We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£375
No prepayment needed
Priceline
£375
Agoda.com
£375
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,172)
Filter reviews
2,172 results
Traveller rating
1,776
225
108
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,776
225
108
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite hot tub jetty spa spice restaurant the main hotel dollywagon pike cunliffe family tasting menu junior suite michelin star dining rooms master room afternoon tea crinkle crags spa treatments mini moon boat house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 2,172 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

The hotel is very nicely decorated and feels very luxurious. We stayed in a Classic room. Not huge, but big enough. The gardens are lovely and we sat outside one day with our glasses of champagne; very relaxing.

Their restaurant, Hrishi, is superb. We had the tasting menu and can highly recommend it. Twice we ate at their other restaurant, Gilpin Spice, which was also very nice.

Breakfasts are only cooked to order and are full service only; the food was very nice but you can’t get anything for yourself (even just a drink of water). We were a bit dismayed to find that breakfast started at 8am as we are early risers and were going out mountain biking two days. It is possible to get coffee from 7:30.

Our room was up a flight of stairs; it may have been possible to access the room from the garden door if stairs are an issue, however the en-suite bathroom was down two steps. My arthritic ankle struggled a bit with this, and it did get a bit annoying when I wanted to duck in to brush my hair or wash my hands.

The on-site food is superb, but if you want to venture out anywhere else you will need to drive - it’s really not possible to walk anywhere, particularly as the access road is a typically narrow English lane with no shoulder or footpath!

Stay here for the luxury surroundings, the very attentive staff, and the food.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank K2109LUemmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2019

My wife and me booked a 2 night stay at the Gilpin Hotel after reading the numerous 5 star reviews from extremely happy customers. And it was a truly amazing experience.

We opted for the package stay in the Junior Suite with the cream tea on the first evening, followed by the tasting menu at Hrishi on the first night. A super tasty breakfast the next morning was followed by a spa treatment at the serene Lake House and dinner at Gilpin Spice on the second night.

I cannot praise the top quality service we received throughout the stay. The staff were always at hand to answer any of our queries. I would specially like to thank the 2 servers at Hrishi namely Shashi and Lawrence whose service was truly exceptional.

The tasting menu at Hrishi was truly amazing and very tasty. Breakfast on both morning very good with all local produce.

I am closing this review having run out of superlatives and will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LesterPais
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2019

Fabulous room, clean, large comfortable bed, quality linen. Quiet location.
Restaurant is fantastic.
Ambience nice. Staff attentive, Food soooooooooo delicious. Hard to choose from menu
Staff very professional at all times.
Please can you put on breakfast menu small pork sausages though.
We will return for sure

Room tip: All rooms fine
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2019

We recently spent an enjoyable 10 days in the Lakes District, staying at the Gilpin for the duration. The Gilpin became an integral part of our enjoyments of the area. Never before have we experienced such a friendly and engaging staff from Sarah, the manager, and Cameron, the front house manager, through the concierge staff, the waitstaff, the back office staff, and maintenance staff. Each staff member made us feel like "family" as we all got to know each other. We were especially impressed by the fact that there appears to be excellent communication between staff members: request something from one member and others become aware of your request. And the food!! A good chef can make food delicious, but a great chef is one who can create new flavors that delight the taste buds.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NHnorthCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2019

From the moment we arrived we felt special. The junior suites are beautiful, comfortable and relaxing and the food is a dining experience. Loved every minute of our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel for a special celebration. We can't wait to go back

Room tip: Suites with hot tubs are detached and more private
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mccumiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews