We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time here, still brilliant ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greystone Cottage B&B
Ranked #33 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Second time here, still brilliant ”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This place is very warm and friendly and Janet, the owner really goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. The rooms are very cozy and the breakfast is beautiful and sets you up for the day. Will definitely be back. You can't go wrong here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank battyg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
152
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Discovered this lovely B&B by chance as we decided to take a last minute break at The Lakes. The cottage was so warm and welcoming with lovely ensuite double rooms. Food more than enough and beautifully presented. Janet made us feel very welcome, would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I couldn't believe my eyes when I found this charming B and B on the internet- a B & B in a great location, recently updated, large rooms AND at a very reasonable price!

The bedrooms and bathrooms have been fully refurbished recently to a high standard. The rooms are bigger than average fitted with more than enough storage space for clothes and personal belongings. The bathrooms in the red and green rooms are large and spacious with double showers. Wonderful. Tea and coffee making facilities are in each room, together with biscuits and even a chocolate each. A hairdryer is provided should you need one.

Breakfast- we treat ourselves to the full English breakfast on the two days we stayed, but cereals and fruit were also available. Delicious.

Janet was the perfect host, friendly and warm and very welcoming. She chatted to each guest and was very helpful on things to do,where to visit and places to eat/drink in the vicinity . A variety of books and maps about the local area were also available in the dining room for guests to look at.
This is a very clean and well kept B & B.

The location was just perfect. Quiet. Less than 2 minutes from Windermere town centre where we found great places to eat in the evenings. The lake was only a mile away.
Although this was our first visit - it won't be our last. Thank you Janet for making our stay so lovely. We hope to see you later in the year.
Myself and my husband highly recommend Greystone Cottage.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyBDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed with a friend on a bit of a girly trip away. The B&B us beautifully presented and the room we stayed in was exquisitely decorated. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was also fab! Breakfast was brilliant and Janet was a fantastic host, very welcoming and friendly. Definitely will go back and would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our 4th visit within the last 12 months therefore it has to good. We stayed for 4 nights this time & on leaving we arranged to stay for 6 nights in April. We cannot fault the place & Janet is a great host.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 3 nights having found Greystone Cottage on http://www.iknow-lakedistrict.co.uk. This B&B lives up to all the positive comments & reviews we have seen;

- Room was very clean, tidy and nicely decorated.
- Breakfast was fab - the full english was great (local bacon & sausages included!), and a good range of cereal & fruit too.
- Janet was very welcoming and friendly, and was very helpful in suggesting places we could eat/drink and good places to walk in the area.
- B&B location was very central to Windermere (about 2 min walk), which makes getting to the lake shore and Bowness on Windermere v easy too.

Overall we could not fault Greystone, and especially liked all the little touches Janet added to make the stay extra special. We will definitely be back, great value for money!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it is a wonderful B&B. The rooms are spacious and clean, The bathroom has been recently refurbished to a very high standard!
Janet is a fantastic and welcoming host, who cooks an amazing breakfast! It's in a great location as we came on the train and it's only about a 10-15 minute walk through the town. We also walked to Bowness and Janet recommended walking through the woods which was lovely!
We would definitely recommend Greystone cottage and If we return to Windermere in the future we know where we will be staying!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
No.4 Guest House
No.4 Guest House
#61 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beckmead Guest House
Beckmead Guest House
#40 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#15 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#28 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Cottage B&B

Property: Greystone Cottage B&B
Address: 6 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Greystone Cottage B&B Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing