We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greystone Cottage B&B
Ranked #35 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Place!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for the first time for 2 nights and didn't want to leave. Everything was excellent from the warm welcome received from Janet, cosy atmosphere, beautiful room (we were in the Green room) and delicious breakfast. We are already planning to go back later on in the year. I can't recommend this lovely B&B enough, most definitely worth a visit :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
152
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have stayed here many times and would certainly recommend it to family,friends and others. Our host Janet is warm and welcoming.Nothing is too much trouble you only have to ask.The rooms are clean and all recently redecorated along with the ensuites which have walk in showers.
The b+b is situated close to local restaurants and pubs which serve great food so there is no need to get the car out.It is also close to the main road that leads up to Ambleside,Grasmere and Keswick which has stunning views.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This without doubt is the best bed and breakf ast we have stayed in. Made to very welcome on arrival and plenty of information given on the local attractions and places to eat. Room was superb and breakfasts great. Will be coming again next year

Room Tip: Which ever room you will be delighted
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

When we arrived we got a lovely welcome from Janet. The room was beautiful. We were in the blue room. Great views. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom was modern and clean. The breakfast was delicious. Great selection of cereal followed by toast and a yummy cooked breakfast. Nice touch having chocs and biscuits with tea and coffee in room....even had diluting juice. We can't think of anything bad apart from that we couldn't stay longer. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were in blue room but peaked in the green room which also looked really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegLou03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Last year we came to Greystone Cottage for three nights and upon our return immediately booked a stay for the following year. We have just returned from twelve delightful days for what now feels like a home away from home. Janet was as cheerful and helpful as she could be. The breakfasts were always fresh and well presented. We spent most of our days walking the limitless trails around the lakes and were given some great tips from Janet. We have stayed in numerous B&B's over the years and have found Greystone Cottage provides the guest with clean spacious rooms and spotless bathrooms with an A+ shower. Well worth every mile traveled from North Carolina.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rdsw0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario,Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our first visit to the Lake District made all the more special by our stay with Janet at the lovely Greystone Cottage. Warm & welcoming, a nice spot to come back to at the end of a days touring. Janet knows the area well and is more than happy to help you find places to visit.

The room was warm and cosy, the shower rates as one of the best I have encountered in the U.K. Breakfast was plentiful, good quality and very nicely prepared.

If I lived in the U.K. I know we would visit again. I hope if we are ever in the area at a future date that we are able to stay at this home away from home!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was the first time we've stayed at Greystone cottage and we can't wait to go back! It's such a beautiful little cottage with lovely features and cute knick-knacks, which make it so homely. We stayed in the blue room which was a super size and it had a really good shower, the bed was lovely and comfy and the room had great views. Everything was very clean and well kept!
Janet is so lovely and makes you feel extremely welcome!, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was superb, she's a very good cook! Also very knowledgable about the surrounding areas.
Would definitely highly recommend! Can't wait to stay again :)

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#90 of 108 in Windermere
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#27 of 108 in Windermere
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#16 of 108 in Windermere
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 108 in Windermere
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Cottage B&B

Property: Greystone Cottage B&B
Address: 6 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Greystone Cottage B&B Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing