We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel- Restaurant in Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a great hotel for couples. Very relaxing and in a beautiful setting. The staff are very friendly, thanks to Dario.The desserts are superb (be sure not to miss this!), and the rooms very beautifully decorated! Had a wonderful dinner!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theperfectone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Most Americans only visit London. But for those who are adventurous and want something different, then the Lake District won't disappoint and Gilpin Hotel and Lake House
will be the highlight of any trip outside London. When Richard greets you at the door with a smile and his quick wit and helps you with your luggage, you will immediately feel the warmth and welcoming feel of this hotel. THe rooms are all gorgeous and oversized with baths that are fabulous. Why can't American hotels have heated towel racks? THe food and service in the dining room was exemplary. We were greeted by the charming manager. The staff are friendly and most efficient. THe owners stop by to greet the guests personally. The lake house is about a mile away - and that is total pampering.
This is where the spa is -as well as the pool and more beautiful suites.
Sadly, we only had one night, but if we could have changed plans to stay another few nights we would have. I highly recommend a trip to the Lake District. It's a great stopping point on the way to Edinburgh or Gleneagles or another great hotel in Scotland. Oh -and the Trifle with Chantilly cream is the BEST reason to return.

Room Tip: Any room is fabulous- but Troubeck has a huge private terrace and about a 50 yard walk to see the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Lake House for one night and oh my how we wish we could have stayed longer. You arrive at the main hotel and are directed with a map to the Lake House - situated up a country lane approx. 1 mile away through wrought iron gates and welcomed by a member of staff. It's really like staying in a private house but with a few other people. Exceptional service that is friendly but not over familiar. We stayed in Ethel which is a smaller room but beautifully presented with an amazing view. Amazing spa with the best view I've ever had out of a treatment room. Comfy lounges and beautiful gardens to sit and enjoy a drink before dinner or breakfast as we did. A chauffeur picks you up at a pre-arranged time to transport you to the main hotel for dinner. The main hotel is stunning too with a beautiful terrace where we enjoyed champagne and a plate of iberico ham plus canapés. A true delight and we WILL return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning, but Harriet is the largest and Agie has a view of the car park. Ethel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in the Beatrice room at the Lakehouse for my wifes 30th birthday and can not fault anything about this place. We booked the Jetty Spa Trail which included an aromatherapy consultation, private use of the swimming pool, a full back, neck and head massage, afternoon tea in the boathouse, and champagne in the hot tub. It was then arranged for the chauffeur to pick us up and take us up to the hotel for drinks & canapés followed by a four course meal. The food was amazing, and deserves to be Michelin starred. Then chauffeur driven back to the Lakehouse. Beautiful place, the staff and manager at the Lakehouse couldn't do enough for us and I would recommend this retreat to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Lake House for the second time and it was as good as the first time. Beautiful location,superb service,relaxing and rejuvenating. Its hard to imagine anything better . Food at the main hotel is superb and the staff make you feel like you don't want to go home.

Room Tip: Stay at the Lake House ! All the rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Lakehouse for 5 nights in June 2014 for our Honeymoon. The perfect place to unwind from a hectic life.

The place has charming character, from bold statements like the deer hat racks to little quirks like 'putting the cat out' when you wanted privacy.

The staff were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Serving drinks, arranging restaurant bookings, recommending places to visit (although you won't want to leave the Lakehouse). Yet they were discrete and knew when to fade into the background and allow us to enjoy the peaceful settings alone. We were made to feel special, our stay was a real treat.

We had massages in the spa overlooking the lake, a must to fully immerse yourself in the tranquility of the Lakehouse experience.

Our room was spacious, spotless and had all the amenities we could need, robes, fresh towels, slippers, fridge, Ironing board/Iron, toiletries, tea tray, coffee machine, books, TV & DVD, daily newspaper (by request) and fantastic views across the valley.

Food was pure indulgence. Breakfast menu was plentiful, we can recommend the porridge with caramelised banana. The Gilpin Restaurant in the main hotel was amazing, serving amuse bouche and cocktails before a decorative and tasty meal. We can recommend the Chateaubriand, so so good!

The only thing we could criticise was that the teas and coffees were billed to our room. Having spent so much to stay there it would have been nicer for non-alcoholic drinks to be included in the price. Some other guests were refusing after dinner coffee because it was free in their room.

This is an expensive treat that we recommend for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gertie, no lake view but a beautiful view across the valley, which we would not have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife booked us in for a two night stay for my birthday. The room was very comfortable and the hot tub was magical at 1am in February.
Restaurant was pricey, but top notch and service was impeccable.

Would I stay again, certainly.

Room Tip: Get one with a hot tub !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,207 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £220 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing