We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars!”
Review of Rosemount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosemount
Ranked #24 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 stars!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here a few months ago with my boyfriend for a short weekend away and it was lovely. The weather was terrible during our stay so we stayed in our room more than we planned and it was fine, very warm and cosy, owner said we could pick out some dvds to watch on the tv in our room :) Very clean and well kept too! Our arrival was very welcomed and we were recommended places to go. Breakfast was superb too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesslarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
154
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here with the hubby and my sister (in another room next to ours) and it was perfect! Andrew was a wonderful welcoming host- We had the 2 rooms upstairs and they were really comfortable and spotless- loads of space and the bathroom(in the double room) was wow (not tiny but with a bath as well!!). The smaller room my sister stayed in had a skylight window so she enjoyed looking at the stars after we walked around all day! They have a few parking spaces at the front and they are halfway between Windemere and Bowness, so it was a short walk to each place. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts were really helpful with any questions that we had.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saskin079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here (in Room 4, the large four poster) for two nights and couldn't fault it. We were made very welcome and our online booking was very straightforward. The room was even nicer than expected and the vegetarian breakfast was lovely, just the right amount of food and very well cooked. Also this is the first place I've stayed that had decaf tea! Normally I have to bring my own. The breakfast room was ideal, nice ambience and we could even watch nuthatches in the trees outside the window. Bathroom was excellent, above and beyond what you would expect and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The bathroom felt like a 'proper' bathroom, not a bit carved out of the bedroom with cardboard walls like so many guest houses.
With regards to location, again superb. Just ten minutes walk either way to Windermere or Bowness. We used tripadvisor to decide where to eat for lunch and dinner on both days (and where to drink as I like my real ale!) and had not a single bad experience! We found plenty to do over the two days we were there - the weather was glorious so we went on a couple of boat trips, did some shopping, walked up to Orrest Head and plenty of eating and drinking. We were so relaxed by the end that we couldn't believe we'd only been away for two nights.
Have knocked one point off for sleep quality but that's me being incredibly picky - the room was warm due to unseasonably warm weather and opening the window did lead to a bit of traffic noise. However, we knew this could be the case and it certainly didn't spoil our stay.
I would definitely come back to the Rosemount.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the large four poster Room 4 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsEmmingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights. And we wished we could have stayed more ! Andrew and Louise run Rosemount like one would run a welcoming family home. Their lovely daughter Amelia came in to say hello on the first morning. Breakfast was great. The room and bathroom were clean and serviced everyday. It was such a pleasure to be there
On the last morning , we had to leave early to catch a bus and they graciously offered to let us have breakfast half an hour before scheduled time, which they did not have to
Strongly recommended to anyone who wants to feel at home away from home.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Asmah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

An excellent 5* accommodation which is tastefully designed, modern, and comprehensive!

The icing of the cake has to be the warmth and kind hospitality of Louise and Andrew. Right from the get-go, even at the booking/confirmation stage, they have been extremely helpful and patient - providing alot of good information about directions, places of interests, recommendations for food and drinks, parking, etc. We had a big group (7 of us) and everyone could not stop raving about the accommodation and hospitality since Day 1. In particular, everyone LOVED the soft comfortable beds with beautiful linen, the amazing rainforest shower (which really helped to soothe weary bodies after a day of trekking in Lake District!) and lovely breakfast which Louise prepares every morning!

I highly recommend this place to stay for anyone and will definitely return again.

Room Tip: We booked 3 rooms - family room, 2 posterbed rooms and they were all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsherWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Rosemount for 4 days last week. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The room was very tastefully decorated and the rainfall shower was heaven. Breakfasts were very tasty and lots of it. The hosts Andrew and Louise couldn't be more helpful. Andrew planned our last day out for us including where to lunch and we had a great day seeing things we didn't know existed. Will be back again when in the area. Thanks from Candy and Alan Kingsman.

Room Tip: We had room 7, perfect but the stairs nearly killed me
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the rosemount for 4 nights with my girlfriend for our anniversary and so glad we decided to stay at the rosemount. We was allowed to check in early and was met at the door by Andrew who was really helpful and welcoming he showed us to our room and really friendly and left us to unpack. Our room was a little on the small side but it was big enough for us both so we had no issues. The room was lovely and cosy, very clean and very modern. We'd thought we'd take advantage while we was staying in Windermere so on our first day we had a look around the town to find out what activities where available to us. On the second day we took advantage of the free spa pass at the macdonald old hotel after a lovely cooked breakfast where we used the steam room, sauna, ice room and the swimming pool. We then decided to go on the lake cruise from bowness to Ambleside which was a bit of a disappointment as the weather wasn't good and the tour itself was boring and not informative whatsoever. On the Tuesday we ate Hyltons restaurant which we came across on the off chance which is situated in Windermere and was the best food we ate all week. On Wednesday and Thursday we walked to Horace head on Wednesday and sheriffs walk and on the Thursday hired 2 bikes out for £20 each and cycled over 12 miles to wray cycle via the Ferry and cycled down through hawks head which was thoroughly enjoyable. I'd recommend anyone who is looking for a short break in the lake distinct to stay at the rosemount Andrew and Louise are a very friendly and welcoming couple who are always there If you need information on the town such as places to eat and places to visit whilst you're staying there. We will be more then certainly be staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.7 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 108 in Windermere
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#21 of 108 in Windermere
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Denehurst Guest House
Denehurst Guest House
#20 of 108 in Windermere
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount

Property: Rosemount
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing