We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Another fabulous stay at Gilpin! Weather mixed, but managed one decent walk. Food was spectacular.........new chef is marvellous! Staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried.
Frankly the best hotel we have ever stayed at...........ever!!
Back next year.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
There are newer reviews for Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2009

We stayed at Gilpin 2 years ago, I have only just joined Trip Advisor but felt compelled to write a review 2 years on. I can honestly say having stayed in many luxurious hotels in the UK and abroad, that this is the only hotel I would return to (and hope to soon). We felt so welcome despite arriving very late during dinner and this fantastic service was experienced throughout our weekend. The hotel's restaurants are beautifully decorated and furnished. The large lounge with roaring fire and comfy sofas are the perfect spot for a pre dinner drink and menu perusal. Our room was extremely comfortable and well designed with a huge spotless bathroom. The food was refined and delicious and the completely unique welsh rarebit at breakfast was a treat. I hope when I return this is still on the menu. Overall I would thorougly recommend Gilpin Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Stayed with husband and friends the first 4 nights of our Lake District visit. Accomodations were comfortable and convenient and food was excellent. But the outstanding feature was the staff. Everyone was helpful without being stiff. Jess planned a rainy day itinerary for us and gave us maps for that and for walks (first evening we wanted a short walk and she gave us one right from hotel that was really nice). I asked about name of a tree near the door with unusual fruits on it and the reception staff did not know but the next evening they had printed out and gave me the web page desciribing this tree! We also received excellent advice on single malt scotch choice and super service at meals.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Warm and friendly welcome and surprise upgrade - thank you. The staff were all well trained and efficient and attentive in the right measure.We had booked dinner and the service standard remained very high. I did have an issue with my starter but my wife's
meal was good, not michelin standard, but pleasant nonetheless.
One quirky tip- if you like Heinz tomato ketchup, as I do, with your cooked breakfast [which was only average] - you will need to bring your own !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlesSomersetEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Lovely friendly staff and owners, beautiful room, lovely gardens would rate it 5 stars not four.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnybRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were very friendly and attentive. Our room wasn't quite ready so we were offered some home made lemonade in the lounge which was very refreshing. After only a short wait we were shown to our room, Cat Bells, one of the new garden suites, it was beautiful, very stylish and our garden area was very private. Dinner was an adventure not quite knowing what to expect but every course was delicious and there were a couple of special touches which really made our anniversary special. The gardens were delightful it's just a shame the weather wasn't better during our stay. It wasn't cheap but we had a lovely time and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyholsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

My husband and I booked Gilpin Lodge after many hours searching on the internet for a luxury hotel for our friends' Silver Wedding Anniversary. As the date of our stay loomed closer we grew more nervous that it would not live up to the expectations that the hotel website had built . Thankfully our fears were unfounded. As soon as we arrived we were warmly greeted and personally shown to our rooms . Attention to detail is superb right down to the emery board and cotton buds in the bathroom and we loved 'putting the cat out'. The decor is a meeting of modern and traditional furnishings that compliment each other really well. The atmosphere is very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. Dining is a wonderful experience, and the food superb. We are looking forward to a return visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jendie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,182 reviews
2.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £218 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing