We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at Gilpin for 2 nights in June, we had the Cat Bells Garden Suite and it was amazing, what luxury! It’s a fantastic choice for a romantic break. Our garden terrace was very private and luckily the sun was out for some of the time so we could make use of our private hot tub!

The accommodation, food and staff could not be faulted. We are hoping to return very soon.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    136
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
117
1,042
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have stayed at many, may fantastic hotels throughout the world and are used to exceptional service. Unfortunately, my experience of Gilipin was not quite exceptional:

1. We stayed at the Lake House. You check in at the main hotel and then have to drive a very long mile to the Lake House. This includes a single lane track. When you arrive you have to get out to buzz the intercom on the gates to be let in. And it isn't actually on 'The Lake' - more a large pond.

2. The rooms are quite small and hot. No air conditoning - a first for me in a very long time. No water beside the bed at night - another first.

3. The afternoon tea was not good. The bread was stale.

4. In the morning they didn't have our chosen newspaper. They offered me another after saying that the paper delivery got messed up. I didn't want the Telegraph so they sent someone out for the Times. Something they should have done without being asked.

5. At dinner, despite being told half a dozen times I didn't eat meat they delivered the fish dressed in ham.

Maybe we missed something but it was very expensive. My one night was £540 for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. It is very expensive for what it is and where it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pingu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The reception we received form the hotel staff was very welcoming, like an old friend returning after a gap year. The lounge and bar were very clean and tidy, lots of books and magazines to read while having a cup or a quick pint to help you unwind after your drive.

We stayed in a Master Room in the main house, very large with beautiful view, very clean with well chosen furniture. My only negative comment would be that the bathroom needs updating, although very clean the suite is rather dated, I would like to have seen a modern bathroom.

We stayed for 2 nights, on the first night although we arrived in the bar at 7.30 for an 8.00 booking we didn't sit down until 8.30 as they forgot about us. After reading previous reviews we were very much looking forward to dinner, although the standard was very hight, my turbot was a little under seasoned. Also communication between serving staff and bar staff was not as smooth as it should have been, we were brought the wrong wine and had to ask twice for water.

Breakfast the following day was fantastic, excellent bacon, sausage and egg, great toast and a lovely cup of tea. Once again reception staff were very helpful in advising us of the local attractions.

Once again dinner on the second night was great, but once again there were a few flaws in the service, we had to ask for water and once again we were brought the wrong wine.

In summary I think the Gilpin is lovely hotel and well worth it's status as a luxury hotel, however if it irons out problems with staff communication and perhaps upgrades it's bathrooms it would move to a whole new level. I would recommend anybody visiting the area to stay or at least have dinner at the restaurant, I most certainly hope to return in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: Book a garden room in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munsy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Have just spent a weekend at the Gilpin Lodge in a Garden Suite, named Sergeant Man.If you want privacy when in your hot tub or just lounging on the decking,this is the suite.Only the llamas to admire your antics ! On a serious note from the moment we arrived until departure the service was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.The public rooms are beautifully appointed and immaculate as were the outside drinking/dining areas.I know the place isn't cheap but I believe you get what you pay for.I find it difficult to understand how some folks can rate this place as 'poor' or 'terrible' maybe they have incredibly high standards or were having a bad day ! So, book the Gipin,book a garden suite, book Sergeant Man and tell 'em I sent you ! Enjoy !

Room Tip: Sergeant Man Garden suite is the best for all round privacy, receives sun from 1pm until dusk.A larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onestal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed with my partner for a 2 nights, Thursday and Friday.

Location 4/5
Fairly isolated, just outside Bowness-on-Windermere, approximately a £10 taxi to the lake..

Parking and travel 4/5
Free parking. Note the post-code on the webiste does not take you to the hotel entrance if using a sat nav (but instead a place called Packway House). Instead continue to travel further down the same road, past the golf course and Gilpin Lodge is on the left about 5 miles down.

Staff and service 4/5
Polite and helpful. Waiters during breakfast seemed very nice, and occasionally funny.

Room 5/5
Stayed in .Wetherlam (master room). Top floor, really nicely decorated, amazing bathroom with free-standing tub and separate shower. Good sized bottles of Molton Brown toiletries. Felt almost like a spa!

Cleanliness 5/5
Really neat, tidy and clean.

Facilities N/A
Did not use the specific facilities really. I understand there is access to an offsite gym, although we did not use it.

Value 4/5
Fairly expensive, but to put it into context we enjoyed our stay and don’t regret paying the price..

Overall 5/5
Great stay, wish it was a bit cheaper but would go again (market forces I suppose…)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hallie_Brosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed in one of the hot tub rooms, Crinkle Crags. It was very well appointed with a large comfy bed, huge bright bathroom, large sitting area and veranda with hot tub. I loved the extra touches: home made biscuits and fresh milk, fluffy blanket on the armchair, bathrobes and slippers, molton brown a plenty, even dreft hand washing powder to soak your swim togs. Large flat screen tv too. The hot tub is over 4foot deep and HOT.

We ordered champagne and a cheese plate on room service, this was exceptional.

At dinner, all the staff greeted us by name. Canapes in the bar were good, the extras at dinner (soup, sorbet in between courses) were delicious, the dessert was divine. The steak was good, lobster ok, chips poor, wine excellent. Breakfast was top class, and an event in itself.

The hotel has a classy, homely and relaxing vibe, with a large comfy lounge, modern and attractive bar, and several dining rooms. Antique lovers will love the quirky silverware on the tables, our silver milk jug was from Rex Theatres.

This was a very special treat for a special birthday and it lived up to our expectations. Service was impeccable, the owner Barney was friendly and helpful, and all in all we felt suitably spoiled. Not a place for children though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bluenose-Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had a one night stay at the Lake House recently. Having heard so many wonderful reviews from friends and family, we arrived with high hopes and couldn't believe that it was possible for this hotel to exceed our expectations! The Lake House is around a mile away from the main Gilpin Lodge and is in a beautiful, secluded location with its own private tarn, gardens and woodland. We were welcomed immediately by a friendly member of staff, who showed us straight to our room - the Maud suite. The room was simply huge and clearly great thought has gone into the interior design. This suite offers stunning views over the private tarn. We were then given a tour of the property, taking in the vast lounge, airy dining and bar area, swimming pool and sauna, followed by the grounds and tarn. Although this is 5* accommodation, there was no air of stuffiness or over-formality and it was clear that we would be able to relax without feeling in any way uncomfortable. While we unpacked, a delicious afternoon tea was prepared for us. As we were only staying for one night, we made the most of all the facilities, taking in the 20 minute walk round the lake, rowing out on the boat, relaxing in the hot tub with panoramic lake views, then working off the afternoon tea with a swim. There were a handful of other guests, but we essentially felt as though we had the place entirely to ourselves. Staff had the perfect balance of being discreetly attentive, without being overbearing. For our evening meal (word of warning, if you're going to enjoy the 5-course meal, don't over-do the afternoon tea!) we were taken to Gilpin Lodge by car. We enjoyed canapes and pre-dinner drinks in the gardens, followed by a fantastic fine dining experience complete with matched wines in one of the smaller dining rooms within Gilpin. As with the Lake House, it was possible to enjoy a relaxed and informal chat with the staff; 5* luxury without any hint of pretentiousness. Following our meal, we squeezed in the petits fours and coffee in the lounge, before returning to the Lake House for a wonderful night's sleep in the huge bed in the Maud suite. The next morning, we couldn't resist starting the day in the hot tub; so peaceful and like being in another world! We enjoyed a relaxed breakfast looking over the lake. A choice of starters is offered, along with a huge buffet table of meats, cheeses, pastries and yoghurts, before a main course (so difficult to choose as everything sounded delicious!). The Lake House is undeniably expensive but in my opinion worth every penny. If you're looking for relaxation, top quality rooms, beautiful and private surroundings, amazing food and attentive yet friendly staff, this is the place for you. We felt as though we had spent 24 hours living a completely different lifestyle and will definitely be back. Truly amazing!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are beautiful and worth paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing