorative living flame fire and work your way through the thoughtfully provided choice of magazines and books.
The bed must easily have been super king size and was certainly not your typical hotel bed. I must admit to being really quite fussy when it comes to beds and very rarely sleep well in hotels but it felt like this one quite literally swallowed you up and cuddled you to sleep all night! It was so very comfortable with an abundance of soft pillows and we both had two fantastic nights of deep sleep.
On both nights, we had pre-dinner drinks and canapés in the Lounge, which has sumptuous sofas that, like the beds, are quite easy to lose yourself in. They also have a vast selection of pre or post dinner books and magazines to pass away the evening in a relaxed, comfortable setting. On the first evening, we ate in the dining room and I had the Cumbrian lamb washed down with a coconut panna cotta with braised pineapple. My partner and I regularly go on cruise holidays and are used to silver service five course meals, yet this was better than any meal sampled at sea with the same friendly, attentive (but not intrusive) staff. I certainly don’t think it will be too long before this place has its own Michelin star. On the second night, we ate in the sweet little Morning Room, with a view out over the front garden. We were there in March so it was dark, but this room is a must to eat in during the summer months. It is beautifully decorated with floral prints, a mix of eclectic and antique ornaments and accessories, with an intimate ambience, which made for a perfect romantic evening. Night two saw me try the Goosnargh duck with potato gratin finished off with crème brulee and washed down with a rich Argentine Mendoza.
In my opionion, one of the nicest touches to the Gilpin Lodge is the way that the owners, Barney and Zoe take time out every morning and night to chat to their guests and are genuinely interested in what you’ve been doing throughout your stay and in recommending nearby places for you to visit. Too many hotels nowadays are just faceless with the owners bringing in managers to run them and not getting personally involved. Gilpin Lodge is not one of those. You are made to feel special from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave…. at which point you are already planning your return visit before you’ve even made it out of the car park!
I very rarely write reviews on sites like these but believe me; you won’t know what you’ve been missing from other hotels until you’ve been to this one!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the Garden Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie_Matt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of Gilpin, it's like a great review in the press! We do spend a lot on mattresses & bedding so are always glad to hear it makes a difference. As a family and team we try very hard to do and make everything in the very best way possible - but with a friendly smile and always a moment to chat - so when we succeed and have guests as happy as this, it makes us smile from the inside out! Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Superb rooms, venue, food, staff, service. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: Go there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thank you for your fab review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope yoto see you again this year!

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Well, all I can say is it was the second best hotel I have ever been. Amazing room with a private hot tube at the balcony. Huge room, huge bathroom, huge everything....

Amazing restaurant!!!

Perfect! Kinda expensive, but worths every cent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Wow! Thanks for your review. Many of our team check TripAdvisor regularly and we all want to know who beat us (so we can go & steal some ideas, obviously!). Hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Me and my new wife have just returned from three idyllic nights at the Gilpin Lodge. We stayed in one of the Garden Suites (Sergeant Man) and found it luxurious, comfortable, peaceful, private and are utterly deflated that we couldn't stay longer! When it came to dinner, Russell Plowman and his team are working absolute wonders in the kitchen, with sumptuous dishes being served with incredible attention to detail. The quality of food was matched by the service team that looked after us perfectly, with a friendly manner that was professional and attentive but without being overbearing. We loved the way that the dining experience was handled, from the pre-dinner drinks and canapes in the lounge,to a chat with one of the owners, Barney, about your day while choosing from the menu and mulling over the great wine list.
It's fair to say we adored this place and all it has to offer, hence the five stars across the board. I've put five for value, as although it's expensive, what you get for your money is incredible.
If there was one suggestion that we'd pass on to the owners, it would be an iron and ironing board for each of the Garden Suites rather than requesting it each night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveOsmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Gilpin, and for such lovely comments. We're delighted your minimoon was such a success, and hope to see you again for many years to come! And thanks for your suggestion regarding iron and ironing boards for the Garden Suites - a good idea, I will suggest it to the team!

Warm Regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

A fantastic weekend - perfect in every way. The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive. Would highly recommend. Very relaxing atmosphere, superb service. I'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison_ashurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

Thanks for such a lovely review, it was lovely to see you both. Hope to see you up in the lovely Lakes again soon!

Warm regards,
Zoë Cunliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £224 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing