We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Lake House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Lake House!”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed at Gilpin Lodge Lake House last Sunday with my partner and we both absolutely loved it! From the moment we arrived to the secluded Lake House and were greeted by the manager with our bags. We were then shown around the Lake House and grounds which are just so peaceful and beautiful. Our room was lovely with space to relax and read and a huge bathroom. We were given a welcome home made lemonade and canape before our massages in the luxury of our own room! We then headed down to the outdoor hot tub and had a drink overlooking the lake. So peaceful and relaxing. We were then chauffered to dinner over at Gilpin Lodge hotel which was again just brilliant. Lovely food and amazing service. Breakfast was also very good choice and standard and eating in the conservatory with views of the Lake. We would highly recommend this hotel as all the staff were so helpful and around 24 hours a day to help with whatever you would like. We will definately be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krispy1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    132
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
115
1,025
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

As it was our first night away since the birth of our child, we booked a room in the Gilpin Lake House in search of some much needed R&R. It did not disappoint! We were fortunate to stay in the Harriet suite which was very luxurious and benefits from views over the Tarn. As it was a rainy midweek in October, we were also the only people staying in the lake house which made our stay all the more special. The price of a nights stay in the Lake House may seem a little expensive, and certainly more than we would normally spend on a night away, but it was genuinely worth every penny as we were made to feel so welcome by Zoe, Barney and all the staff in what is an absolutely stunning setting. If you are looking for somewhere special to spend a few days then look no further than the Gilpin Lake House!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frob09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Had a wonderful weekend staying in a Garden Room. Service is THE best ever & the food is worthy of Michelin (mostly) even breakfast was fine dining. The rooms are huge & comfy (as are the beds) & the hot-tubs kept really hot. Yes it is expensive but it is still worth the money

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clive j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have stayed at Gilpin Lodge at least once a year for fifteen or more years and we regard it as the gold standard by which we judge all other hotels that we visit. Exceptionally high standards of hospitality, luxurious comfort, scrupulous cleanliness and excellent food are the norm and they were very much in evidence during our most recent visit in early October. We sampled the dishes that the new chef has begun to introduce to the menu and they were outstanding. The Cunliffe family have established a long standing "Gilpin culture" of ensuring that guests are well looked after and nothing is too much trouble. They care passionately about providing a luxurious environment in a beautiful setting and providing a friendly yet highly professional service to their guests. When things are amiss (a rare event in our experience) the response is rapid and helpful. As for the negative comments re the underwear on top of the wardrobe incident: unpleasant certainly but hardly traumatic. Just a look around every other nook and cranny of the room and hotel would have confirmed that this was an exceptional occurrence. Surely a sincere apology and complimentary drinks should have sufficed. Here's to our next visit - for total relaxation and a treat for all the senses.

Room Tip: We have stayed in many of the rooms and all are of a very high standard. The website portrays them w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HMS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

What a find, the Gilpin turned a spur of the moment 3 day break into a break to remember for all the right reasons, charming staff, delightful and comfortable guest areas, perfectly located away from the busy lakes but ideally positioned for touring the area.
Our room "cat bells" was delightfully furnished with a huge bed and a spotlessly clean large ensuite, thoughtfully presented and lovingly prepared food was served in a choice of intimate dining areas where staff were attentive and obviously loved their jobs, the menu choice was lovely but is slightly limited.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cat Bells which was private, large, spotlessly clean and even had a hot tub on its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank l4wsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Gilpin for our honeymoon in August 2012 and had the most wonderful time.

The staff were very courteous and more than willing to accommodate everything we needed. The service was taken to the next level and we were made to feel that we were the only people staying there.

The food was excellent and the room we stayed in was very lovely and bright and had everything that we needed. We stayed in the Wetherlam room.

Overall there was a lovely, warm family feel and I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to visit again.

Our honeymoon was an unforgettable and wonderful experience thanks to the warmth of the staff at Gilpin.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We discovered the hotel with the help of Windermere Tourist Information Centre and it was absolutely delightful.
We were travelling back to Scotland from Southampton following a family funeral and the peace and and very discreet attention of staff was wonderful.
We found the whole experience just what was needed at the time. The food was imaginative, very tasty and beautifully presented. The staff were kind, friendly without being intrusive and added to the relaxed family feeling of the hotel.
We stayed for 2 nights in the master bedroom Heathwaite and it was very comfortable, had lots of little touches eg clothes brush, shoe horn, reading materials (left by other visitors) and all these added to our appreciation.
The ensuite was of a very high standard and was equipped with luxury toiletries which I loved as they are some of my personal favourites.
Have been reading some of the other reviews and am astonished that not everyone found it as wonderful as we did maybe they need to give it another chance?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank larodden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
373 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing