We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Nearby Hotels
Windermere Manor Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$350
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveller rating
1,257
149
51
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,257
149
51
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitehot tubjetty spaspa lodgesthe main hoteldollywagon pikecunliffe familyspice restaurantsergeant manattention to detailjunior suitemichelin stardining roomstasting menumaster roomcrinkle cragsafternoon tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,368 - 1,373 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2010

First time I've been moved to write a review - If you are considering staying, book now! We enjoyed a perfect stay in a fabulous garden suite. Beautiful, small, friendly, hideaway, exquisite food and wine to match, superb service, lovely setting, very relaxing, not at all stuffy - simply perfect! Thank you to all at Gilpin Lodge for helping us celebrate our 25th anniversary - we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenridge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

A very warm welcome.
Friendly but unobtrusive staff-excellent service-nothing too much trouble
Luxurious garden room with wonderful sheets on very large comfy bed! Fabulous bathroom with decent sized Molton Brown toiletries.
Take a few favourite cd's to listen to while enjoying hot tub-perfect temperature!!
Excellent dinner and breakfast. Cosy dining rooms and great wine cellar-plenty of choice and not ridiculous prices.
Cannot fault the place at all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I've just stayed at Gilpin Lodge with my partner for 2 days and I must admit it was a delightful stay. Staff were all extremely friendly, polite and helpful. The room we stayed in, Patterdale, was superb and as for the food, exquisite. Scenery is breathtaking. I highly recommend a stay here if you're ever up in the Lake District. A real treat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaemmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Many thanks for your lovely comments, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for taking the time, we hope to see you back in the Lakes soon.

Warm regards,
Zoë, Barney, John and Christine Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed at Gilpin for a weekend break and could not have been more delighted with our stay. The hotel itself is stylish and quirky and finished to a very high standard throughout.

Our room (Kentmere) was well appointed and immaculately clean. Unlike many small hotels the room was not only well designed but has been kept perfectly maintained - no scuffed walls or mildewed grouting like you find in so many supposed 'top' hotels that have not been looked after. Our room had many lovely and thoughtful touches (some good books and magazines, a jug of chilled ice water, fresh milk for tea and coffee making) that lifted it from pleasant to lovely and a real joy to stay in. We had a small private patio area that was also a lovely place to sit. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are so quiet you are sure of a great nights sleep.

We ate in the restaurant both nights are were really impressed at the range of local produce cooked in an imaginative way by an obviously talented team. The wine list was extensive with a really good range and well priced.

The service during our stay was attentive but not overbearing or stuffy and the staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. Staffing levels seemed very well matched to the number of guests, and although the hotel was apparently full when we stayed it never felt crowded or over-stretched.

I could not reccoment Gilpin Lodge highly enough, we will definately be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilpin_Lodge, Owner at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really do appreciate your support. It is also great to be able to show the team how much their efforts are recognised. We do hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Zoë, Barney, John and Christine Cunliffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Gorgeous place with fabulous hot tubs and gorgeous grounds - we really enjoyed our stay but for us it was all a bit formal and stuffy. The food was lovely - well thought out and presented and the room we stayed in was fab. Overly formal ambience in the restaurant spoiled it a bit.

Watch out for the hot-tubs though - the chlorine is pretty overbearing and will ruin your cozzies!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pucycles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews