We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Fabulous garden room with hottub, very tastefully designed, couldnt recommend this place enough. Staff very accomodating couldnt do enough to help. we enjoyed every minute of the weekend and would definately return.

Room Tip: garden suites are a must but did glance at the rooms within the hotel as they were being cleaned and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katelwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night only at the Gilpin lodge in a junior suite on a business trip to Kendal. The hotel was recommended to us by our business associate in Kendal and it certainly did not disappoint.
From the moment that we arrived at the hotel until our departure the next day it was a most refreshing and enjoyable relaxing stay. The staff were attentive and friendly without being intrusive and the cleanliness of the room and hotel in general is quite exceptional. Dinner on the evening of our visit was the tasting menu with wine to accompany each course selected by the sommelier, both food & wine were fabulous!
This hotel really is tip top and we will certainly make it our preferred destination on future visits to the lakes!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just spent two excelllent nights at the Lake House. A real home from home. The service was excellent and friendly; a rare combination that's hard to find these days. We think every home should have a Rita :) Location is tranquil with great views of the Tarn. Drinks are served in the Lake house before and after dinner; as is the breakfast which is superb (must try the rarebit). Dinner is in the hotel where a very prompt car service is used to take guests to and from (only 3 mins away). Service and food quality surpassed even what we expected from a Mitchelin star restaurant. Ziggy (the sommelier) has an excellent cellar; we chose to have the recommend wine with each course and the matches were well thought out. Also ask Ziggy about a history of the wine; you won't be disappointed with his knowledge! All in all a great find and one we'll return too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

A lovely break in-between Christmas & New Year with the very friendly and helpful staff at Gilpin Lodge. We stayed in one of the new garden rooms, separated from the main hotel (20 seconds walk) Our room was sergeant mann, a large room with high vaulted ceiling, enormous bathroom and comfortable sitting area. Outside we had a private deck and Canadian Cedar Wood Hot tub (lovely on a cold night). The only disappointments were, no wifi in these rooms yet (routers installed so shouldn't be long), the TV being too small for the room (difficult to read tv guide from sofa or bed) and the 'modern' flame effect fire hung on the wall could have been improved by a log burner, gas or real fire.
The meals (breakfast & dinner) included in the price were both excellent, fine dining in the lakes was a really pleasant surprise, a great wine list (slightly overpriced) and very attentive staff. The menu, whilst not extensive was well crafted and provided enough choices for our 3 day stay.
The talented team at Gilpin have bought together some of the best features from hotels around the world and pulled them together in a blend of traditional and contemporary style.
Well worth a visit, but keep away from the chips & ice cream brigade in Bowness !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I simply love this place. My wife and I stayed at the Lake House, and were made to feel so welcome on our arrival, where our luggage was effortlessly handled by the staff.

It's the perfect retreat away from it all where sumptuous relaxation is the climate. I simply cannot put in to words how excellent Lake House is (but I'll try)... I feel that it's the staff, for whom, nothing is too much effort is what makes The Lake House such a pleasurable experience.

The breakfast, afternoon tea and evening dinner were all delious - a car takes you to the main hotel each evening where their restaurant serves gourmet meals, served together with an appealing selection of wine.

Five stars to Lake House! And a special thank you to Rita who made our stay pure excellence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetnumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This is our 4th visit to Gilpin and it didn't disappoint! I can't fault it on any level. We spent 3 nights in a Garden suite and it felt like we had been away for a week. The food was delicious and the wine list is great. All in all a fabulous break. We will be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: Garden suites are definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We and some of our friends stayed at The Lake House. The house is beautifully furnished with it's own private lake and indoor swimming pool. All the facilities are fantastic and the food was amazing. As we had the whole of the house for one night the chef came and cooked dinner for us. The house has 6 double rooms, all of which are different and with fabulous bathrooms. We were looked after by fabulous staff. It was more like staying in someones home which indeed it was. (the owners used to live in it). Some of our friends described it as staying in a mini Downton Abbey. All together a wonderful experience. We are all planning to return for various special occasions.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfmanchester_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
368 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £223 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing