We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute and delightful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute and delightful experience!”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

I stayed in Gilping in the second week of January this year with my partner. What a wonderful place. We were very nicely surprised by the size and décor of the room where we were lead by a very friendly hostess. The weather wasn’t really kind but we managed to have a brisk walk around Windermere lake. We found the room very warm and lights slightly deemed when we came back. After a short nap we were treated an appetitive and a choice of light canapés followed by 5 course dinner with complements from the chef in between. I must admit that restaurant looked fabulous and the service was top class. I especially liked a French waiter who thought that I am Spanish. We finish our day in the private hot tub in our little garden. Unforgettable experience and we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laserina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    133
    48
    15
    13
See reviews for
116
1,026
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Thanks to the cold spell we had a white wedding and some missing guests but we escaped to Gilpin for our honeymoon and had the most delighful time. The service was excellent and the meals were exquisite. We probably drank too much over the course of 3 days but what the hell ... If you are thinking of a special treat in the Lakes, go ahead and book - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChorleySandgrownun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Gilpin Lodge is one of those places that gathers you up and cossets you until it's time to leave. The food is fabulous, the bar is amazing and the garden rooms with their hot tubs just fantastic, although if you're not fussed about the hot tub itself, for actual character the rooms in the main house have the edge.
It is also one of the few country house hotels where you can still believe that the family who run it really care about what they do. Full marks all round.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olifwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2009

One of the most special places that we have ever stayed. Certainly the most well kept and friendly, with superb taste throughout. All this without the burden of having to stand on ceremony. Exquisite cuisine made simply to enjoy as opposed to declare..! Better kept a secret and far from the madding crowd. Thank you to every member of the team at Gilpin Lodge & hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trojann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Another fabulous stay at Gilpin! Weather mixed, but managed one decent walk. Food was spectacular.........new chef is marvellous! Staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried.
Frankly the best hotel we have ever stayed at...........ever!!
Back next year.
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We stayed at Gilpin 2 years ago, I have only just joined Trip Advisor but felt compelled to write a review 2 years on. I can honestly say having stayed in many luxurious hotels in the UK and abroad, that this is the only hotel I would return to (and hope to soon). We felt so welcome despite arriving very late during dinner and this fantastic service was experienced throughout our weekend. The hotel's restaurants are beautifully decorated and furnished. The large lounge with roaring fire and comfy sofas are the perfect spot for a pre dinner drink and menu perusal. Our room was extremely comfortable and well designed with a huge spotless bathroom. The food was refined and delicious and the completely unique welsh rarebit at breakfast was a treat. I hope when I return this is still on the menu. Overall I would thorougly recommend Gilpin Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Stayed with husband and friends the first 4 nights of our Lake District visit. Accomodations were comfortable and convenient and food was excellent. But the outstanding feature was the staff. Everyone was helpful without being stiff. Jess planned a rainy day itinerary for us and gave us maps for that and for walks (first evening we wanted a short walk and she gave us one right from hotel that was really nice). I asked about name of a tree near the door with unusual fruits on it and the reception staff did not know but the next evening they had printed out and gave me the web page desciribing this tree! We also received excellent advice on single malt scotch choice and super service at meals.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,435 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

Property: Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#1 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gilpin Hotel & Lake House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. Warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences. This five star hotel comprises two separate estates in the beautiful Lake District, with a luxury country house on each. At Gilpin Hotel all of the 25 bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - including six Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and five fabulous detached Spa Lodges. The Spa Lodges were added in 2016, and are cedar-clad with king size beds, gorgeous bathrooms and a fabulously private en-suite spa each, with a convertible treatment area, steam room, rain maker shower, free standing oval stone bath, outdoor sauna and hydrotherapy hot tub surrounded by a walled garden. Add this to the mood lighting, fires, electric blinds and a state-of-the-art music system, and all of the senses are invigorated. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, six gorgeous rooms share a fully staffed boutique hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool (for Lake House guests only), outdoor hot tubs and saunas, and exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds with a stunningly beautiful private lake. Our chauffeurs bring you to the hotel in the evening to dine. Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, 'Hrishi', where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in 'Gilpin Spice' a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Hotel & Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Hotel And Lake House
Gilpin Hotel Windermere
Gilpin Lodge Windermere
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing