We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A getaway at the Gilpin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We really wanted to visit the lakes primarily for the scenery and the cycling/walking opportunities...however after staying in Gilpin I will be back again for the hotel alone!

We stayed in a garden suite so we could the use of the hot tub, which was a great extra after long days out cycling. The room that was stunning and extermely well decorated.

Its already been mentioned a few times on the site, but the quality of the food is incredible and well worth the money. The evening taster menu is a must for any foodies...

Having recently returned from Honeymoon our expections have been somewhat risen however Gilpin didnt disappoint, with friendly service, superb food and luxious rooms - We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrsDangerMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,359 - 1,365 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2009

We chose Gilpin Lodge over other hotels in the Lakes based mostly on reviews from this site.
I'm pleased to say we seem to have made a good choice.
Stayed in one of the Junior Suites (luckily we were upgraded when we got there) and the room was immaculate, with a sense of being newly refurbished (although I believe it is not, so must be well maintained?).
Staff were friendly, one member even took time away from cleaning rooms to let us have a nose around some of the other accomodation available, including the Garden Suites. Not the sort of service you get from most hotels! She did mention she'd worked at the Lodge for some years so she obviously feels proud of where she works.
Food was good and an enormous choice of wine. Breakfast fabulous, and a feast in itself, all made to order.
The one and only negative I would have would be lack of background music. I don't want anything blaring but we sat in a dining room with 4 tables, of which only ours and another was occupied. If the other couple were silent they could hear every word we said. That said, I'm sure we could have asked to dine in another of the rooms.
Overall, a relaxing and personal experience at Gilpin Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

Myself and my boyfriend booked this hotel for one night . Upon arrival we were given a free upgrade to a garden suite which was out of this world. The staff are very friendly. The food was very good but being from cumbria we have had some fantastic meals in the county and our preferance is overwater hall hotel at bassenthwaite, Overall the hotel is very well maintained and the garden suites are incredible especially the hot tub. I would definately recomend gilpin lodge to anyone for a truely unforgettable experience

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shutty2Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Our third visit to this hotel, which says something in its own right.

We booked a garden suite, primarily for the use of the hot tub. All of the rooms that we've been in feel special, whether in the main building or in the garden suite. But sitting in the hot tub surrounded by snow was just an incredible indulgence!

A high level of emphasis is placed on the quality of food at Gilpin - make no mistake, this is not a place to come to if you're afraid of putting on a few pounds! Breakfast is unmatched in any hotel I've been too. We also tried the evening taster menu, 7 courses (plus a soup, a light dessert prior to main dessert, coffee and petit fours) each served with a different and carefully matched glass of wine. This was bliss! It's a great way to sample wines that you wouldn't normally be tempted to try.

Service is just right - discrete when you're having a romantic moment and friendly when you're in a mood for a bit of chat. The new champagne bar is great for this.

I must admit, I was in two minds about writing a review because we've come to think of Gilpin Lodge as our special little hide away! It is a very special place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KandJBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

We had hoped to go abroad to get some sun but circumstance meant we couldn't. This was an excellent substitute even in the rain and wind with a broken ferry and closed Beatrix Potter house!
We stayed in Buttermere suite which has direct access to the garden. I didn't see the other rooms other than on the website, but this was worth the extra. It had a huge comfy bed, with a jaccuzi and great shower, fluffy towels and robes and best of all, really good service.
All the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. They booked us golf, advised us on walks, and had an excellent knowlesge of the extensive wine list.
Dinner starts off with drinks and canapes and the menu to peruse. Not sure how many wines they had but hundreds at a guess. Large selection of French and South Africa all reasoably priced. Food was seriously good and not enormous portions - which was great as we were staying for more than one night.
Menu changed every night and was local in flavour, There was a separate vegetarian menu.
There is a large proportion of repeat custom which I understand and hope to be one of them sometime soon.
A truly memorable stay that I can't wait to repeat.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

My parents stayed at this hotel for their 35th wedding anniversary and loved it.
The rooms were gorgeous and spacious, the food divine and the staff attentive and welcoming.
They thoroughly enjoyed their stay and would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We stayed for a birthday treat and from the moment you arrive the staff couldn't do enough for you. The rooms are fantastic, the setting is fantastic, the food is fantastic, the wine choice is fantastic what more can I say FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisharayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#16 of 20 in Windermere
534 reviews
1.6 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
350 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#15 of 20 in Windermere
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £219 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing