We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Making a memory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Making a memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I took exclusive use of the Lake House over a weekend in May. The occasion was my 70th birthday which I chose to celebrate with five couples who were all close friends. The Lake House is perfectly suited for any such celebration. The peacefulness of the setting combined with the run of the property and all the facilities make for a perfect weekend. The bedrooms are stunning; the food [particularly the buffet breakfast] is beautiful; and the staff go out of their way to do everything possible to enhance the experience. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Barney and Zoe will ensure that you create a memory which will never leave you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murray o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    129
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
109
997
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I can't praise the Lake House highly enough. From our arrival to departure we were given first class treatment. It's the little touches that make this an experience to be treasured. The rooms are outstanding. The grounds are delightful and the service first rate. The breakfast is so comprehensive that I wished we could stay all day and just eat from the buffet! It's a relaxing spot. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. At 8am we asked for the hot tub over looking the lake to be available and with in a matter of minutes it was. What an amazing start to the day, sitting in a hot tub, at the perfect temperature, overlooking the lake, listening to bird song and watching squirrels, rabbits and pheasants going about their early morning chores. The restaurant, in the main house, serves an incredible meal. It's an evening out that you wish would never end. Each course was more delicious than the one before. The sommelier suggested the loveliest wines to compliment every dish. An experience I will never forget and would love to do again.

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Three nights of utter perfection celebrating a significant birthday in Cat Bells and Crosthwaite. Thank you for the delicious food, every evening a delight and treat; for the impeccable service and magical atmosphere. We loved the friendly family feel to the hotel, the attention to detail and excellent service. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. We liked the garden suites as they have their own hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at the Lake House for a weekend with 10 friends to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived, we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome or comfortable and couldn't have been looked after better by the Lake House team. The decor and ambience of the house is wonderful and the thoughtful attention to detail much appreciated - a map in the rucksack, an offer to clean our hiking boots. From the moment we walked into the house to a glorious afternoon tea, the staff were friendly whilst also melting into the background. We were fortunate enough to have lovely weather so enjoyed a beautiful walk from the House as well as afternoon cocktails served in the hot tub and a lovely ride out into the lake on the little rowing boat. Our thanks to Jackie, Renato, Patrick and the whole Gilpin team who gave us a truly memorable weekend.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms were fantastic but the Harriet room I think is the nicest with a beautiful view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel, very well appointed, with beautiful decor in bedrooms and public rooms. However, the food leaves a lot to be desired. Too much emphasis on several courses which amount to no more than small portions of hardly anything at all, i.e. sorbet for one, which is nothing more than a bit of crushed ice topped with a bit of flavouring. The main course which is hardly enough to feed a sparrow, the emphasis being on how many different colours can be applied onto the plate, which would be more at home on an artist's canvas. Too much of a pattern on a plate rather than a wholesome meal. The price of the wine, well not so much as expensive, but well over the top. Some bottles in the region of £300.00. Cheese and biscuits was another disappointment, it came on a piece of green slate with about four small cubes of cheese, a couple of biscuits, the rest, yes another pattern consisting of several daubs of whatever.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JPMW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This gem is located minutes from Lake Windermere. Our party of 4 stayed in 2 junior suites, which featured a sunken "living room" with glass French doors opening onto a patio and into the hotel grounds. The grounds are lovely, the rooms were beautiful and spotless, the bathrooms modern and spacious, great comfortable beds. Attention to detail is evident in the decor and amenities. It is a simply lovely, peaceful Relais & Chateau property.
The staff couldn't do enough for us. Every request was taken care of cheerfully and quickly. I would certainly return to the Gilpin, staying there made our visit to this beatiful region even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally613Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

As stated in previous reviews, this hotel is beautifully appointed and it is obvious that the family / owners have put their personal stamp and high standards into their business.
We live locally and, this was our first visit as non residents and only for dinner.
We arrived at 1950 and eventually left the hotel at 2325. On one hand, you don't want to be on a conveyor belt and be rushed through the dining process..but, this was dining at a lethargic speed. The waiters are very friendly and really try hard to keep the momentum going, so I'm not sure where the problem lies, perhaps the kitchen or the ordering procedure. We were also sitting for ten minutes before dinner waiting to be approached for a drinks order. Then a further 20 minutes before our dinner order was taken. Pre dinner 'nibbles' came only 5 minutes before we moved into the main restaurant.
The food was 'average', actually..not impressive at all and I kick myself for not mentioning this at the time as I should have done. However, the wine suggested was superb and the wine waiter really knew his stuff and moreover..didn't try to sell us the most expensive options. I would rate the food experience as very poor but the ambience as very high.. But.. with a dinner cost of over £160.00 for two,.. I would probably not return here again. The Linthwaite house hotel just down the road I'm afraid is in a different league as is The Samling and L'Enclume at Cartmel, We had such high expectations of the Gilpin hotel...what a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Stargazeratdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing