We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Samling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Samling Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Soldeu, Andorra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 night in July 2012 & had a fantastic stay.
On arrival we were met by George (Front of house manager) who was extremely helpful & told us everything that we needed to know.
We stayed in the Barker Brow junior suite which was just lovely. It had 2 floors, first floor was a good sized lounge area with a TV, really comfy sofa, small selection of drinks/snacks & a great view of lake windermere. The bedroom was just the right size, with a great view of the lake from the bed.
There was a lovely ensuite bathroom with everything that you required & more, with the lovely extra of candles.
We had our breakfast served in our room at no extra cost. The breakfast was absolutely delicious & we strongly recommend having the full cumbrian breakfast.
The location of the hotel is up a small hill, meaning that it is off the main road & set in the countryside so it is a very peaceful & quiet place. The views of lake windermere are beautiful.
All of the staff that we came across, including the General manager (Alasdair) were extremely helpful. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable & we hope to see you again next year.
We advise that you book direct with the hotel to obtain the best prices as they have special offers at certain times of year.

Room Tip: The Barker Brow junior suite is separate to the hotel & has two floors with lovely lake views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDORRA-GEMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    101
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
501
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of the summer deal. The location and views are perfect. We stayed in the manmire which had a patio with views over the lake. It was totally secluded and is a very special place. The cottage was lovely but there were a few details which could be improved on which stop it from getting a five rating, things like marks on the carpet and around the sink which could easily be sorted. It seems to be a bit of a maintenance issue but its only minor faults. The hot tub is lovely and the service was very goof on the whole. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent although i have to say not quite as special as the gilpin which is our favourite. On the whole its a special place and with a few small improvements could be even more amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Bees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I took the wife for a surprise treat for her 60th birthday. Location superb, overlooking the northern shores of Windmere. Great room - Tyan, with views directly over the lake. Very quiet and peaceful.
Service exceptional, very friendly and helpful. All the staff young and super enthusiastic. Great food, well cooked and nicely presented.
The Samling is not cheap, but it is special!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewilsonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My wife and I had a 2 night luxury break at the Samling. We stayed in the Hovera suite which enjoys incredible views of lake Windermere. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We found the cuisine to be excellent and especially enjoyed the American Wine Evening.We would recommend the Samling to anyone who enjoys fine dining in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Samling for 1 night on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis. What a beautiful hotel in gorgeous surroundings and it helped that the sun was shining! We had the Methera Room and it was fabulous with a lovely seating area, very tastefully designed. We enjoyed wine and canapes in the lounge before dinner. All of the staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful and I would certainly visit again. This morning we ate breakfast in our room looking over Lake Windermere, it was so peaceful and relaxing, we didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: I loved our room (Methera Room) as it was in the main house, spacious with windows on both sides of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

It's expensive but worth it for a special occasion, the suits are fantastic and the ones close to the hot tub are best for a dash in your cossie.
The food is fantastic and the service impecable too, nothing was too much trouble and they even arranged for us to have a masage in the room which was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lainey_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We visited the hotel for the third time recently and were a little apprehensive based on some of the reviews on here. We shouldn't have been worried though - the hotel room, food, and especially the service were up to the usual standard.

We visited the hot tub for the first time and would definitely recommend it - views are great.

We will be back for a 4th visit!!

Room Tip: Barkers Brow has a lovely separate living room - very spacious and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljs110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
5.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samling Hotel

Property: The Samling Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Samling Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 aa red star hotel 3 aa rosettes1 michelin star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Samling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samling Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Samling Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing