We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cherry on top of the cake to our wedding weekend!!”
Review of Oakthwaite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakthwaite
Ranked #92 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have just arrived home after having the most beautiful relaxing time at oakthwaite for our wedding weekend and are already planning our next trip back here!!

We arrived on thursday night after having a nightmare journey there (6hr round trip from train delays) so the minute we pulled up to the big gates and up the long drive we knew we were going to be happy!!

We got married on friday and deborah completly went out her way to make our morning special by doing ourselfs and our friends a champagne brekki, was fabulous! Oakthwaite was absolutly perfect for our photographer to take some pictures before our ceremony!!!

Perfect location for bowness and windemere, close enough to walk!

Over all we found oakthwaite just perfect! Felt like we were in the comfort of our own home with the luxury surroundings of this beautiful guest house!

Oakthwaite made our weekend that ever bit more special for our wedding weekend and will always now be a special place for us! Cant wait to plan our next trip here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you Sarah. Delighted we were able to play a small part in your and Ben's special day. We would love it if you emailed us some of the photographs taken at Oakthwaite. Again we wish you both the very best and look forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife & I spent 7 nights in June at Oakthwaite and we can honestly say that we throughly enjoyed our stay. We had a double room with our own dedicated but separate bathroom / shower room and bath robes were provided. The room was nicely furnished with modern decor and tea & coffee making facilities were provided and fresh milk available for evenings & mornings as required. We also had the use of a guest lounge area which was equipped with a large flat screen TV which was handy for Euro 2012 and comfortable sofas. The owner also provided us with tea & biscuits in the evening to help us unwind from our days out in the lakes. This is a small but very good quality B&B facility with 2 rooms available. An excellent continental breakfast is available from 8.30am and we also had the option of a full English breakfast at the owner's other business, Monties in Bowness at any time later in the day. The breakfast at Monties was excellent with bacon, egg, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes with tea, toast and juice. We have seen other reviews of Monties on the breakfast side and obviously cannot relate to other guests experiences. In respect of the owner, Deborah Hampsey and her husband Bill, we can only say as we find, and for us they were both very friendly and helpful during our week long stay. In our opinion Oakthwaite was an excellent base for exploring The Lakes and we would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: There are two double rooms available, one with an en-suite facility and the other with a dedicated b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Excellent stay, the room was lovely and the decor to a very high standard we throughly enjoyed our stay at Oakthwaite and would definitely go back.
Staff very friendy and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakestay, Owner at Oakthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Congratulations on being the first to write a review for us on TA and a very big thank you. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the house and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at Oakthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
31  Thank toppojijyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
0.7 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#66 of 107 in Windermere
113 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakthwaite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakthwaite

Address: 1 Oakthwaite Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £96 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakthwaite 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a beautiful garden and only a short distance from the villages of both Windermere and Bowness, Oakthwaite has the traditional charm of a Lakeland residence yet with all the comforts of modern day living. Our cosy yet spacious residents lounge overlooks the gardens of Oakthwaite and an open fire tempts you to relax and thumb through our selection of books and information on the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakthwaite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthwaite Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing