We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The welcome was the worst..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The welcome was the worst..”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked a garden suite for my partners 30th birthday. The room was beautiful and well equipped, not as private as hoped, but we did get the sun all day! Beautiful setting. We had the fine dining (included in the £495 I paid for one night) which was ok but nothing on the plate matched, so some tastes were distorted, service was long though (I was dying to get back to the room) as we ate in a quiet dining room, with only two elderly couples. Desert was lovely, and breakfast was beautiful (we ate in our room). My biggest problem was the way we were greeted by the porter and then the receptionist, it was as if we were not the type of people that they expected. The porter rudely asked if he could help and looked embarrassed when I replied I was there to check in. The receptionist didn't look happy to see us and took an eternity showing us every small detail in the room then lingering about as if she was waiting for a tip. I did feel uneasy after the cold welcome but the room was lovely and we just spent as much time as possible in there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missmiller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,111
    129
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
112
1,009
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked the gilpin as we were looking for a special place to spend some quality time away from home. We bought the package deal and stayed in the Troutbeck room which is a Junior suite. We arrived at 1pm and our room was ready and were promptly checked in and shown to our room. The room was really well appointed and had plenty of space with both a homely and luxurious feel. The room also had a large terrace for you to sit out on. The hotel is very grown up and dinner in the evening is more of a trousers and shirt affair and the service was generally very attentive. We ate from the dinner package menu which was fine dining and you couldn't fault in taste and execution. They made their own bread which was delicious and the wine list was extensive. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and was possibly the best hotel breakfast I have had and was followed by a trip to the spa which was stunning. The spa is built facing onto the Lake which is a 5 minute drive away. £70 for an hour long massage and it was worth every penny as it was a very relaxing experience. If you were going to be super critical I would say the service was a little hit and miss and went from either over attentive to having to remind staff of small things. The package didn’t include the British menu and although you could buy it on a bed and breakfast rate we felt slightly cheated as we would like to have had the full choice. The atmosphere in one of the small dining rooms was also a bit quiet and needed something to create a better mood. All in all though I would have to say that the Gilpin is a very grown up hotel that ticks lots of boxes and is certainly worth a luxury trip or two.

Room Tip: The Troutbeck room is a large well apointed room with lots of light from two window's and with d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This place is an absolute gem. As a family who enjoy understated luxury we couldn't have found a better spot for a birthday break for my Mum.

The staff were faultless and their service intuitive and never overbearing.

The interiors are beautiful and the attention to detail is spot on - handmade shortbread topped up daily to enjoy with tea and nespresso coffee, a tiny box of matches placed thoughtfully with the candle next to the huge bathtub just a couple of examples.

Both breakfast and evening meal were thoroughly enjoyable. The tasting and British market menu are carefully considered and showcase local ingredients in delicious format without being pretentious - my brother and his girlfriend enjoy quite plain food and the dishes were adapted for them by extraordinarily accommodating staff and kitchen!

The location is slightly tucked away and the grounds are just beautiful without being over manicured! The resident alpacas are charming and add to the overall sense of an ever so slightly quirky sense of serenity that the Gilpin seems to achieve so effortlessly.

Room Tip: We received upgrades to Garden Suites for all of our party, the hot tubs on the terraces are definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Writing this after recently returning for a 2 day break in the Lake House for our 1st anniversary and having read some of the slightly negative reviews below, I can only assume that some people have no idea what they are on about.

We arrived to a warm welcome at the hotel, pleasant and professional and were shown through to the lounge/bar area where we had lunch as our Lake house room wasn't available until 2pm. Had a lovely lunch and then we're shown to the lake house, Peter welcomed us and had all his notes on us to hand, sorted our bags and valet parked my car.

We had the room by the name of Maud which was wonderfully decorated to a very high standard and the views over the lake were incredible. Lovely homemade products and selection of magazines etc.

The Lake house is stunning, my advice would be to stay there if you can, the place is stunning and you feel like a lottery winner, Peter is at your every beck and call, buzzers are everywhere should you need someone (we don't have time to wait an hour like some people below) and the idea is that you treat it like your own house. Only a maximum of 12 guests will be there at any time so it's never crowded and gives it the exclusive feel.

We then did our jetty spa trail, 3 hours of aromatherapy, designing your own blend, spa and swim, massage, afternoon tea in the boathouse and finished with champagne in the hot tub overlooking the lake. Very cleverly done and you never feel like anyone else is doing it too. If you go to the lake house, you practically get your own lake..

Food throughout was out of this world, my advice go for the table d'hôte menu which allows you to choose, I had the rabbit terrine, smoked pork with caramelised apple and finished with a deconstructed 'snickers' dessert, fantastic and the butter with pork scratching bits on top is inspired and very naughty.

My wife had venison to start and duck for main with the 'Malibu' bavarois dessert which looked and tasted fabulous. Service was great and ended in the lounge for coffees and hand made petit fours.

Special mention goes to Peter and Kelly from the management and lake house team who did everything we asked and more, my wife casually mentioned she liked Hello magazine once and the next minute, one was delivered to our room.

The final day the breakfast was out of this world. Salmon fillet wrapped around beautifully cooked scrambled eggs, black pudding and potato rosti, porridge with caramelised bananas and the hot chocolate was fab, we are outside in the sunshine and overlooked the lake.

Attention to the little things is key and for us, it was perfect.

The main thing I can say to summarise is that despite us travelling the world and staying in some lovely places, my wife said it was the best one night break experience she had ever had, which is a big shout...but I agree!!

Thanks to all the team and we will be back without hesitation..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SamJCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Without doubt this is the friendliest most relaxing hotel you will ever find; a little gem. When you add some of the best meals you will ever eat along with comfortable rooms and luxurious baths and showers this was one to remember and return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
What a brilliant review, thank you very much indeed. Glad you had a wonderful stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

2nd visit as a guest of friends staying at the hotel. Excellent service and excellent food. Faultless evening and a pleasure to visit. Thank you once again and hopefully see you all again. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Big-Fishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It was lovely welcoming you back to the Gilpin and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A truly magical get away!

Whether it's romance, exploring or just relaxing, I could not recommend the Gilpin more.

We stayed in the Cat Bells, Garden Suite and then in Haystack another Garden Suite, both of which were absolutely beautiful! Rooms carefully designed, meticulous to detail, all filled with so much unique character depending upon the suite!!

All of the staff were friendly from as soon as we arrived! I felt really welcome. There was a great atmosphere throughout. Very homely.

During our stay we dined a the restaurant which was absolutely divine!! ...However (just incase you were wondering), please do not mistake this venue as pretentious, for I was often in my Hunters and/or Barbour, and did not receive a frown!

As this is a review, the only problem we head was getting there, or rather finding the place...and so we did have to stop off at a nearby hotel and rather cheekily ask for directions (something we were informed happens quite often). However, good things take time as they say, and the Gilpin was out of this world! :)

I would love nothing more to return again, ideally for a honeymoon! ** I hope he doesn't read this, I'm jumping the gun a little, but here's to wishful thinking! and if he does, take the hint <3 :)**

I have not and still cannot stop singing this place's praises!!!

I guess the title of my review says it all: Magical!

Room Tip: From our stay and as a one off treat, The Garden Suites are well worth it!! Even if you go once, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbiegirl_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Love the title of this review, thank you very much! We are so pleased you had a fantastic stay with us and were able to experience two of our lovely Garden Suites. We get a lot of guests coming to stay on minimoons and honeymoons so we hope to see you in the future.

Kindest regards,
Barney & Zoe Cunliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing