We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2012

A wonderfully comfortable, serene hotel. Beautiful location and decor. The Staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful. The food is excellent which all adds up to being a fantastic stay.
At this Hotel the guest is King and Queen of course. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cravenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

We felt we had been swept up and cuddled from when we entered the door as the staff are exceptionally attentive, caring and very very pleasant. Their aim is to please and they strive to achieve that, which they do extremely successfully. The Gilpin is not pretentious which at this level of the market one may expect but it was cosy, warm and very very English in so many ways, it was absolutely delightful and we enjoyed our stay here.
There were one or two observations which are not a criticism just purely our observation and down to our personal taste but we felt it took the edge of things for us as we were anticipating the place to blow us away as we had heard so much about it which was certainly all positive. It was the bedroom itself although certainly large and every facility was there to greet you, sumptious towels, gorgeous bath robes, Molten Brown toiletries, wi fi, mini bar, hairdryer etc.etc and there is the most novel quirky idea of the Gilpin cat who sits on your bed and you put him out at night so as not to be disturbed, quite lovely and it amused us so much we bought one! The room to us was not as we had expected for a junior suite, it looked a little bit tired,the bed was also too firm for us and although the linen is crisp and white it was not Egyptian cotton which we expected at this level of the market as it tends to be the norm and it is so much lovelier to sleep on, but as said this is personal preference but nevertheless you want to curl up and feel cosy in your bed and we both had difficulty sleeping. However, the bathroom was very clean but we could not use the hot water tap as it was so hot it would have burnt you and there were areas of grouting that needed some attention and the wallpaper was rippled by the bath which just tinged it a little bit for us, it was only minor but it took the edge of our expectations of the room.
The food was good and the service was exceptional and they have lovely little touches to make your meal special. The menu was the same for both nights and we would have expected it to rotate so that there alternative choices but maybe we were expecting too much.Having said that though, the Gilpin was a very relaxing, enjoyable experience and the place is made somewhere special by the high level of customer service you receive - the staff are exceptional and an absolute credit to the Gilpin management as they certainly make the place something else.
We would visit again but next time I think we would opt for a Garden Suite with the hot tub!

Room Tip: Maybe opt for a master room as we did not feel the Junior Suite justifiied its price tag. Or possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Excellent service, fabulous food, gorgeous rooms. We've had the pleasure of staying in many lovely hotels. Gilpin Lodge is by far the best. We are already planning our next stay. We stayed in Dollywagon Pike, one of the fabulous garden rooms. It was truly delightful. I do not have enough superlatives to describe this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesspenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This has to be one of the finest hotels i have stayed at. The service from every member of staff was exceptional, warm and friendly. We booked a garden suite with hot tub and the room was perfect, the bathroom was spotless, extremely comfy bed and lovely private decking area outside with a hot tub. We stayed Fri - Sun and ate both nights in the hotel. The first nights food has to be some of the best i have eaten it was a pure delight. Breakfast is waiter service and again the quality of the food was of a very high standard. The Gilpin lodge has definitley got it right in many respects and we will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

What can we say about this Hotel that has not already been said! My husband and I stayed here for my husband's birthday and it was exquisite with first class attention to detail. We stayed in a master room called Lythe which was so spacious and beautifully decorated. The food was excellent and as we are vegetarians this is always a worry, but not here that's for sure! The staff could not do enough for us and made the whole experience fab. Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntrepidRavenglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Gilpin Lodge is a must for any traveller looking, & willing to pay, for outstanding dining. The food is stunningly good; our waiter proudly pronounced the chef the best in Cumbria and, based on our time at Gilpin, few could argue with that accolade.

We stayed with our children who, though comfortable in smart restaurants, might have been phased by the whole experience, but the staff treated them with friendly respect and they enjoyed the whole theatre of the meal, not to mention the delicious off menu courses: canapés, intriguing pre-starters, clever pre-desserts. The kitchen happily amended the menu to suit younger tastes, but don't go expecting chicken nuggets for the kids - this food is high art.

Our rooms were delightful. The service is, without exception, impeccable; the setting - intimate country house charm; the overall experience - top notch. Sadly the weather failed to follow suit, but then again what do you expect visiting the Lakes in late autumn?!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I did a lot of research before deciding on Gilpin for a special break. Privacy was the most important quality for us, so the advice when booking a garden suite to go for Sergeant Man was spot-on. It was possible to park our car near the garden suite building, which meant we didn’t have to go through the main hotel building unless we wanted to. This gave us an ever greater sense of privacy. Hot tub on a sunny autumn afternoon very pleasant. Spacious room, comfortable bed. Tastefully decorated – terrific wallpaper. Very good breakfast – lots of choice & good quality ingredients. Pleasant & very attentive staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sergeant Man garden suite is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £224 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing