We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We booked The Samling as a half way stopover on our journey and took advantage of the great "Taste of The Samling" offer. No sooner had we booked and mentioned this to friends living in the area, than they wanted to join us for dinner too, having heard good things about the hotel. So, having telephoned to make the initial booking, we were then calling again to increase the numbers for dinner - none of this phased the staff at all and every call and enquiry was greeted with warmth and assurance that it was no trouble at all (I felt we were being bothersome!)

We received the warmest of welcomes on our arrival having made one or two "flypasts" before getting the turning right. The staff were universally charming - professional and courteous yet friendly and approachable. Our room - Methera - was lovely and we had great views over the lake, as expected. We were delighted to find a large, modern and well equipped bathroom too and appreciated the large fluffy towels and fresh white bedlinen.

Dinner was outstanding and exceeded all expectations, in spite of our realisation that The Samling is noted for fine dining. Beautifully presented dishes, very well served with accurate descriptions and the patience to answer every question about food or wine, we enjoyed a delightfully sociable meal in completely unstuffy surroundings. The tasting menu was hugely enjoyed by all and will be talked about for some time, I know.

We will certainly return, as indeed will our friends. In the meantime, we'll add The Samling to our list of most comfortable boltholes.

Room Tip: Photographs on the website, ask for advice when booking. Each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    106
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
529
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at The Samling in December for three nights.

As there was quite a bit of snow around when we arrived, getting up the steep and narrow driveway to the hotel was a bit of a challenge, but we made it.

The welcome was warm and the hotel and room were both cosy - our room was upgraded FOC as they were quiet and we had a lovely view and a gas fire which was great.

The food at The Samling is very good, although the dining room is less relaxing and comfortable than the lounge areas. Service was excellent and the dinner menu was decent value. Wine list was so-so.

Overnight it had snowed quite heavily and to my amazement the staff had used a leaf blower to clear the worst of the snow from the drive, and when our rear wheel drive car struggled in the car park, they even dug us out! Amazing service and totally beyond the call of duty.

Overall we would recommend The Samling for anyone looking for a small but stylish and friendly hotel in The Lakes, and hope to visit again this summer to see the area without the snow.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nohedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

What a treat to stay at this hotel. Such a beautiful, exclusive setting away from the main road between Windermere and Ambleside. As other reviews mention, the driveway is rather steep but this is part of the charm of the place, and all vehicles have no issues making their way from the main road to the hotel building. All rooms have an individual style and layout which is lovely. We had exclusive use of the hotel on the first night of the stay as our party was fairly large. The service we received was second to none and our every need was catered for. The staff will stay up as late as you do in the bar to serve you drinks.
I would definiately recommend a stay here and the food is just glorious. The restaurant was awarded a Michelin star in 2010.

Room Tip: I would recommend referring to the website for the kind of room you like as all are individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterSnowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Words cannot describe how fantastic our weekend at The Samling was. From start to finish the service was impeccable, the rooms both cosy and luxurious, the views of Lake Windemere were stunning (when it didn't rain). The only negative was the fact that the entrance to the hotel's sweeping driveway can be challenging to see at night and quite scary to drive out of and straight onto a main road. But don't let that put you off. The hotel is beautifully decorated on the interior whilst mainta ining its old England facade on the exterior.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBeaverhousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed at the Samling this weekend after reading all the rave reviews. We were not disappointed. The best service I can remember in a long time and the surroundings are beautiful. The rooms are amazing, we stayed in Dove Cottage and have to say the bathroom was fabulous. We also took advantage of the hot tub which you are able to book privately.

The food is equally impressive, but it's the standard of service and how they make you feel like each member of staff is there just to look after you that makes the difference.

If I had to try and find fault then there are a few minor niggles with the decor and a bit of flaking paint above the shower? The odd loose hook here and there but nothing that distracts from a fabulous hotel.
Understandable in such traditional lodgings.
Great relaxing break. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGaryCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had high expectations of this hotel but were somewhat disappointed. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the staff were exceptional, particularly at dinner.
The rooms were disappointing and could not be described as 'luxury' - there was little in terms of furnishings, fittings or 'extras' that could be described as 'high end'.
The food on the other hand was 'high end' although could have been hotter. Presentation and taste were exceptional. A super breakfast too! Would I go again - no. This hotel needs some serious up-grading rooms to bring it up to the standard of hotels with comparable prices. Sorry!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissiePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Property: The Samling Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Aa Red Star Hotel 3 Aa Rosettes1 Michelin Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing