We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have been coming to Gilpin Lodge for a few times and the food has been outstanding! We have been so looking forward to our visit this time as we missed our visit in 2012. During our absence there is a change of head chef in the last 18 months and this visit in October 2013 has been very disappointing. The restaurant manger was not very friendly and the food was very disappointing. We love the place and the staffs in the reception are very helpful and friendly. We will come back here to stay but will eat somewhere else

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henry0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review, and also for taking the time to discuss your experience with me while you were at Gilpin. As you know, I was so disappointed to hear how you felt that I cancelled all the charges, not just for dinner that night but for your accommodation and breakfast the next morning as well.

My gut feeling is that the night in question was less than perfect due to the Head Chef being absent, having had a car accident on the Tuesday. This is not an excuse, but it obviously had an effect. I did speak to other guests from that night who thought the food superb and the service 'Gilpin's usual relaxed and friendly standard', but this was not the case for you, and we sincerely regret this.

After all your previous visits I hope you know that we genuinely strive to get it right, every moment of every day. If it is not, we try to rectify the situation as best we can, hence our cancelling the charges as you clearly had not enjoyed your evening.

We are very glad to hear that you will return to Gilpin - thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel. We do hope that you will also dine with us again.

Kind regards,
John Cunliffe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gilpin this week and have found the hotel and the staff very attentive
it is a bit tricky to find the hotel because the Sat nav didn't recognise the post code however when you get there the entrance is grand with Electric gates.
When you arrive in the hotel you can smell the wood burning on the fire (which is very homely)
Our room was comfortable, well designed with a very comfy bed. One of the best night sleep we had for ages.
The bathroom was impressive with good toiletries products.
At 7.45 pm a chauffeur picked us up and took us to the Gilpin hotel for dinner.
The setup of hotel and restaurant, the food and wine selection was well put together by the owners who are on hand in the evening to welcome you.
The breakfast the next day was tasty also.
I would recommend the Gilpin Lake House if you are looking for a relaxing break in the middle of nowhere.
Heather the Manager and her team at the lodges were very attentive to our needs.
Thank you for looking after us

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OpsEclectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for choosing the Gilpin Lake House for your relaxing break away and for your wonderful review. Please do come back and visit us again for another restful break at the Lake House!

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and myself had dinner at The Gilpin this week and it was really on form - the food was close to perfect and the service sublime. We had 5 courses and allowed their sommelier to choose matching wines, glad we did too! We've had the good fortune of eating at a lot of great places, so it's quite an accolade that my better half said it could have been one the **best meals she'd ever eaten**. If you are looking for a special place to have dinner, this is the place - really fabulous delicious food, great service all in a really great environment with fabulous interior design 10/10.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Superb review! Thank you very much for reviewing your recent dining experience with us at the Gilpin Hotel.

We will look forward to seeing you both again.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Every time I stay it's always as good as the last. We have had different room types over our various stays and each is cosy, very clean, and quiet!!

The staff are great and really attentive and we are always looked after so well, they are really friendly and service is quick and flawless. The food is gorgeous and never fails to impress. The only negative I would have is that I was ill during my evening meal (nothing to do with there food) during one stay and so had to leave after my starter, but was still charged for the main that I was unable to eat :(

That aside I have been back since and everytime me and my boyfriend stay we leave thoroughly relaxed. It's hard not to be with such beautiful surroundings, lovely staff and amazing food! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiff83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Love, love, love this review, thank you very much! It is great to hear that as a returning guest your stay is always excellent with us. Sorry that you were changed for your dinner on the one evening you were feeling unwell this should have been removed from your bill; we will however, look forward to your return visit.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The other day we four friends had an afternoon tea at Gilpin Lodge Hotel - it was magnificent!
Extremely enjoyable - with lovely open sandwiches (the nicest bread ever!) with lashings of topping. A most amazing
selection of cakes - even an ice-cream lollypop! It was really, really good - go and check it out!
The hotel itself is a beautiful place to be -fabulous decor and great country views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank farmwifeCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing your wonderful afternoon tea experience at the Gilpin Hotel, we are so pleased you had a delightful time with us and will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I just love the staff here, they made us feel so special.

We had a beautiful room and they helped us with walks and cycle rides

The chef is fantastic and bar one small delay with our meal on one occasion everything was fab.

Such a wonderful place. .

The

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Naomi21w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your excellent review, it is so nice to read that you were looked after in the best possible way and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

There is always a certain trepidation about revisiting somewhere on holiday. Will it be as lovely as we remembered? At the Gilpin, there was no need to worry. We stayed last year in the Dollywagon Pike Garden Suite, which was fabulous. We chose the Sargent Man Suite for this visit and for us it was even better. It was so secluded and quiet you truly could forget you were in a hotel - just want we wanted. The room was beautiful, and the view from the hot tub was stunning.
The food was as high a standard as our previous visit. Regarding the evening menu, the lamb was so good my (highly critical) husband ordered it twice. For me, it's all about the breakfast. It truly is an experience in itself. I think the rarebit just edged it as my favourite breakfast but it was a close call!
However what makes Gilpin so special is the service. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. Every little detail is catered for - umbrellas in the room and cosy blankets if you get nippy outside. From the friendly concierge who brought us to our suite, to the charming waiting staff and the managers who remember every little detail, they make the most impressive service team we have ever encountered. My husband and I were discussing this during our stay - we came to the conclusion that what makes Gilpin so special is that the staff make your visit as formal or as informal as you like. If you want formal service, with professional waiters and great service you can have it. But if you want to chat, get a recommendation for a cocktail, or the footie results you just need to ask. It truly is a special skill to accommodate everyone's needs, and the Gilpin does it seamlessly.
I happened to mention at booking that it was our 10th wedding anniversary. As another lovely touch we got a candle and a celebration plate delivered to our table - a lovely icing on a fabulous cake.
I'm certain we'll be back next year for another treat.......!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesspenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Wonderful! Thank you very much indeed for the perfect review and for choosing the Gilpin Hotel and Lake House again for your break away.

We will definitely look forward to welcoming you both back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
502 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,207 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £223 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing