We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend retreat in the Lakes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great weekend retreat in the Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We traditionally go for a weekend blowout in Majorca for our company board meeting, however this year we decided to try somewhere closer to home. The Lakes are just over an hour from home, and our 'Tripadvisor Friend' told us about Gilpin Lodge. We trust their opinion and booked our weekend away.

We were greated at the main house by Taryn, a delightful lady, who checked us in in seconds, and arranged to meet us at our garden suite. By the time we had driven to the garden suites, and parked, she was already there waiting for us. The garden suites are above the main hotel building and have recently been built.

We were booked into Sergeant Mann, which we chose since it is very private. The suites closer to the front entrance are apparently less private.

The room was beautifully furnished with a super king bed, sofa, desk and chairs. All swish and new. Between the bedroom/lounge area and the bathroom is a dressing area which has a huge cupboard that has a mini bar in it plus kettle etc on top. Plenty of wardrobe space and safe.

The bathroom is huge, with large walk-in shower, massive bath, fluffy robes and slippers. Molton Browne products (large bottles!).

Through the patio doors in the bedroom is the deck, which has two wooden sun loungers, coffee table and a hot tub. The beauty of this area is that it is totally private, with only the hotel lamas for company! They are over a fence though.

We had booked dinner for 8.30, so were advised that our pre dinner drinks and canapes were ready from 7.30 in the bar.

You enter the hotel through the rear, walking past a few of the standard rooms, and down the stairs to the drawing room and bar area. All very muted creams and greens with plush sofas and antiques. It is fairly formal and we had ensured that we dressed appropriately - I would not have felt massively comfortable without a jacket, or at least a freshly pressed shirt. Mrs M-B was in a suitable dress.

They make a good margarita and served a beautifully chilled Lake District lager. Canapes were intricate and delicious.

We had opted for dinner, bed and breakfast, so it was pretty straight forward on the ordering. I think that we had beef, duck, lamb and pork over the two nights but cannot really remember! The menu was the same for both nights and the choice is not massive, but we were more than happy. We also chose the wine that went accompanied each dish.

Again, I cannot remember exactly what wine we had, but I do recall it being EXCELLENT! The chief wine man, Ziggy, is obviously hugely passionate about his wines. He comes and tells you about every wine, in detail, when it arrives. I feel that his patter may be wasted slightly on everyone, but I loved it.

The staff are not what make Gilpin Lodge, since the hotel, rooms, food and wine speak for themselves, but I do think that the staff definately diserve a mention. I think I worked out who the owners were, who were very welcoming, but all the staff clearly were proud of Gilpin Lodge and proud to work there (something that cannot be said about other hotels in the Lakes, or elsewhere!). They do not rush around after you because that is their job, they just seem to provide excellent service because that is what they do. I liked it and other hotels should learn from them.

After dinner we retired to the hot tub for a night cap or two and a cigar. Very civilised. Very private.

We had breakfast the following morining fairly late - we arrived just before ten, but didn't finish until pretty much eleven. Breakfast is very good. I had poached haddock with a hollandaise sauce on a muffin - a first!

We had booked into the spa, which is at the MacDonald Hotel in Windermere. This is an arrangement that Gilpin Lodge have for their guests. Mrs M-B had a facial while I went for a run on a treadmill and watched the rugby. It kind of makes you appreciate how good Gilpin Lodge is when you go to the MacDonald spa. It is nice enough but basic, although they do have a funky fusion shower (or something like that) that had different coloured lights and aromas!

Mrs M-B said the facial was poor, as was her therapist.

We then had a mad dash to the Sharrow Bay hotel on Ullswater for afternoon tea. We were late but it was good. I would recommend it - even at £25 per person. We drank alot of tea and many cakes, all beautifully presented. Great view over Ullswater from the tables (all by windows!). Unfortunately Mrs M-B started feeling ill from the moment we left.

We returned to Gilpin Lodge for a late afternoon nap - at least Mrs M-B did, I sat in the hot tub ready her new Louise Bagshaw novel!

We had a repeat of the previous nights drinks and dinner, but cut short due to wife illness. The staff were all very concerned - especially as we had to leave dinner before desert.

The following day we had breakfast in bed - awesome - particularly as I accidently ordered two breakfasts, by mistake. The best sausages I have had in a long time.

Reception buzzed us and asked what time we would like to leave - check out is at eleven and they were more than happy for us to check out at twelve. In fact we didn't leave until half tweleve. Absolutely no problem.

We paid our bill and departed.

Conclusion - Excellent. We will come back next year and get our desert!

You cannot really fault a hotel like this. Everything is done so well. Someone did manage to put a round of drinks onto our tab by mistake, but this was quickly refunded onto my card - I didn't notice until after I had paid.

On the second night someone forgot to bring out the wine to accompany my pre-appertiser. I din't notice until my starter came with the wrong wine. Ziggy immediately noticed but it caused all sorts of confusion - obviously throwing all the next course wines out of sync. It was actually quite amusing since they clearly have a very slick wine pouring strategy and are not used to mistakes!

After we departed we went for a wander round Windermere - went shopping and ate fish and chips on a park bench - back to reality - ha ha!

Total cost was about £1200 for two nights all in. Cheaper than Majorca and home in an hour - bliss.

Room Tip: Garden Suites at the back are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheYoungLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, and for taking the time for such detail! Firstly apologies for the mistakes that were made, and another thank you for your understanding - things do occassionally go awry, and if they do we always put our hands up! We have 2 options for spa at the main hotel, either at the Old England or also we have therapists that come to your room to do treatments, perhaps this might be preferable? As always your comments will be read by all the staff, so Ziggy and Taryn will bask in the particular mentions! To us the staff do make Gilpin - the decor, location, food and wine can be perfect, but without the people it would be impossible to create the atmosphere that we have. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon. Zoe x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    128
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
108
981
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. Both times we have visited we have stayed in a Garden Suite (with a hot tub - well worth paying the extra!) and both rooms (Haystacks and Cat Bells) are beautifully decorated with lovely attention to detail.

The food is wonderful. We enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast and for each meal we couldn't understand why Gilpin does not have a Michelin star?! The service was very attentive and professional but not at all stuffy. We liked that the staff were friendly and approachable - all made us feel very welcome.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Book a garden suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt_proud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you, your review is very kind - and we're so glad you are returning, it really is the biggest compliment. I particularly love your comment about not being stuffy, this is something we specifically aim for! We look forward to seeing you again. Zoe x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

A return visit to Gilpin in February reminds us of what good hospitality should look and feel like.

The Gilpin team cannot do enough for their guests and always demonstrate the care and attention that makes you feel special and welcome. Comfort and eclectic style are the watchwords and manifest themselves most visibly in the Champagne Bar and Lounge which are fabluous places to while away the day and enjoy the super afternoon tea. Dinner is a special occasion and despite the precipitous departure of the Head Chef in January, the kitchen still produced food of outstanding quality during the whole of our stay - you would not have noticed Russel Plowman had left and the team is to be congratulated. The menu choices for both dinner and breakfast are excellent. Giplin continues to invest in itself and this shows in the standard of the rooms which are regulary upated and always immaculate and clean.

The winter break rates are very good value considering the quality of everything at Gilpin. You would have to be spoiling for a fight to find cause for complaint here. There is no doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank All_Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012 via mobile

Firstly, I'd like to say a massive thank you to all the staff and management at Gilpin Lodge to kicking off married life with a perfect start - we stayed at Gilpin the Monday after we married, and we could not have wished to a more perfect place to celebrate. We were kindly upgraded to a garden suite, which is absolutely stunning to say the least. Perfect furnishings, spacious and airy room with great lighting......oh, and the hot tub!!

The dinner in the evening was faultless - the whole experience was beautiful, the service was simply excellent, and not stuffy. Mike, our waiter was really good, just a young lad but he has the key skills to be a top class waiter, and he is!

The friendliness of the staff here is just perfect, they are not too intrusive and they allow you to enjoy each others company, but look after you so so well. We really didn't want to leave.

We are planning to return (again) for our anniversary - this is now our second visit, and we have vowed it won't be our last!!

I've seen the reviews on the restaurant on here, and I am shocked that there are some people (who are full of their own self importance) who don't seem to rate Gilpin. Ladies and Gentlemen, leave your L'enclume and Sharrow Bay stuffiness at the door, as this place is far from being stuffy and pretentious. It's perfect, there are no other words for it.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

What an amazing experience. I spent a few nights at the Lakehouse and would most definitely recommend this to others. Food was lovely, wine was superb and staff were attentive. Can't wait to go again!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iCande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at Gilpin a few years ago for my husbands 40th birthday and decided to visit again recently. We stayed in the same room (St Sunday Crag) and enjoyed it even more this time round. The hotel is so lovely and relaxing, the room was spacious, immaculately clean and the hot tub... well that was the icing on the cake. Dinner was fantastic and we chose to have the suggested wines, which led to a couple of fascinating chats with Ziggy (the Sommelier). We absolutely will be back and are already planning to stay more than one night.
If you want quiet, understated luxury, incredible service (that is not fussy or pretentious) and great food in marvellous surroundings then you should visit Gilpin.

Room Tip: Garden suites have hot tubs and are set away from the main buliding for extra peace and quiet and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My family and I have been going to the Lakes for years and we always promised that one day we would treat ourselves to a break at Gilpin Lodge after having a look around about 15 years ago. Mum and I finally got around to it and I can say it was defiantly worth the wait. WOW!

When we arrived we were greeted at the door by a very friendly lady who told us we had been upgraded to a Garden Suite (Patterdale). The room was amazing; they had also made sure that even though we’d been upgraded it was still a twin room. The room was beautifully decorated and had a lovely living area with a step down from the area where the bed was giving the feel of it being 2 different rooms. The bathroom was huge with Molton Brown products. In the living area there were double doors out onto a patio, where in nicer weather it would have been lovely to sit out there in the peace and quiet with a glass of wine.

The food was amazing, so much care and attention was put into every course whether it was dinner, breakfast or a meal in the bar. All the staff were so friendly and attentive and this just added to the fantastic atmosphere that makes Gilpin Lodge amazing.

On our last day we were told there was no hurry to leave the room and they arranged a tour of the Lake House for us. The Lake House is the absolute cherry on the cake, STUNNING is putting it mildly. I can’t put it into words; you have to see it to believe it. I defiantly recommend Gilpin Lodge and Lake House.

Room Tip: Go onto their website before you visit as they have been very clever and put pictures of EVERY room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherbie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing