We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gilpin Hotel Winderemere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gilpin Hotel Winderemere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Superb, I have a saying which my husband says I use when I'm impressed....it's wowsy wow!

Ladies/Gents if any of you are seeking a venue to impress then The Gilpin Hotel fits the bill. Fabulous from the moment we arrived through the door, the staff are incredibly attentive and nothing is too much trouble.

Tradition meets modernity as you pass through the variety of rooms and passages along the beautiful country hotel. Vibrant landscaped gardens with pretty nooks and crannies to share a cheeky smooch, weddings would be lovely there.

The food is high quality, offering locally sourced produce which we sampled during our weekend. The cuisine is very tempting with a wonderful presentation at every course.

You can walk around the wine cellar choosing your own wines and champagnes. All charges are posted to your bill so no need to pay as you go at this establishment.

We opted for a a Garden Suite, Crinkle Crags which offered luxurious fabrics, quality furnishings and lots of extras. The major plus point is the sunken cedar wood hot tub in your own private garden. The decked area off your suite shared views of the grounds and the areas of Windermere beyond. The steamy hot tub was a great pleasure at night, with the garden lights illuminating the decked area, we had our music on low and sipped champagne together under the night stars, with a slight cold nip in the air on your shoulders.

Sadly no fitness centre but a beautician could visit to offer spa treatments.

We had the use of a chauffeur whilst there to travel around the local areas.

Wifi available via a code from reception, you need an individual code per mobile device.

Make sure you take plenty of cash or your credit card, the prices are not for the faint hearted. Dinner starts at £60 per person, with a premium for steak. Wines are measured and you can get caught out, my husbands glasses of red were a minimum of £20 per glass unbeknown to him, he had several across the weekend. Afternoon tea is from £18 per person and a cheese board for two is around £20.

A real must visit venue. Sarah the hotel manager has a great sense if humour whilst delivering a professional, slick service.

Oh don't be surprised if you ask for tomato or brown sauce with breakfast that it looks an unusual colour, everything is homemade...not an HP or Heinz bottle in sight.

Room Tip: Look through their website and see the individual thumbnails to get a good insight into what they of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillichickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    128
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
108
980
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our first time to Gilpin & not the last as we booked for the New Year Gala Dinner as we departed. Stayed in a Garden suite which had patio doors onto a decked area including a hot tub, overlooking gardens, the sound of a stream & the birds singing. The last time I remember such serenity was 10 years ago in The Maldives. Whilst the house is traditional the interior is amazing with a contemporary twist. Well done to all involved with the interior designing it is beautiful. The place runs like clockwork. Every member of staff very attentive, professional but also a relaxed atmosphere which was very soothing. The house manager Sarah did a wonderful job & we enjoyed her company very much. Food was excellent & all needs catered for without question. Massages both in house & at Lake House were delightful. The treatment area at Lake House is a treat even before the treatment begins. Attention to detail in all areas of the hotel were exceptional & more than exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in the Hotel for the majority of your time definately choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Another stay at our favourite hotel. Fantastic as ever. Stayed on a Monday night and were upgraded to a spa room. The phoned us the night before so that we knew to bring swimming costumes for the hot tub. Room superb, 3rd time we have stayed in Catbells. Food amazing. Staff friendly and relaxed. This feels like home. I cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with hot tubs are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maltesergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just spent my birthday at Gilpin Lodge. What a treat! From the lovely warm welcome by Jessica, to the delight with our Junior Suite, we had a most enjoyable day and evening. Unusual and delightful tastes at dinner, beautifully presented and served by smiling staff. The house is warm, beautifully furnished and extremely quiet and comfortable in every way. The breakfast fantastic and could not be bettered, local fresh produce served in a relaxed way but with the understated professionalism as befits this lovely establishment. We stayed in Troutbeck and hope to return. Thankyou Gorgeous Gilpin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is our second trip and we brought another two couples to share a wonderful weekend. Gilpin Hotel doesn't feel like a hotel. The spaces are intimate and furnished with warm neutrals and a stylish if eclectic mix of accents. It is an understated sort of elegance and beautifully detailed.

The food is memorable and light enough so that you get a chance to taste a little of a lot of things. I am mystified by reviewers who felt hungry after dinner - we felt the quantities were perfect if a little indulgent.

The service is ever present when you need it but not overbearing and Sarah, in the dining room has a wonderful style that engages and welcomes.

My one suggestion is that the reading light in the bedroom was too low a level for me - but a minor problem. And the best bit for me was no mobile reception which meant I really couldn't look at my emails - a true break!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripplevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you very much, what a brilliant review. We are so pleased that you all had an excellent stay at the Gilpin Hotel and especially enjoyed the evening meal. Your right, our house manager Sarah is just fantastic!! Thank you for the little note about the reading light in the bedroom we will definitely take note of that.

We will look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Sadly we never made it to the Gilpin Hotel. My husband booked a two night break to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Unbeknown to me, he asked 20 of our friends to join us at the hotel for Sunday lunch to celebrate. The hotel told him they would not allow children under 10 to eat there. Our daughter is 6 and the other 4 children invited were older. My husband had to let me in on the surprise because I couldn't understand why they wouldn't allow our daughter to join us. I rang the hotel to ask why this ridiculous rule was in place - they were making the assumption my daughter was badly behaved. The manager was abrupt and kept interrupting. She said she would get the food & beverages manager to ring back. He didn't. I rang again, same response. Finally I spoke to the food & beverage manager who apologised and said there should never have been a problem as we would have had a separate dining room anyway because of the numbers involved. Sadly, the whole experience tainted the surprise, and the weekend away. We decided to cancel the entire thing. We feel let down and disappointed by, what looked like a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jocham72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your post, we are sorry that you feel aggrieved. There was no assumption that your child is badly behaved, we simply don’t take children under 7. We are parents ourselves with a young child, indeed this hotel is often full of young parents getting away for the night for the first time (leaving their children with family). We do frequently consider the fact that we don’t take young children but always come to the same conclusion – whilst some hotel are fantastic for children, we are not, and many people visit us because of this.

Unfortunately it was only after the booking had been made that we were made aware that one of your party was under seven. Of course a certain flexibility is necessary but the person that you were originally talking to wouldn't have the authority to make that decision. However our Food and Beverage Manager subsequently went out of his way to reassure you that we could make an exception and that you would have his special attention, but at this point you had decided you did not wish to proceed with the booking. Again we are very sorry that the surprise was spoiled as a result, and sincerely hope that you had a lovely weekend.

Kind regards,
Zoë & Barney Cunliffe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable afternoon tea!!!!! 7 cakes, a scone, sausage roll with chorizo, open sandwiches with quirky toppings,salmon mousse and brioche loaf. I always find something to criticise but not here.

Service was also incredibly warm and attentive. I will be back..... If I get treated again by the other half.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Austriancrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Ah yes the wonderful Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Afternoon Tea…always a favourite! Thank you for your excellent review and we will hopefully see you both again soon!

Kindest regards
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Agoda so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing