We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure British Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Tring
Level Contributor
191 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Pure British Luxury”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed at the Gilpin for 3 nights on a long family weekend in July. Overall the lodge was great:

The staff are all attentive, pleasant and provide excellent service.

The lodge itself and the grounds are beautiful. The gardens are lovely and the bar, lounge and dining areas are stunning.

The rooms were very spacious. We had a master room which in many places in Europe would be classed as a suite. Loved the Molton Brown bath products although it would have been even better if they also provided the Molton Brown liquid hand soap as opposed to the bar.

Although there are no lake views from the lodge, the location is still excellent. A short drive to Lake Windermere and surrounded by the green Lake District landscape. Perfect for relaxation and chilling out.

The food is great. The menu is varied with some exceptional day specials. It is however worth noting that, if you want to have a quick meal and head out (or to bed) you will be disappointed. Dinner is a slow-paced affair allowing you to savour every course. I felt that the dessert options could be improved, but then again that might be just my own personal taste.

The only thing that took the "gold star" away for me was a slight lack of attention from the reservations team. During my various communications with them during the booking process, I found myself asking a number of questions and only one being responded to. This lead to me emailing back asking the same questions again. They were always quick to come back to me, which is a plus, but I felt that a little bit more attention would have made a big difference and topped up the exceptional service provided at the lodge itself. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    131
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
115
1,017
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This hotel is a must for anyone visiting the lake district, whether you are looking for an overnight stay or a great place to eat!

Beautiful serene surroundings. The Hotel is decorated impeccably with detail put into every little thing, even the door handles!

Felt extremely welcomed here although we were probably the youngest couple there!

One of the owners made the effort to greet every person sat down for the meal on the evening we visited, and it wasn't just a quick hello, it was a warm welcome and chat :)

The food was simply incredible, no words to describe it! And they catered for my Gluten Free diet like it was no issue whatsoever!

Everything ran so smoothly and we felt so comfortable not once did we feel out of place.

Pleaseeeeeee do me a favour and visit it for yourself, i promise you will not regret it!
One of the best evenings i've ever experienced!

Keep up the smashing work! :D

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pishposh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The Gilpin Lodge was very comfortable, our room was lovely (apart from the view of a tin roof from our window) and the food amazing. The staff were very friendly and were really attentive. We were surprised that there were no draught beers available at the bar. The house wines were lovely but a glass of house pino grigio was £10.00!! The dining and bar areas didn't have any background music at any time and so therefore lacked atmosphere. We felt we had to almost whisper to each other during our meals.

We agree with the lady who mentioned about reserving a table for dinner. We weren't told about this either and had to have our dinner fairly early each evening. We did try to change the time but were told that the restaurants were fully booked. We felt that as we were paying to stay in the hotel we should have had the first choice of times for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This place is a tranquil escape from everyday life. We stayed in one of the Garden Suites and did not want to leave. The room and furnishings are of the highest quality and the hot tub was a real bonus.

If you want a getaway with superb food, accommodation and pure luxury then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed for one night at Gilpin Lodge at the end of June. We were in the Lake House & it was stunning! The views over the lake are superb and the rooms excellent. We stayed in the Harriet room which had large comfy bed, iPod player, lush robes/towels/slippers, lovely bathroom/shower area with lots of room. The hot tub is not to be missed & the swimming pool is lovely. You feel that you have the place to yourself as this is not really a hotel but a country pad with rooms. Breakfast in the Lake House was really good too & I had the best veggie breakfast ever outside my own home - thank you :-)

Dinner was over in the hotel and unfortunately we did not rate this as much as the Lake House accommodation. They are trying to be very Heston Blumenthal which is not my cup of tea at all (I love good food without the airbrushing fancies please!). On arrival in the seating area we were generally ignored by the staff for a good 10 minutes before we were asked if we would like a drink. We were then presented with a drinks menu & the waitress left again for 10 minutes. I finally had to catch hold of a passing waiter to enquire if it would be possible to order a drink (spitting feathers by this time!). On ordering our drinks we were left again with a different waitress returning to tell us that the drinks we ordered were not available! I hurriedly then ordered something I didn't really want (2 glasses of wine at £10 each!). So took about 30 minutes in total to get a drink after our arrival (not a good first impression). The canapes arrived but we were beyond interested by this time!

We didn't really like the menu choices (no veggie main course option, you had to ask for this - it's 2011 guys).

The food was very good but as I said, I really can't be doing with the Heston touch just keep it good & simple for me (Nigel Slater for me not Heston/Ramsay).

The head-honcho came around the tables to check if all was o.k. with everyone which was nice.

Service was good but a little over-powering (we poured our own wine from the bottle as our glasses were empty & got a ticking off from the waitress about this).

Expensive stuff but very good just pretentious titivation.

We would like to stay at the Lake House again but don't think we could do anymore than 1 night as the dining experience is a bit of a let down but there looks to be a good local pub at the top of the main road!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We were on a well earned break at Gilpin Lodge and were booked in for one night. We work in the hotel business in the Lake District and know how hard it can be to please some people. You can't do it all the time and the hotel industry is really hard work. Gilpin Lodge is probably the best place i have ever stayed. From when we walked in, we were made to feel really welcome and we just relaxed from the moment we arrived. The check in procedure is lovely, it's really nice that you dont have the stuffiness of a formal check in. My fiancee went to the room for a spa treatment (Which she told me afterwards was the best facial she has EVER had - big thanks to the lady who did that) and i went to the bar for a well earned G&T! I was surprised with the pricing of the drinks at the bar - i thought it was very fair in this world where hotel bars over-inflate the price of their drinks. The lady behind the bar was really chatty, and somehow knew my name - this was something that Gilpin has down to a tee - all the staff knew our names which was really nice. - So, then to the room - Perfection! We had a Junior Suite which was just perfect - The little touched that we liked was the home made biscuits (YUMMY!!) and the cat doorstop (If you dont want to be disturbed then put the cat out! - Brilliant!!) The jet bath was a really nice touch too - usually in suites the size of the bathroom is compromised but not here -it's massive!

The Food - I dont know what to say about this food - i've been raving about it since i left and cannot stop thinking about it - the menu is brilliant, very creative and not too pretentious. even the fussiest of eaters are catered for. The desserts were just amazing - the souffle is definitely worth the 20 minute wait!!

Juan in the restaurant is an absolute star and his enthusiasm kept us entertained all night. Thank you Juan!!

The whole ambience of the evening is one i'll not forget in a hurry - the lounge area is gorgeous at night and really cozy.

Breakfast was another treat - Everything was cooked really nice and never has a cooked breakfast seemed so healthy!

We really didnt want to leave - Zoe came round and checked we were all okay, a really nice touch. Thanks to all the staff we were lucky enough to meet - you really made our stay one we'll not forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
451 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor. I liked it a lot, but for the price, there were several small things that I would have expected to be better. The bathroom ventilation was weak (and it was very hot when I arrived becuase the towel rail had been left switched on). The room had lots of little things around it, which was nice, but some of them looked like they had been there for a while. Internet didn't really work in the room that well and finally the decor was a little too old fashioned in some cases...

But - the rest of the place was wonderful. The dinner menu was excellent (although didn't change much the two nights I stayed so might get a little boring if you were staying longer). The wine choice was very good and Ziggy was very helpful in picking out the right wine and the service was impeccable. If this has been a £100 cheaper, it would have got 5 stars, but as the third most expensive hotel I have stayed this year it was up against some tough competition.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,143 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
965 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing