We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A few years ago,(before December 2011 but this site wont let me go back further than that!) my best friend and I had a short break at Gilpin, to celebrate our 50 years of friendship.Neither of us are used to staying in Country House Hotels, (although we would like to be!) and it was a real treat. I write this now as I have only just joined Trip Advisor. Gilpin is just the most perfect hotel ever. We stayed in a wonderful Garden Room, with hot tub on the balcony, which we used frequently although the weather that December was cold and damp. The decor was beautiful, the bathroom unlike any I have used, the beds wonderfully comfy.We were both able to have full body massages in our room..The hotel was beautifully and tastefully decorated for Christmas. I loved the fact that we could see Llamas from our balcony! And the food! I have eaten in some famous Michelin Star restaurants but the food at Gilpin is surely worthy of 2-3 stars! Impeccable service, discreet but friendly, nothing too much trouble for the Cunliffe family. When I win the lottery I am going to stay in the Lake House!The following year I took my brother there for a wonderful afternoon tea in a warm and cosy lounge in November, great value. If you go to one hotel in the Windermere area, make it Gilpin. You will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Garden rooms are very spacious and have fabulous bathrooms. Beauty treatments in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daffodil025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    136
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
117
1,041
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My Fiancee and I stayed here in August just before our wedding in Cumbria. We really enjoyed our stay in one of the garden suites, complete with it's own outdoor hot tub. The suite itself was very nicely furnished and the bed was huge and very comfortable. Our evening meal was enjoyable although we found the dining area to be a bit too intimate. The breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever had, not only did the food taste incredible but the beautiful antique silverware a delight. I would very much recommend this hotel for its peacefulness and luxury. The single negative point was that we were charged 5GBP for an ice bucket and champagne glasses that I requested on my arrival, a tad bit greedy and completely unnecessary in my opinion given the half board room rate payed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbo077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed at Gilpin Lodge Lake House last Sunday with my partner and we both absolutely loved it! From the moment we arrived to the secluded Lake House and were greeted by the manager with our bags. We were then shown around the Lake House and grounds which are just so peaceful and beautiful. Our room was lovely with space to relax and read and a huge bathroom. We were given a welcome home made lemonade and canape before our massages in the luxury of our own room! We then headed down to the outdoor hot tub and had a drink overlooking the lake. So peaceful and relaxing. We were then chauffered to dinner over at Gilpin Lodge hotel which was again just brilliant. Lovely food and amazing service. Breakfast was also very good choice and standard and eating in the conservatory with views of the Lake. We would highly recommend this hotel as all the staff were so helpful and around 24 hours a day to help with whatever you would like. We will definately be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krispy1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

As it was our first night away since the birth of our child, we booked a room in the Gilpin Lake House in search of some much needed R&R. It did not disappoint! We were fortunate to stay in the Harriet suite which was very luxurious and benefits from views over the Tarn. As it was a rainy midweek in October, we were also the only people staying in the lake house which made our stay all the more special. The price of a nights stay in the Lake House may seem a little expensive, and certainly more than we would normally spend on a night away, but it was genuinely worth every penny as we were made to feel so welcome by Zoe, Barney and all the staff in what is an absolutely stunning setting. If you are looking for somewhere special to spend a few days then look no further than the Gilpin Lake House!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frob09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Had a wonderful weekend staying in a Garden Room. Service is THE best ever & the food is worthy of Michelin (mostly) even breakfast was fine dining. The rooms are huge & comfy (as are the beds) & the hot-tubs kept really hot. Yes it is expensive but it is still worth the money

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clive j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We have stayed at Gilpin Lodge at least once a year for fifteen or more years and we regard it as the gold standard by which we judge all other hotels that we visit. Exceptionally high standards of hospitality, luxurious comfort, scrupulous cleanliness and excellent food are the norm and they were very much in evidence during our most recent visit in early October. We sampled the dishes that the new chef has begun to introduce to the menu and they were outstanding. The Cunliffe family have established a long standing "Gilpin culture" of ensuring that guests are well looked after and nothing is too much trouble. They care passionately about providing a luxurious environment in a beautiful setting and providing a friendly yet highly professional service to their guests. When things are amiss (a rare event in our experience) the response is rapid and helpful. As for the negative comments re the underwear on top of the wardrobe incident: unpleasant certainly but hardly traumatic. Just a look around every other nook and cranny of the room and hotel would have confirmed that this was an exceptional occurrence. Surely a sincere apology and complimentary drinks should have sufficed. Here's to our next visit - for total relaxation and a treat for all the senses.

Room Tip: We have stayed in many of the rooms and all are of a very high standard. The website portrays them w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HMS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

What a find, the Gilpin turned a spur of the moment 3 day break into a break to remember for all the right reasons, charming staff, delightful and comfortable guest areas, perfectly located away from the busy lakes but ideally positioned for touring the area.
Our room "cat bells" was delightfully furnished with a huge bed and a spotlessly clean large ensuite, thoughtfully presented and lovingly prepared food was served in a choice of intimate dining areas where staff were attentive and obviously loved their jobs, the menu choice was lovely but is slightly limited.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cat Bells which was private, large, spotlessly clean and even had a hot tub on its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank l4wsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing